[2024] iPhone 16 Pro/Pro Max Discussion, Hello, Apple Intelligence.

attw
post Aug 5 2024, 10:24 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jul 24 2024, 08:59 PM)
Iphone 15 pro max battery life and overheat issues serious ke
QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Aug 1 2024, 08:21 PM)
Well known issue and battery also don’t last long as well.
Have had the 15 Pro Max for 11 months now, never experienced any overheating or battery issues. While the battery life is not as stellar as that on the 13 Pro Max, I would say it’s marginally better than the 14 Pro Max for me and can get through 1.5 days on moderate usage (I define moderate usage as 4-5 hours screen time a day, haha)

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 4 2024, 03:48 PM)
worth to wait iphone 16 PM or grab the 15PM now?
At the very least might as well wait for the 16 launch first since it’s just about a month away.
attw
post Aug 5 2024, 11:22 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 5 2024, 10:35 AM)
money isn't a problem because already plan to get new phone since my samsung s22 plus having green line issues , waiting samsung for 2month++ for offering discount change screen but samsung malaysia stil fail to delivery discount repair for samsung s22 PLUS user , that really make me so dissapointed with samsung malaysia and i really plan just avoid and boikot samsung phone in future
How much were you quoted for a screen change?

Anyways, yeah, if you can wait then probably just wait till next month otherwise you can look out for some good deals during the 8.8 sale
attw
post Aug 7 2024, 09:24 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 6 2024, 09:56 AM)
Previously they offer just paying for labour charge rm86 to replace a green line issues , but only 1 month period , after this they stop the campaign (at that moment my phone stil no green screen)

For the s22plus screen retail at rm690 , samsung india even can offer FREE replacement of screen for their loyal user , but Samsung malaysia is doing shit , we also didnt request for 100% free but at least u offer a 50% discount we as a user also happy already , because the rate to get green line issues for samsung phone is too high , almost 6/10 user having this issues after the software update , that is so horrible....
So far iphone 15pm 256gb at the shopee/lazada price around rm5.5k , and if i grab now , i believe the 15pm will drop another rm1k after ip16 release , while if i could wait for new ip16pm 256gb will be price at 6.4k++ ..... Stuck in the middle LOL , but i think waiting for ip16pm will be a better choice..
Ya, good decision. Just hang on a bit, it’s about a month or less away now smile.gif
attw
post Sep 1 2024, 03:46 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 30 2024, 03:39 PM)
2.6k max here for my ip14 pro 128GB as per apple trade in program but subject to phone condition.
That price will go even lower after the announcement on the 9th laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 3 2024, 08:52 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Sep 2 2024, 05:37 PM)
I believe after launch stock will be super limited as they will remove all pro models from sales. I noticed this for ip14 and ip15.
Considering the Pro and Pro Max models have been heavily discounted for few months now I’m sure you’re not far off from that assumption. So the 9.9 sale just before the launch announcement will be a good time for those who are convinced on getting the older models
QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Sep 3 2024, 08:04 AM)
Hi normally when will first batch preorders get the phone?

End of September?
Should be a week after the preorder or so, so likely mid September? We’ll probably be in the second wave so likely we’ll get it by end September or 1st week of October in my estimation.

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 3 2024, 12:40 PM
attw
post Sep 5 2024, 10:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 3 2024, 09:52 PM)
Aiming to get 16 pro max to replace my 13 mini..

Hopefully Switch/ UR do accept trade in for 13 mini
I’m sure they will, but why not go directly to Apple TRX for trade in? You’re located outside the Klang Valley?

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 4 2024, 10:04 PM)
looking to get one together with celcom contract. hopefully it's attractive enough

current postpaid plan requires to be under contract to get RM50 discount. so coincidentally contract ending this month..
If I remember correctly their plan wasn’t as attractive last year since they became CelcomDiGi - just Phone Freedom plan and no conventional contract plans with substantial discount.. I could be wrong but anyways, just a few days to go now smile.gif
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 10:09 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 10 2024, 02:48 AM)
Boring announcement, Boring update.

The only I might interesting is the same no update Ultra 2 but that new black color look finally awesome in Ultra watch series.
"Boring announcement, boring updates" apply to most new phone launches these days... I think the industry is more or less at a plateau already, I don't recall any phone launch that made me go "wow" for years now laugh.gif

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 10 2024, 03:12 AM)

Not bad upgrades overall if a bit iterative. Can't believe we brought back the camera button from early Android days. Seems like enough stuff left over for an ecosystem focused October event.
Great summary bro! I can skip the launch video di, haha...
On the AirPods Pro.. I only have one wishlist... Just. Give. Us. Black.

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 10 2024, 04:39 AM)
I’ll either wait it out next few months (more discounts?) or skip buying the iPhone 16 pro max. Not much changes really.

I read online the phones are made in India now including the pro series?
I remembered when I asked about iPhone 15 last year, the sales person said still made in China.
I have a sneaky feeling you'll surprise us and get it at launch or just after? Hehe...

I think previously they mentioned the non Pros will be made in India and the Pros will continue to be made in China? Not sure if that is still the case though smile.gif
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 10:32 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 10 2024, 10:17 AM)
Apple should release foldable phone already, it is time! 😅
That will easily be a RM10k phone laugh.gif

QUOTE(ehkay @ Sep 10 2024, 10:19 AM)
if currently using 13pm, good to change ?
Only if your battery health has severely deteriorated. The 13 PM still had the best battery life for me bar none laugh.gif

QUOTE(brianw87 @ Sep 10 2024, 10:26 AM)
Should I upgrade from iphone 8? 😆
Oh yes. Most definitely.
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 12:02 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ehkay @ Sep 10 2024, 10:38 AM)
battery level around 83-85% check few months ago
You should be good for another year, I think? Besides, can always just change the battery if you don't have the urge to upgrade

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Sep 10 2024, 10:54 AM)
The price reduction is both a surprise and most welcomed!

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 10 2024, 11:20 AM)
Haha! I accept 8K not 10K. 😅
I still can't bring myself to buy a foldable, not even those older gen Android ones that are going for below 5k...

QUOTE(numanuma @ Sep 10 2024, 11:39 AM)
am rocking the 12 mini rn and thinking of upgrading this year. eyeing the 16 pro, but is it more worth to go for the 15 pro instead? any sifu advice?
Given the 15 Pro can also use AI and can do most things the 16 Pro can, I would argue it is a good buy, but you better decide and get one soon before stocks run out
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 04:57 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 10 2024, 04:52 PM)

Did you ChatGPT that? Hahaha...

Nice comparison though. I'm pretty sure for most ordinary folks it's not a really compelling reason to upgrade, but we'll do it anyway laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 05:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(maibi @ Sep 10 2024, 03:40 PM)
Thinking of swapping to the 16PM from my Pixel 8 through Maxis, mostly because my company phone allowance can cover most of the phone bill.

Anyone know the minimum requirements/plan to purchase through Zerolution? Not super interested in moving up to a higher plan. Currently on OnePlan 98.  hmm.gif
There is really no point in signing a zerolution contract with maxis, you'd be paying about the same as per retail price for the phone. Unless, of course, your company would cover the cost of the phone as long as it's in the phone bill.
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 05:06 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 10 2024, 05:00 PM)
I didn't notice the major upgrade of camera until the comparison  laugh.gif

Ok la, overall quite some improvement compares to last year tongue.gif
QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Sep 10 2024, 05:01 PM)
Back then 7inch is consider a tablet size, I think i'll switch to Pro from Pro Max.  biggrin.gif  that in-between size.
I think it's really minor upgrade from 15PM, i shall go back to seclusion and comes back after a year to see next gen iPhone.
I just wanna see if their claim of this being the "best battery life on an iPhone" will hold true for the 16 PM. The camera and all doesn't matter that much to me, haha...

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 10 2024, 05:07 PM
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 05:09 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 10 2024, 05:08 PM)
How long you expect the battery to last? If they wanna made such a bold claim, I would want to see it last for at least 2 days.
Yup, 2 days with 10 hours screen on time - I last achieved that with the 13PM, couldn't do it on both 14PM and 15PM...
attw
post Sep 10 2024, 06:24 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(x3Number1x @ Sep 10 2024, 05:43 PM)
Apart from the battery and screen size this time iphone 16 pro and pro max has no difference?
Yup, correct

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 10 2024, 06:14 PM)
i think this year iphone 16 pro series only worthy to change,

if one values:
1) longer battery life
2) slightly bigger screen
3) camera control button
4) faster magsafe wireless charging (25W makes wireless charging usable now)
I can only truly appreciate (1) laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 11 2024, 08:35 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 10 2024, 06:27 PM)
actually (1)... if the current iphone 15 pro max can last for 1 day.. the longer battery life actually does not make a big deal.. since most will likely to charge their iphone at nite... which it will be back to 100% before the new start of the next day... tongue.gif
Also true..but it's nice to know it'll last me a day of heavy usage - especially when traveling and doing tourist-y things like taking lots of photos and videos.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 10 2024, 06:30 PM)
You need a powerbank. tongue.gif
Haha, have not used one of those since iPhone 6 Plus. Haha, in fact, that's kinda like my requirement for new phones now - even Android ones: That I won't need to have a power bank laugh.gif

QUOTE(NagaK @ Sep 10 2024, 07:03 PM)
Yes I'm planning try out iPhone again my last iPhone was 7 Plus it's quite workhouse until I moved to Android Galaxy S22 Ultra
It's a massive difference to go from the 7 Plus to the 16 Pro or Pro Max. I'm sure you'll love it - unless if you already prefer Android after your stint with the S22 Ultra biggrin.gif
attw
post Sep 12 2024, 11:23 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 11 2024, 11:43 AM)
Yeah.. news saying first time pro models assemble in India.

Damn..... considering my wife's 15 assembled in India.. gotta question the quality. Not sure to pull the trigger or not now.
I'm not sure what's the big deal about it being assembled in China or India. It should be assembled to Apple's standards and that should be uniform across board. Was there a problem with your wife's 15?

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 11 2024, 11:47 AM)
Yeah, I only have a power bank as a spare, but I hardly get to use it, to be honest.
Haha, yeah, good to have them just in case but because I travel quite a bit for work it's a bit of a hassle to carry one around laugh.gif

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 11 2024, 12:11 PM)
more importantly, are you getting this time? attw
Ermm, yes, but undecided on the channel or when to get it just yet. I likely won't preorder though..

QUOTE(NagaK @ Sep 11 2024, 12:27 PM)
I loved Android but I'm seriously adoring to get iPhone to get into ecosystem again. From 7 plus now 16 Apple iOS and iPhone are far more better by look at it. If i hate also can sold easily since resell value for iPhones are still top
I don't think iPhone values hold that well anymore given the statement below by a fellow seasoned bro on this topic, haha...

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 11 2024, 12:34 PM)
Haha.. most likely not. TBH Im actually quite dissapointed with the massive discounts on the current 15PM. Seems like Iphone has lost its mojo already.
Hear hear biggrin.gif I guess if one cares about 2nd hand value then they should either get one on Telco contract or not be an early adopter anymore.
attw
post Sep 12 2024, 11:32 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Sep 11 2024, 01:22 PM)
Do you all trade-in your old phones at the Apple Store?
You might get 200-300 more selling it outside privately, but that might not be worth the extra hassle these days

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 11 2024, 03:43 PM)
haha i feel you.

i feel like iPhone still okay in terms of value. the Galaxy Fold 6 is only 6k now, less than 2 months since launch 🫣 thinking of moving out of iOS already.
I think we can only ascribe the 2nd hand value of our phones to how much a buyer is willing to pay for it, and after all these years, it still remains that people are still a little more willing to pay for a used iPhone? Well, that's just my opinion biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Sep 11 2024, 05:43 PM)
Curious, everybody is looking for the color of the year?
Yes! Otherwise don't but new iPhones, hahaha!

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Sep 11 2024, 08:19 PM)
I think the hype and frenzy is very lacking for this 16 Pro series. But my guts is still telling me it will be a huge queue on the 20/9 at TRX. Even bigger than the opening day  laugh.gif  hmm.gif
Given the queue and hype at TRX when they opened officially, I'm sure you be right...

attw
post Sep 12 2024, 11:43 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 11 2024, 11:12 PM)
Just to add, if I wanted anything other than a point and shoot camera/video, I would have gotten a Sony a7Iv… oh wait, I already have a Sony a7Iv….
Hahaha, bro just flexing biggrin.gif
But that's a dem good camera...

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 12 2024, 10:01 AM)
only if u are buying this iphone as ur first iphone and u have no previous old photos/videos to transfer over...

else 256gb is unlikely to be sufficient... it will also limit the amount of videos/photos u can take at one time...
i would think that 512gb is the minimum one should get it...

but good thing is that now iphone pro series all come with 256gb as the starting storage option so no limitation that u cannot do certain thing with 128gb version in iphone 14 pro series...
For a non gamer like me and with most of my photos and what not on iCloud, the base storage iphone has always been sufficient - since iPhone 4 8GB, hahaha....

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 12 2024, 11:21 AM)
That’s why the current version of iPhone selling in bolehland or lion city that has eSIM+physical sim is good. If there is eSIM option as the main no then stick to eSIM and leave the esim/physical sim slot for 2nd sim.
I wonder if they will eventually remove the sim slot and force us all to e-sim, like on the latest cellular iPad Pro
attw
post Sep 12 2024, 12:37 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 12 2024, 12:08 PM)
Last time got video show assemble in India is not that good when they open up, it is not that tidy as assembly at China, even though no impact to usage.
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 12 2024, 12:21 PM)
check out 15's thread, non-pro one. bunch of complains on quality actually, searching the issue on XHS have many same complaints as well
Ahh ok, thanks for the enlightenment. Let me check it out and see smile.gif
attw
post Sep 12 2024, 02:11 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 12 2024, 12:57 PM)
Telco contract is the worst. You pay FULL RETAIL PRICE for the phone, gets a binding 2 year contract on some stupidly expensive Iphone Telco Package in exchange for some meagre discounts on the phone. shocking.gif

Then the phones cannot sell and Apple sells them at massive discounts at online plaftforms/ resellers and others buy them at low price without telco contracts.
Haha, no la, for some privileged people who have companies paying up to a certain amount for the phone bills or uses the phone to that degree that justifies the phone bill, then it makes sense. Also, maxis gets me 1k or sometimes more off my phone and I've not had any difficulty selling my Telco sets so far so all good for me.

But you have a point. People shouldn't sign up for a Telco plan that doesn't suit their usage and end up paying more than they should just to get a phone is a bad idea for sure. I always get triggered when someone posts a question here which Telco should they go for to get a phone cheaper. You should pick a Telco based on the coverage and the suitability of the plan and rates, not for the discount on a phone.

0.0251sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:42 AM