Full Time Masters (Part Time Job)

quadcube
post Jun 27 2024, 10:59 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 27 2024, 02:04 PM)
Good day all,

I’m planning to take a Master’s in Counselling next year (not sure which uni yet) and I was wondering would it be okay to have a part time job when I’m doing my full time studies?

If so, what are some of the suggestions?

Would doing Grab be sufficient?

Thank you in advance for your suggestions and advice.
It depends on how intense is your program, whether it’s coursework or research and your supervisor.

When I did my masters n PhD, I juggle between being a tutor, part time at the university IT center, a lead at an agri tech startup, running my own design and contract manufacturing business, and studies. Mine was mix coursework and research, I was able to managed it as my supervisor was pretty chill, coursework part wasn’t that bad except a few crazy subjects, so I spent the rest of my free time working on other stuffs

quadcube
post Jun 28 2024, 09:23 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ Jun 28 2024, 08:13 AM)
Thank you for the reply and it seems that you really had a lot to handle, glad that you made it through well smile.gif

I’m guessing for mine would be a mix of coursework and research as well.
While I'm not too familiar with your field (am in computer science), do look out for any opportunities that could best complement your current expertises and future goals, ask around potential supervisors, labmates/students in your field about it. networking would be essential.

Found and lobang my way into a lot of nice part time roles, like tutoring, IT support in the uni though professors and senior postgrad peeps
like IT support, usually it's pretty quiet unless it's the start of the new academic year..basically paid to just sit there and just do your own studies if there's no ppl.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 28 2024, 08:21 AM)
I think ultimately the key to this, IMVHO, is whatever part time work you do should not detract from the ultimate aim and ideally should be related.

In my own case, I did locum jobs at hospital emergency departments and walk in clinics while I was studying for my masters in medicine. Every patient that came in received a specific examination on the area of concern following the masters of medicine’s examination requirements.

Essentially, I got paid to prepare for my exams in a manner of speaking.

That would be the idea scenario.

Good luck with your own journey my friend!
this. ideally it would be best.

0.0142sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:36 AM