Looking for shop that can enlarge rim centre bore, Around KL Area

TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 13 2024, 07:16 AM, updated 2y ago

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Was wondering if anybody knows any shops that provides service to enlarge the centre bore of rims.
Currently my car has a centre bore of 67mm, which is quite large, and that means if I am trying to replace it with a cheap 2nd hand OEM rim of another manufacturer/model, it likely won't fit. Enlarging the centre bore of the rim would fix this issue and give me cheaper alternatives.

Old searches from this forum due lead to some names, but when looking up through google maps, the shops seems to have moved and/or have closed.
Roadwarrior1337
post Jun 13 2024, 07:44 AM

979 posts

Use Center cone is better option imho but a pain to get the wheel balanced. U need to do on wheel balancing for this

U don’t want to be enlarging the rim because it may cause integrity issues lagi la on cheapo Taiwan or Thailand rims.
kira_88
post Jun 13 2024, 08:05 AM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,150 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jun 13 2024, 07:44 AM)
Use Center cone is better option imho but a pain to get the wheel balanced. U need to do on wheel balancing for this

U don’t want to be enlarging the rim because it may cause integrity issues lagi la on cheapo Taiwan or Thailand rims.
I thought using centre cone is when the case is centre bore is smaller than the rim and the centre cone is used to fill inthe gap.

TS case here is his car centre bore is larger than the rim making the rim unable to be fitted.
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 13 2024, 08:08 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jun 13 2024, 07:44 AM)

Terbalik la wei.

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Jun 13 2024, 08:05 AM)
I thought using centre cone is when the case is centre bore is smaller than the rim and the centre cone is used to fill inthe gap.

TS case here is his car centre bore is larger than the rim making the rim unable to be fitted.
Yeah, he got it mixed up. Currently some of the rims that I wanted to use is unable to fit without using spacers, and I don't want to use spacers since it won't sit flush on the hub.
kira_88
post Jun 13 2024, 08:16 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 13 2024, 08:08 AM)
Terbalik la wei.
Yeah, he got it mixed up. Currently some of the rims that I wanted to use is unable to fit without using spacers, and I don't want to use spacers since it won't sit flush on the hub.
Using a spacer will just create a new problem. Have you tried your luck at place where they can fix bent/cracked wheels? Normally they will have machinery that can do this. try Lan engineering if you're in KV.

Or you can try your luck in FB marketplace for your same oem spec rim
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 13 2024, 08:22 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Jun 13 2024, 08:16 AM)
Using a spacer will just create a new problem. Have you tried your luck at place where they can fix bent/cracked wheels? Normally they will have machinery that can do this. try Lan engineering if you're in KV.

Or you can try your luck in FB marketplace for your same oem spec rim
well nak tukar pasal some of the other OEM looks nicer ahahaha. I am using Inspira, but rims from the Accordana and Geely based Protons can't fit. But they are dirt cheap. :V
kira_88
post Jun 14 2024, 12:27 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 13 2024, 08:22 AM)
well nak tukar pasal some of the other OEM looks nicer ahahaha. I am using Inspira, but rims from the Accordana and Geely based Protons can't fit. But they are dirt cheap. :V
Accordana rims can fit well la bro without any mods. I've actually used it on my Inspira before my current raxer wheel. This 17" wheels right
SUSceo684
post Jun 14 2024, 12:35 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Engineering shop can do but you need to know how much diameter u need

http://m.successtechnic.com/index.php?ws=contactus
kira_88
post Jun 14 2024, 08:49 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Jun 14 2024, 12:27 AM)
Accordana rims can fit well la bro without any mods. I've actually used it on my Inspira before my current raxer wheel. This 17" wheels right
Another note if you're going to use this rim with a 225/50 tyres find a tyres that that don't have a thick sidewall. Since the gap of the rear wheel with the rear arm(if I'm not mistaken) is damn close. Thick sidewall tyres is going to rub with it on every corners. My experience Goodyear tyres is fine no issues, falken azenis tyres will rub and you'll need to use a spacer for rear.
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 14 2024, 01:16 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Jun 14 2024, 12:27 AM)
Oh I asked the shop that was selling and he said the centre bore is 62mm. Maybe he thought it was the same as Honda's
I tested the x50 rim before and that one confirm memang cannot fit.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Jun 14 2024, 01:17 PM
speedy3210
post Jun 15 2024, 03:13 PM

518 posts

Mazda rims IINM is on 67.1mm CB. Maybe can consider these, especially those traded-in from Mazda3 and Mazda6? These rims were OEM-ed by Enkei, as per the markings on the rims.

Lots of these on Carousell and mudah for cheap, and with tyres summore. Tyres can still sell to shop in threads still thick.

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Jun 15 2024, 03:15 PM
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 15 2024, 06:46 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jun 15 2024, 03:13 PM)
Mazda rims IINM is on 67.1mm CB. Maybe can consider these, especially those traded-in from Mazda3 and Mazda6? These rims were OEM-ed by Enkei, as per the  markings on the rims.

Lots of these on Carousell and mudah for cheap, and with tyres summore. Tyres can still sell to shop in threads still thick.
Hmm. That's an idea. Going to try the accordana rim again and if that fails I try Mazda.
ktek
post Jun 17 2024, 06:17 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

nobody want to do for me. so i end up buy boring machine with correct size bit and cutting it by myself
ktek
post Jun 17 2024, 06:20 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

honda rim is aluminium. quite easy to shave off
follow directional order, check diammeter after each cycle

not worry about imbalance circle. becos mine isnt perfect. yet no effect on high speed/ weight feel

did rotate front back. same
ktek
post Jun 17 2024, 06:23 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 14 2024, 12:35 AM)
Engineering shop can do but you need to know how much diameter u need

http://m.successtechnic.com/index.php?ws=contactus
engineering shop cant do becos caliper ruler unable go into rim measure
dwRK
post Jun 18 2024, 07:40 AM