QUOTE(Petre @ Oct 4 2012, 10:22 AM)
hi sifus...
hope someone can advice me on this. this is 3dsMax related
i have a terrain built using the terrain command in 3dsmax. i need to do a series of road going in the area, some are elevated but some will need to cut through the terrain.
so far i just pulled the vertex points of the road and extrude. the road is basically no problem...
my problem is, how do i create retaining walls along the edges of the road? i tried duplicating the line from the road, and enabled thickness to it. but doing it this way some parts of the line got twisted etc. so i imagine this is not the correct way
so what is the best and correct way to do such a project?
pls advice and thanks in advance

Create a line, like a path of the road, then make a very long road.hope someone can advice me on this. this is 3dsMax related
i have a terrain built using the terrain command in 3dsmax. i need to do a series of road going in the area, some are elevated but some will need to cut through the terrain.
so far i just pulled the vertex points of the road and extrude. the road is basically no problem...
my problem is, how do i create retaining walls along the edges of the road? i tried duplicating the line from the road, and enabled thickness to it. but doing it this way some parts of the line got twisted etc. so i imagine this is not the correct way
so what is the best and correct way to do such a project?
pls advice and thanks in advance
After that, click on the road convert> editable poly, in modifier list, find path deform (wsm).
Click on pick path then click on the line you created, play with the path deform axis to get what you want, very easy.
Play with the percent to move the road.
Please make sure your road has enough edges to bend.
EDIT,
Basically same way to make the wall you mentioned, sorry didn't see that.
This post has been edited by entei00: Oct 4 2012, 12:29 PM
Oct 4 2012, 12:28 PM

0.0374sec