Seeking for advice

hksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 08:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Please consider getting your nephew to retake the SPM. 2 credits and he wants to be a teacher. What kind of education do you think he'll end up imparting to the younger generation?

If you want a nation to grow, you have to get good quality and highly qualified educators to nurture the future generation, not dumb them down with someone who barely could manage 2 credits on his own.
hksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 06:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 19 2024, 11:41 AM)
Under such life constraints, retake SPM is the only option - straight forward option. 

Face / ego = worthless in real life.
Agree. Face/ego cannot feed a family
hksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 10:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(SevenTwentyOne @ Jun 20 2024, 02:51 PM)
My honest 2 cents:

1. Please dissuade him from teaching course if he is not SERIOUS. We need quality, qualified and committed teachers.

2. If he is serious, take up a pre-U in field he is interested (ie: Sciences, Arts, Humanities, Commerce) > Undergraduate in same field > teaching diploma > teaching licence from MoE > Teacher

3. Chances are, he can still enter civil service with the above route.

4. Timeline: pre-U 1 year, Degree 3-4 years, Teaching Diploma 6 mths to 1 year

5. Cost: ballpark figure: fully loaded around MYR50k-100k depending on field of study in local private (has ruled up government univ as he is not qualified for even matric, pre-asasi or diploma if he is non)

Disclaimer: All this work if there's money and his willpower. Else refer to 1), please, for the love of himself and others, do something else.
I fully agree with your 1st statement 1000000%
hksgmy
post Jul 6 2024, 08:07 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 6 2024, 05:59 PM)
No degree, no master, no phd.

There's no way you can skip degree to MBA.

I just checked. It seems that you will need at least a cgpa of 2.5 for degree or APEL 7 to enroll for the program.
Quite low bar for admission criteria…
hksgmy
post Jul 6 2024, 10:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 6 2024, 10:46 PM)
Yes, very low. Besides, I wonder how did he enroll with a diploma?
Probably slightly more legit than a degree mill… but not much
hksgmy
post Jul 8 2024, 08:05 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 6 2024, 11:08 PM)
No info provided for your field of study & work - then say your field need UK cert. What is your background, what was your diploma? How many years of working experience and why you need an MBA for your work?

University of Gloucest, macam x masuk akal the name.

Nama Pennsula College pun x masuk akal.

Went to the link you gave :-

Name of Qualification : Master of Business Administration in collaboration with University of Gloucestershire
Name of Institution : Peninsula College Shah Alam
Maybe "Peninsula" College was already taken by someone, so have to mangle the "peninsula" to "Pennsula" ...
hksgmy
post Jul 12 2024, 11:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 10 2024, 10:39 PM)
Not surprised. Most would ask questions to justify their decision. It is hard to accept critical comments from others. I have seen quite a number of them. Ask a question >> gets a negative response with follow up questions >> MIA
But our follow up questions weren’t even critical in nature… I mean, I feel it’s a valid concern as to why a college would accept someone with a low GPA as a candidate…. Already puts the value of the degree in question…
hksgmy
post Jul 13 2024, 03:39 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 13 2024, 12:05 AM)
something that have always puzzles me

i have asked a lot of students who don't excel academically but yet, they want to be teachers

rclxub.gif

what the heck?

what are they looking for in life?

if they don't like to read/study in the first place, how would they gain and impart knowledge to others?
Low barrier of entry….

0.0150sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:22 AM