QUOTE(HolyCross @ May 31 2008, 10:52 PM)
not abc..i went to Ipoh city pet centre..confused..so many pet shops duno wan to buy from where..i never go to abc at ipoh garden that side..i go to town area that one
good large breed..can protect me

..will it bark?somemore should i buy the chain,soap,toy everything ready before i get it?should i chain it from the day i buy it??i scare it run away..somemore later it big already..want to chain it..later go bite me
tmr sunday maybe i will be going to abc to buy 'house' for my hamster
i suggest u go ipoh garden there and have a look 1st.no hurry to buy right?research as much as u can bt the breed whether r u capable of handling large breed dog.it will bark for a reason.but it's
NOT A WATCHDOG NOR PROTECT U unless you trained the pup to be protective of the house etc.but usually in this case,retrievers aren't the best watchdogs.best is rotties,gsd or dobermans.like ben,he only barks when my other dog barks other dogs or when he's hungry.
correction - the word 'chain' is leash.it's best train the pup with the leash when u go for a walk.from the day u bought the pup,ps dun chain him/her up immediately.make a connection with the pup so that he/she gets familiar with the new environment etc.btw,ben's now going to be 4 months in 2 days time.n yet,he is huge for his age right now.so all this u have to ask yourself whether r u capable to handle such a big dog.they're smart but may act dumb.i've been scolding ben many times over n over again for peeing n pooping in the house.if i got the chance,i sure put him out of the hse but due to the current contruction on my front porch,i couldn't let him out as yet.at least till the gates has arrived.it takes patience and time to train them commands,toilet train etc..i rest my case
Added on May 31, 2008, 11:22 pmQUOTE(Lovely_Gal @ May 31 2008, 11:06 PM)
Labrador is a large breed but they very friendly, but when they are puppy you must train them so that they will listen to you. Sometimes doggy might bite during teething so need to be patience and teach them loo.

Dog should bark normally, but my choi choi only will bark when she want to play with us =.=|| Naughty gal~

Hehe... i think labrador is quite friendly so i think they won't really bark at stranger except you train them to~

You can buy everything at the pet shop there when you buy the dog, you can research it 1st as well...

But, bear in mind, don't buy large pack kibbles 1st, buy a small 1 and let your puppy try 1st, if it likes it then only go for large packet~~

hope you can get your doggy soon~~

bravo lovely gal.you've grown a lot...
yes,holy cross,the best is train them from young.you can get supplies when you already have the pup or when u purchase it.however,downside of petshops is u dun get to see the pups' parents nor know their genetic history if they have problems with HD etc.thus,taking frm breeders is the best choice and i think u can find pretty a lot of breeders in ipoh.just research as much as u can bt the breed,their temperament whether all these traits can suit you,your family and ur home environment.
my cousin's golden and labs don't bark at strangers instead being utmost extremely friendly.imagine having robbers wanna rob ur house,they are easily fooled by any treats given by the robbers.bear in mind,retreivers love eatings.known for greedy eaters.
This post has been edited by insideurheaven: May 31 2008, 11:22 PM