DNB and 2nd 5G network: needed or not?

NagaK
post Dec 9 2024, 01:00 PM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Dec 9 2024, 11:44 AM)
They have been really slow moving after 80%. Is it DNB run out of money already?
DNB out of money where money all where telco injected during SSA agreement? are they paid for outstanding first instead of spending on newer ones or First thing this SSA really happened?
PMX shows anger recently on DNB as they not provide business plan after 2nd 5G rollout what DNB actually doing?

Also 5G has been congested more then before. DNB social media pages not active. 5G interactive map coverage lastly updated on September what this guys really going 😒

5G in Malaysia still joke not matured enough for previous or new government. Better they should have been stick to SWN instead DWN they make big mistake. DNB struggled both financially and supports from telco and GOVT

This post has been edited by NagaK: Dec 9 2024, 01:02 PM
nexona88
post Dec 9 2024, 02:27 PM

The Royal Club Member
45,450 posts

Not surprising as many take up rates on 5G devices & services...

With DNB single monopoly....

Congestion issues now become more worse.... Heck the speed already like 4G or e
Sometimes 3G 😭
NagaK
post Dec 9 2024, 04:40 PM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 9 2024, 02:27 PM)
Not surprising as many take up rates on 5G devices & services...

With DNB single monopoly....

Congestion issues now become more worse.... Heck the speed already like 4G or e
Sometimes 3G 😭
Telcos should work with DNB with good motive to solve issue but it’s seems doesn’t they still fights with MCMC and GOVT for own network 5G spectrum network fight will continue until next 5 years
nexona88
post Dec 9 2024, 05:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
45,450 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 9 2024, 04:40 PM)
Telcos should work with DNB with good motive to solve issue but it’s seems doesn’t they still fights with MCMC and GOVT for own network 5G spectrum network fight will continue until next 5 years
This the problem

Both parties not really cooperating each others...

The previous government should heed the Telco calls... Not using single entity DNB....

Let them all build own infrastructure.... Let them spend $$$... The best & complete coverage wins the battle
NagaK
post Dec 9 2024, 05:50 PM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 9 2024, 05:28 PM)
This the problem

The previous government should heed the Telco calls... Not using single entity DNB....

Let them all build own infrastructure.... Let them spend $$$... The best & complete coverage wins the battle
Yes I mentioned before previous and current government are immaturely handling it. End users are suffers pay more for plans and phones
TSOfficiallyAhmad
post Dec 9 2024, 07:05 PM

58 posts

This the problem

The MNOs already been given their privilege of creating their own network during 4G era. CelcomDigi and Maxis have the best coverage but at what cost? What Malaysian get? High 4G price with ridiculous FUP. Even with that privilege, Malaysia 4G internet speed is still one of the slowest in Southeast Asia.

To make DNB sound more efficient, DNB only need to use 100Mhz of N78 and 20Mhz of L28 to be have of the fastest MEDIAN 5G speed in the whole world while other country with millimeter wave spectrum is below Malaysia.

https://www.lowyat.net/2022/266106/malaysia...load-speed-sea/

This post has been edited by OfficiallyAhmad: Dec 9 2024, 07:21 PM
TSOfficiallyAhmad
post Dec 9 2024, 07:11 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 9 2024, 05:50 PM)
Yes I mentioned before previous and current government are immaturely handling it. End users are suffers pay more for plans and phones
End user "pay more"? Based on what data you reference to? Finding by The Edge in the article publish on 11 November 2024 shown that 5G plan price per Gb is almost 76% cheaper than 4G plan (in context of SWN).

*Maybe I'm missunderstanding your point because you talking in context of DWN instead of SWN? If I'm missunderstanding your point, I appologize for it.

This post has been edited by OfficiallyAhmad: Dec 9 2024, 07:17 PM
NagaK
post Dec 9 2024, 07:47 PM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(OfficiallyAhmad @ Dec 9 2024, 07:11 PM)
End user "pay more"? Based on what data you reference to? Finding by The Edge in the article publish on 11 November 2024 shown that 5G plan price per Gb is almost 76% cheaper than 4G plan (in context of SWN).

*Maybe I'm missunderstanding your point because you talking in context of DWN instead of SWN? If I'm missunderstanding your point, I appologize for it.
SWN definitely cheaper cost for end users.
We got more affordable plans and more data compared to last 3 years.
I'm talk about if what Govt gives spectrum to all telco to establish 5G instead of SWN
YoungMan
post Dec 9 2024, 09:40 PM

6,137 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 9 2024, 04:40 PM)
Telcos just laugh at DNB. Let DNB settle everything since telcos forced to pay. If DNB unable to provide good 5g, telcos just wash their hand.

This the problem

Not necessary, it can be a consortium of telcos without MOF in it. MCMC plays the role of regulator and mandate them to provide 5G in rural area just like how DNB did.

QUOTE(OfficiallyAhmad @ Dec 9 2024, 07:05 PM)
The MNOs already been given their privilege of creating their own network during 4G era. CelcomDigi and Maxis have the best coverage but at what cost? What Malaysian get? High 4G price with ridiculous FUP. Even with that privilege, Malaysia 4G internet speed is still one of the slowest in Southeast Asia.

To make DNB sound more efficient, DNB only need to use 100Mhz of N78 and 20Mhz of L28 to be have of the fastest MEDIAN 5G speed in the whole world while other country with millimeter wave spectrum is below Malaysia.

Fastest median speed because that time not much people are using 5G. Now surely speed drop.
Celcom or Maxis do not even get 100Mhz spectrum at that point of time. Digi even have to take over from 1 particular company to get 4g spectrum.
p4n6
post Dec 10 2024, 07:41 AM

5,888 posts

QUOTE(OfficiallyAhmad @ Dec 9 2024, 07:05 PM)

In 2022, while the world already launched 5G in 2020, Malaysia telco mostly still using 4G - that is why we are the slowest speed in region. Gov been withholding the spectrum but blame it on telco not launching 5G. Most telcos like Celcom and Maxis already claimed they are hardware ready waiting for spectrum to enable 5G in 2019.

Your comparison is always biased without stating the amount of users in the network and time period of 5G launch for Malaysia vs other countries 5G.

The right way to compare is based on same amount of users but the info not easy to acquire therefore shall compare based on year of launch. A 3 year old 5G networks vs a 3 year old 5G network.

DNB 5G speed is observably slowing down now … are we still fastest in the world?

What i observe was DNB start self proclaiming fastest and this and that after few months launch to compare with other telcos in region been using 5G for years.

The agenda i saw probably Ericsson want to show the world single wholesale network (only 1 in the world) works so the marketing cost throws in to buy all the biased recognition.

From an investor point of view, reason no telco wants DNB cause:

1. DNB using Ericsson hardware which none telcos in Malaysia using, incompatibility is an issue.
2. DNB has MOF as major shareholders and golden share, no reason to buy into DNB when cant control + potential fund mismanagement or songlap will happen as like most GLC
3. DNB as per gov is not for profit making company - why buy into company that purpose not to make money?

DNB is a shithole made by MOF now looking for telco to cover the hole. The concept is a problem the first place + Ericsson as equipment vendor. It will be a long road to come out with a solution for DNB, and network quality will deteriote without gov continue to pump money to build sites.

Second wholesale network will have better potential by the outlook.
nexona88
post Dec 10 2024, 10:25 AM

The Royal Club Member
45,450 posts

And there's some "pressure" from western countries especially from "Big brother" to use "reputable source" for second 5G equipments... Read: either pick up Ericsson or others European / US companies instead of PRC like Huawei 😊
NagaK
post Yesterday, 03:35 PM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Dec 8 2024, 08:24 PM)
Hi sifus. After 6 months after 5G smartpole been installed in my near my housing area. I saw technician actually installing this dish instead of 5G Antenna equipment like other towers taller one

Why is this so does mean I never get 5G? Another area near Jalan Kebun Nenas also same
Last Wednesday all 5G antenna been installed but haven't activated I guess as I don't get 5G signals

14 Pages « < 12 13 14Top

0.0145sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2024 - 01:19 AM