AMD Zen5 HX370 Strix 890M RDNA3+ APU ~par GTX 1070, ktard kena waterfish till belip RTX 4070

TSphunkydude
post Jul 17 2024, 12:32 PM, updated 2y ago

2,403 posts

https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/...ia-midrange-gpu

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5455374

zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 12:35 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

that rtx4070 mobile performance target is for strix halo, not strix point.
zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 12:50 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

also who the hell use geekbench to validate windows gaming performance anyway?

GPD have already revealed that 890m is closer to rtx3050 mobile on 3dmark timespy, which should reflect many dx11/dx12 games.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jul 17 2024, 12:53 PM
Computer^freak
post Jul 17 2024, 12:57 PM

The Holy See
992 posts

1070 is an old card. Back then, it could run 1080p games mid to high setting. Nowadays, 1070 might run 1080p games with low settings. So, not impressive at all unless you play older games or Minecraft.
zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 01:02 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(Computer^freak @ Jul 17 2024, 12:57 PM)
1070 is an old card. Back then, it could run 1080p games mid to high setting. Nowadays, 1070 might run 1080p games with low settings. So, not impressive at all unless you play older games or Minecraft.
modern graphic card have more feature set which may help provide better output. example like dual FP16 that will give a boost on graphical effect/library that utilize it (e.g FSR3.1). anyway im not going to say RT hardware do help on this small mobile chip still.
SUSAzurues
post Jul 17 2024, 01:04 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

The wet dream will be integrated gpu can replace dedicated gpu

But thats not ever going to happen
dman
post Jul 17 2024, 01:06 PM

540 posts

Wow, for igpu to come close to desktop version of gtx1650 super is quite impressive.

If plonk into handheld like rog ally or legion go will be nice...

SUSifourtos
post Jul 17 2024, 01:09 PM

2,256 posts

STRIX POINT

STRIX HALO

Same? not Same??

AMD?? not AMD?? SAMe??

Halo = Point? no? yes??? yes or no???
pipedream
post Jul 17 2024, 01:13 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Computer^freak @ Jul 17 2024, 12:57 PM)
Pascal isn’t bad though. Their performance are close to rtx2xxx just without the ray tracing
SUSifourtos
post Jul 17 2024, 01:13 PM

2,256 posts

STRIX HALO 2025 Product

STRIX POINT = what you compare now

ORIGINAL ARTICAL + STRIX HALO comparable to mobile 4070

Backfired Thread
zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 01:17 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Jul 17 2024, 01:04 PM)

its already there, we dont see entry-level dedicated graphic card already. you are not seeing rtx4030 mobile right? with faster memory in the future,manufacturer can put more gpu core units, it will makan those budget (e.g rtx4050 mobile) dedicated graphic card pulak.
terradrive
post Jul 17 2024, 01:21 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

It's comparable in geekbench but if in real games it is comparable to GTX1070 then I would be happy. GTX1070 is still not a bad performance for current games in 1080p.
shadowglow
post Jul 17 2024, 01:31 PM

462 posts

well, over here, 6 year old 1650 also being sold close to 900 ~1k while overseas below 100 dollars ish..
zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 01:33 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jul 17 2024, 01:21 PM)
It's comparable in geekbench but if in real games it is comparable to GTX1070 then I would be happy. GTX1070 is still not a bad performance for current games in 1080p.
whats the game engine behind geekbench opengl/vulkan and metal test? it is strictly compute work only?
im not going to trust something that didnt actually show full screen output, then tell the hardware is good in video game rendering based on that score. i rather use antutu(this already bad apple) score instead, at least you could check if there are assets, visual effect that was not rendered.
Ichibanichi
post Jul 17 2024, 01:35 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Jul 17 2024, 01:04 PM)

It still can.
Provide someone broke the quantum law.
SUSAzurues
post Jul 17 2024, 02:04 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 17 2024, 01:17 PM)
its already there, we dont see entry-level dedicated graphic card already. you are not seeing rtx4030 mobile right? with faster memory in the future,manufacturer can put more gpu core units, it will makan those budget (e.g rtx4050 mobile) dedicated graphic card pulak.
Cause nvidia strategy is selling up not down

If u sell down, that consumer will buy cheap gpu and then higher end gpuS cant sell well

Also it's a waste of TSMC capacity if they produce cheap product

Looking at nvidia new gpu rumours all of them are super expensive and extremely high capabilities
josh5671
post Jul 17 2024, 02:07 PM

1,197 posts

strix halo strix point xdapat beze...baik kolos tered lol
zerorating
post Jul 17 2024, 02:24 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Jul 17 2024, 02:04 PM)
Cause nvidia strategy is selling up not down

If u sell down, that consumer will buy cheap gpu and then higher end gpuS cant sell well

Also it's a waste of TSMC capacity if they produce cheap product

Looking at nvidia new gpu rumours all of them are super expensive and extremely high capabilities
and yet they are still taking nintendo contract.

it is actually easier and cheaper to produce 4 ad106 than a single ad102 chip. there is reason why every rtx4090 graphic card is using cut-down ad102 chip, it is not easy to get perfectly functional chip with all GPCs working.

nvidia is still having halo gpu because it does most of the talking of their product lineup. rtx4060 is a bad value product for its price, but people seeing their halo card very strong(+reputation too), they buy those bad value product anyway. No one i know using rtx4090 or even rtx4080.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jul 17 2024, 02:25 PM
GHBZDK
post Jul 17 2024, 02:39 PM

173 posts

Intel eating glue unaware of anything in corner
terradrive
post Jul 17 2024, 02:59 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jul 17 2024, 01:33 PM)
whats the game engine behind geekbench opengl/vulkan and metal test? it is strictly compute work only?
im not going to trust something that didnt actually show full screen output, then tell the hardware is good in video game rendering based on that score. i rather use antutu(this already bad apple) score instead, at least you could check if there are assets, visual effect that was not rendered.
because the previous 780m is close to gtx1060 3gb performance if used in laptop like 50+watts

if 890m is around 50% faster than it can be close to gtx1070 maybe, even 1660 performance is nice

0.0154sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:49 AM