IPHONE CLUB Ver.3, Pls Read POST.1 B4 Post Question!!!

stringfellow
post Nov 3 2007, 01:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Can you purchase any more iPhone now with the recent restriction imposed, now that's the question. Apple refuses cash or gift cards, only credit cards for a reason. When i bought mine using credit card in Florida, they asked to see personal identification document to identify the card im using matches me. Showed them my passport and it went from there on. Now with these restrictions, once they see that the credit card is no longer US-based, they will refuse the sale.

I've a colleague going to LA end of this month, also planning to buy the iPhone for himself (after a lengthy poisoning session yesterday tongue.gif ), so we'll see if he gets through with his Malaysian credentials/credit card. Unless someone else can verify this earlier than this, with their own personal experience.
stringfellow
post Nov 4 2007, 03:24 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Which is the reason why i said before that getting the iPhone early has its advantages. Now, our iPhones are considered rare? Or you have to wait for the European iPhones, and hope Apple left them hackable as their American counterpart.

stringfellow
post Nov 4 2007, 03:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Reporting in, got crystal clear case, hate spoiled iPhone if it acceidentally get scratched or dropped.
stringfellow
post Nov 4 2007, 09:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ioriamd @ Nov 4 2007, 07:14 AM)
em.. can we go to starbuck coffe house to use its wifi to unlock since my home don t have wifi? hehe just asking
If you can log into your iPhone through Starbucks, then why not? My point in case is, the Starbucks in KLCC, you cant even log into your iPhone.

QUOTE(stephentang @ Nov 4 2007, 09:28 AM)
Hi Anyone knows how to add artwork to Cover Flow without needing to signup with iTunes?

One of my friend bought an iPhone with M'sian Credit card in US just a few days ago... no problem...
Good to hear that, but the restriction on 2 iPhone per credit card history may still apply.

QUOTE(froggyx @ Nov 4 2007, 12:59 PM)
Hi guys,great thread an congrats on v3. rclxms.gif need help on the headsets.lost mine on the bus in shanghai.need replacement headsets.is there a alternative headsets other than the one by apple and if there is how much does it cost?thanks again.
Any BT headset works with the iPhone. My personal preference is the Aliph Jawbone.

QUOTE(pspfan @ Nov 4 2007, 06:24 PM)
Custom ringtones for 1.11 f/w
got this from modmyifone.com
tried it and it works like a charm.. no more itunes deleting ur ringtones
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the iPhone-Elite members posted a method for patching the MeCCA framework binary to allow for custom ringtones.

Source: http://code.google.com/p/iphone-elite/wiki/Ringtones111
I followed the instructions and am just releasing a pre-patched MeCCA file for easier use. All credit goes to the iphone-elite team! I patched it using XVI32 (a hex editor)

Instructions
-------------------

1. Backup MeCCA file located at /System/Library/Frameworks/MeCCA.framework/ (I renamed mine to MeCCA.bak)

2. SCP the included MeCCA file to this location

3. Set permissions to 755 (I used WinSCP to do this)

4. Reboot iPhone

5. Copy your m4a ringtone to /Library/Ringtones

6. Change the extension of your m4a file from "name.m4a" to "name .m4r"
NOTE: THE SPACE BEFORE THE DOT IS IMPORTANT, IT'S WHAT THE PATCH LOOKS FOR

7. Go to Settings->Sounds and select your ringtone.

Download link
--------------------
http://rapidshare.com/files/65716567/mecca.zip

Added on November 4, 2007, 6:26 pmuse itunes to convert ur mp3 tones to m4a. just select ur file in itunes then right click and select convert to aac

Added on November 4, 2007, 6:29 pm

im using macally mcase.. there's one prob.... it gets loose in no time and u risk slipping ur iphone from the case.
my solution... slip some folded papers behind the phone when u insert it in the case so it fits better smile.gif
This is what i call sharing! Good work, pspfan!

QUOTE(krux @ Nov 4 2007, 07:33 PM)
A friend from Singapore just bought a unit a few days ago in Chicago. No problems.
He may just bought it for the first time. After he have bought TWO, ha may not be able to buy them on the same credit card.

Added on November 4, 2007, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(pspfan @ Nov 4 2007, 12:00 PM)
New features include European keyboards (QWERTZ instead of QWERTY), bundled free Cloud Wifi subscription........, no new features worth getting excited for. Im dying for that unlocked French iPhone price!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 4 2007, 09:35 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 5 2007, 03:20 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Nov 5 2007, 01:03 AM)
you'll need to update to 1.1.2
release soon
http://www.t3.co.uk/news/247/communication...rmware-update-2
No, you dont have to. No significant improvement other than minor additions.

As for the headset, wont you lose the ability to answer calls if you buy an earphone/headphone, instead of using the Apple headset?
stringfellow
post Nov 8 2007, 09:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tomorrow's the day. DO NOT update your iPhone to 1.1.2, or otherwise, it mutates into an iBrick. You have been warned.

Im again taking a wait-and-see before going the update path again. The iTunes 7.5 have interesting features waiting for the updated 1.1.2, including Disk mode. But until the unlocks are made stable and working, i'll let others be the guinea pig.
stringfellow
post Nov 8 2007, 10:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Voice recording is already available , albeit via Installer. Not in my hot list of most-wanted features though. I carry my cable everywhere i go, which makes Disk Mode an interesting proposition. Charging the iPhone everywhere i go with it now, since i carry my Macbook with me everywhere i go as well.
stringfellow
post Nov 8 2007, 11:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 8 2007, 11:21 PM)
I used to carry my Macbook and previously my iBook with me everywhere too, but with the iPhone I find that I can do pretty much 90% of what I do on the computer with the iPhone. So the computer stays home, the iPhone gets charged using my car charger and I'm so much happier biggrin.gif

Still waiting for that subnotebook though...
Should be made clearer coming Macworld next year. It's either that or the EeePC for me, for a trifecta of WinXP-MacOSX-Linux goodness.
stringfellow
post Nov 9 2007, 02:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Nov 9 2007, 12:38 AM)
that day a auntie came over to test some things out
and she took out her iphone i was awed and dint manage to ask her what casing she's using
but it's something that can be detachable in the middle black in colour pretty thin plastic and feels very very durable
anyone knows what it is? laugh.gif

Like this? There's millions of scratches on this case of mine, but the protected iPhone remained pristine within.

P/S: I'm not an auntie. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 9 2007, 02:39 AM
stringfellow
post Nov 9 2007, 09:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ Nov 9 2007, 03:01 AM)
wow, is it a incase iphone case?
u buy it online?
Yup, Incase. Got it together with the iPhone while i was vacationing in Florida in September.
stringfellow
post Nov 9 2007, 09:44 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

In the States, im afraid. The 4 curled up edges keeps the clear case in place nicely.

I think i may have seen it somewhere else though not the exact look. Still a clear case. Cant remember where though, it may even be in stores i've been outside of the country. Im sorry, memory have been poor lately, been eating too much steaks and not enough fish.
stringfellow
post Nov 10 2007, 12:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tried updating via iTunes, it still identifies the 1.1.1 as being the latest update. Using this on a Mac though, any luck with those on Windows?

There are no way to discern between iPhones with newer firmware, based on the production week, unless the guys at Hackint0sh starts compiling again. I have a colleague going to LA end of this month, and he's kinda worried himself if he's getting 1.1.1 or 1.1.2. We shall see........
stringfellow
post Nov 10 2007, 12:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

*raises hand*

Been using it since its RM99 days. Was trial-testing this between Celcom 3G to see which one suits me, and this wins me hands down. I've been burned by false promises on speed of 3G/HSDPA from Celcom to even bother with their nonsense. Hadnt have much problems with Digi since, apart from having slightly more patience waiting for the pages/download to finish.
stringfellow
post Nov 11 2007, 07:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Valendia @ Nov 11 2007, 02:18 PM)
As heard from friend, Mac retailers  are already accepting orders for IPhone due to arrive next year and is priced around RM1700. No need to hack your phone or wadever liao ! Catch is you have to pay the full amount up front la ..... *drools*
Sigh, if i get 10 sen for every rumor and hope-posts like these, im already a rich taukeh already.

Tell you what, if this does come through, i'll buy you one. Deal? The condition must be it is RM1700 and no need to hack.

The consequences of Apple selling the iPhone at an unsupported region, and at THAT discounted/subsidized price will have disastrous effect on other areas .We will have influx of foreigners coming to Malaysia just to get that cheap of an iPhone and unlocked too, from the way you worded it.

So please, be logical.

*goes back to lie down, feel so very tired explaining this over and over and over and over and over and over and over.....*
stringfellow
post Nov 11 2007, 08:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those keeping up with the scene, there is a new app on Installer called Sysinfo. This app allows looking at what processes are running on the iPhone and terminate them if needed. This is especially useful when it comes to problematic apps, such as Internet Radio that i had installed a couple days back. Had it uninstalled, but pretty interesting to see what the resources are being used for within the iPhone.

Tap that Installer and get installing!
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2007, 12:48 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Run the app.

Tap "Processes" and pick the stubborn app that you want to kill. Mine was the Internet Radio that slowed my iPhone to a crawl. Uninstalled that bugger.
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2007, 03:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Link or proof of this allegations of yours , or it did not happen. Anybody can say that and spread rumors all around. USD399 or RM1400 is the subsidized price, an unlocked version as you claim will be significantly more than that. Hell, even the legitimately unlocked French iPhone is said to be more than you claim here.

My offer still stands, I will BUY you ONE iPhone if it is RM1700 & legitimately unlocked by Apple themselves. Listening to FUDs spread by uninformed low-level lackeys from Switch is not a wise or a reliable source of information. Everywhere else around the world are waiting for their regional launch and you claim we are going to get it first before them? What a load of horseshit! It's no wonder the Apple veterans around here grow tired with the nonsense spewed around here, and gave up posting here totally, thanks to the steady stream of nonsense like this being posted.

Hell, if it's RM1700 and Apple-unlocked ,i'll buy another one for myself just for shits and giggles!

Added on November 12, 2007, 3:39 pmIf it is OFFICIAL, where are the news links, articles and such? If this is embargoed information, I can easily report you to Apple for breaching your NDA (non-disclosure agreement) and you'll get into more trouble than you care to imagine. All this talk of "I hear this from someone remotely working with Apple" is getting on my nerves! Apple Malaysia is nothing more than a subsidiary of Apple Singapore, and if anything, they (Apple SG) would be the one breaking the news first, not Apple Malaysia.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 12 2007, 03:39 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2007, 04:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I am more than glad to proven wrong here, for the sake of us users. In fact, please let me be wrong so that I can afford another iPhone, with no hassle whatsoever when it comes to firmware upgrades. But as I said , the chances of seeing this happening is nonexistent.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 12 2007, 04:30 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2007, 05:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Read my post carefully. I'm standing by my opinion that chances of that happening is zero, but if it does happen and I am proven wrong, I am perfectly happy as well. Why? A second unit for me with ZERO hassles updating, and everyone else who waited gets their own affordable iPhones as well. Win-win situation.

I am not bashing, I am expounding the realities of this world we live in. A lot of those hoping and pining on the notion that Apple would even consider a local release here are pining their hopes on things that would not happen, based on current existential evidences. Yes, you can hope and dream, but living your life on illogical dreams is not healthy.
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2007, 05:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Nov 12 2007, 05:20 PM)
we jus wait n c la....

stringfellow, wan ask u....hw come sometime when i upload a new album, de album cover jpg doesnt appear???wat wrong ha???
Use iTunes to get this done. Right-click the song(s) in the album and either drag and drop the album art in there if you are using multiple item edit or click the Album Artwork tab and paste it there.

0.0191sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:33 AM