TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 03:48 PM, updated 2y ago

just wanna ask sifus here. I have been using my CRV for 7 years (5 driving years if minus out 2 years of lockdown), and it is serving me well so far. I am looking to upgrade to GLC 300 over the next 2 years, but it seems like GLC is having its last batch of petrol version, and future launches will be all PHEV. So i am wondering if i should bring forward my purchase since PHEV is of no use for me living in a condo.
thanks in advance
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 03:48 PM) Hi, just wanna ask sifus here. I have been using my CRV for 7 years (5 driving years if minus out 2 years of lockdown), and it is serving me well so far. I am looking to upgrade to GLC 300 over the next 2 years, but it seems like GLC is having its last batch of petrol version, and future launches will be all PHEV. So i am wondering if i should bring forward my purchase since PHEV is of no use for me living in a condo. thanks in advance I take it you're looking to buy new? Sometimes, they may have run out sales, so if you're not in a hurry, you might wanna wait.
romuluz777
Jun 26 2024, 04:09 PM
You should buy the fully petrol version while its still available.
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2024, 04:09 PM) You should buy the fully petrol version while its still available. I feel there's no two ways about it. Either go all EV (and I fear sooner or later, we'll all have to do it), or stick with ICE. PHEV means you have twice the issues to handle - the electrics and the petrol engine - if things break down.
TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 04:06 PM) I take it you're looking to buy new? Sometimes, they may have run out sales, so if you're not in a hurry, you might wanna wait. Yeah, referring to the new 2024 GLC CKD (launched last year) which has stopped production now but selling remaining stocks before launching PHEV version later this year. I'm not in a hurry actually, just wondering if 2 years later if i wanna upgrade but only left with PHEV cars ?
TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2024, 04:09 PM) You should buy the fully petrol version while its still available. u suggest get the current GLC 300 now?
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 04:42 PM) Yeah, referring to the new 2024 GLC CKD (launched last year) which has stopped production now but selling remaining stocks before launching PHEV version later this year. I'm not in a hurry actually, just wondering if 2 years later if i wanna upgrade but only left with PHEV cars ? Oooh... then, that's a slightly different proposition. They are drawing down on existing stocks and not replenishing supplies. Blink and you might miss the boat. I would probably speak to the friendly sales person and ask for a tip, when the final few cars are due to be sold, so you can book one for yourself.
TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2024, 04:09 PM) You should buy the fully petrol version while its still available. u suggest get the current GLC 300 now?
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 04:44 PM) u suggest get the current GLC 300 now? I would probably agree with romuluz777 - if an ICE matters, as opposed to the potential problems of a PHEV, then earlier the better.
TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 04:45 PM) I would probably agree with romuluz777 - if an ICE matters, as opposed to the potential problems of a PHEV, then earlier the better. i see, thanks for the advice. Partly due to me feeling i still can use the CRV hence no need to spend the $$$ now to upgrade to GLC 300. at the same time, afraid will be left with PHEV options only 2 years down the road or even next year
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 04:47 PM) i see, thanks for the advice. Partly due to me feeling i still can use the CRV hence no need to spend the $$$ now to upgrade to GLC 300. at the same time, afraid will be left with PHEV options only 2 years down the road or even next year I suppose if you're not too set on a GLC, there should be other ICE variants in the market... just perhaps not the brand you fancy.
TSqhw
Jun 26 2024, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 04:56 PM) I suppose if you're not too set on a GLC, there should be other ICE variants in the market... just perhaps not the brand you fancy. yeah, not keen on BMW....Volvo not too sure given small market segment, hence only shortlist GLC....sigh....why la the world transitioning to EV so fast
hksgmy
Jun 26 2024, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 05:12 PM) yeah, not keen on BMW....Volvo not too sure given small market segment, hence only shortlist GLC....sigh....why la the world transitioning to EV so fast IT. IS. A. SCAM
jflee169
Jun 26 2024, 09:43 PM

If MB stop the GLC 300, which mean they might launch GLC 200 (petrol engine) and then replace GLC300 with GLC 300e (PHEV)
If you refer to C Class, they have stop C300 and replaced with C350e, and still maintain C200.
The above just my 2 cents opinion.
romuluz777
Jun 26 2024, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 05:43 PM) u suggest get the current GLC 300 now? The last variant with the conventional ICE engine. I believe the next model changeout would be PHEV or hybrid.
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2024, 10:38 PM) The last variant with the conventional ICE engine. I believe the next model changeout would be PHEV or hybrid. You could be right. And the difference between the GLC200 vs GLC300 is just the state of engine tune. They are both 4 potters, aren’t they?
romuluz777
Jun 27 2024, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 27 2024, 08:53 AM) You could be right. And the difference between the GLC200 vs GLC300 is just the state of engine tune. They are both 4 potters, aren’t they? Yeah, all 4s
4WD_er
Jun 27 2024, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 26 2024, 05:12 PM) yeah, not keen on BMW....Volvo not too sure given small market segment, hence only shortlist GLC....sigh....why la the world transitioning to EV so fast You still have Lexus NX what, ICE variant.
sameday
Jun 27 2024, 10:10 AM

then buy CRV Hybrid.. save money and save petrol, and the money u save from paying GLC good enough to cover all the petrol u gonna spend after petrol hike to rm3.00 Move people will go for Hybrid, PHEV or EV, once the price touch RM3.00 and above.
This post has been edited by sameday: Jun 27 2024, 10:11 AM
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 10:22 AM
But there’s the risk of PHEV causing twice as much problems because of 2 systems that need maintenance….
key3hky
Jun 27 2024, 10:30 AM

I thought MB is not going to proceed their EV fleet update no?
TSqhw
Jun 27 2024, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(key3hky @ Jun 27 2024, 10:30 AM) I thought MB is not going to proceed their EV fleet update no? if MB will continue to have ICE cars, then i will be more than happy to wait....
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(key3hky @ Jun 27 2024, 10:30 AM) I thought MB is not going to proceed their EV fleet update no? They will, but at a slower pace….
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 27 2024, 11:25 AM) if MB will continue to have ICE cars, then i will be more than happy to wait.... You’re like me… a Dino juicer. May I ask your particular reasons please?
TSqhw
Jun 27 2024, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 27 2024, 11:43 AM) You’re like me… a Dino juicer. May I ask your particular reasons please? reasons to wait? coz my current car is serving me well despite being 7 years old due to 2 years of no driving during covid lockdown, so i thought not yet time to trigger to buy merc for the first time in my life, but the end production of ICE GLC300 and launch of GLC PHEV put me in a dilemma.
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 27 2024, 02:22 PM) reasons to wait? coz my current car is serving me well despite being 7 years old due to 2 years of no driving during covid lockdown, so i thought not yet time to trigger to buy merc for the first time in my life, but the end production of ICE GLC300 and launch of GLC PHEV put me in a dilemma. No no, I mean our insistence on sticking with ICE cars… For me, it’s simply because EV cars don’t give me the same driving feel as an ICE car. And because places where I wanna drive to may not have EV charging stations available as readily.
TSqhw
Jun 27 2024, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 27 2024, 02:42 PM) No no, I mean our insistence on sticking with ICE cars… For me, it’s simply because EV cars don’t give me the same driving feel as an ICE car. And because places where I wanna drive to may not have EV charging stations available as readily. ohh, coz my condo is like 12 years old, infra unlikely to allow individual EV charging bay...also i m from east coast of peninsular msia, so i think probably can cry if looking to find EV charger travelling on the east coast highway, not to mention in my kampung area....
hksgmy
Jun 27 2024, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(qhw @ Jun 27 2024, 03:10 PM) ohh, coz my condo is like 12 years old, infra unlikely to allow individual EV charging bay...also i m from east coast of peninsular msia, so i think probably can cry if looking to find EV charger travelling on the east coast highway, not to mention in my kampung area.... That's the issue right there! Exactly my concern! Honestly, this hype about the EV is like putting the cart before the horse. They push buyers to buy buy buy... but they never consider the queue at the charging stations because there'll be so few of them!