Nokia Nokia 6500 SLIDE [Official Discussion V1], All-in-one Nokia S40 flagship

Addario
post Jan 5 2008, 11:42 AM

60 posts

Updated to 4.81 couple days back, still finding the differences from the previous FW. So far:

- speaker more solid, loud & clear (music player & hands free)
- seems to be faster & less lag. On the previous FW, 2GB memory card seems slow
- previously, the front buttons less responsive & sometimes have to press few times. Now, seems OK.
- not sure 3sec lag to answer when slide still there, kinda get used to the lag
- camera less grainy when zoom in but still grainy.

the keypad look like crap, obvious scratches from sliding. You have to put ur thumb on the screen to slide up/down. Using the rubber under the screen, u can hear the slide scratching the keypad. ouch sad.gif

camera performance: abit slow to display after snap. When u zoom in, image becomes grainy esp at night. It all depends on the sensor. Enough ambient light, clear pictures. Less, grainy pictures. In all, good lighting & angle & steady hands = shockingly great pictures smile.gif

Its a great phone for minimalist and oh the steel body becomes really hot after long usage but still its a head turner lah.

Few pictures taken attached

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Addario
post Jan 7 2008, 05:25 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(pong85 @ Jan 7 2008, 02:03 PM)
wan to ask...is there any cover special for 6500slide?
as i kno there is a cover for 6500 classic
special cover means? screen protector or hard cover?
if screen protector, shud be available by now. drop by garage sales, saw some few weeks back.
hard cover, not sure.

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Jan 7 2008, 03:36 PM)
just bought the 6500slide over the weekend. A bit of pain since I have not use Nokia the last 5 years as I'm on either SE or Alcatel. I find the menu on Nokia a pain in the neck, so have to get used to it.

The 3.2 CZ lens is wasted without proper thinking on Nokia with the menu access. In my previous SE800, you can view and edit the camera function very easily in camera mode. The 6500 need you to move to gallery menu and out of camera mode! sigh!

Its 4.8.1 FM and already hang 1 time, apparently from the lagging. So far after getting use to how it works, its fine!
To nokia users, the menu seems fine. It takes time to get comfortable. As for me, i dun prefer SE menu, altho the tabbing style is good.

Not sure what camera setting ur talking but there's an option button for you to change settings, if thats what u are looking for.

Addario
post Jan 19 2008, 12:22 AM

60 posts

eh why cannot?
if update the firmware, can use Nokia Software Updater (NSU)
download-able from Nokia website

if upgrade firmware to be a s60 phone..confirm cannot
Addario
post Jan 19 2008, 09:41 PM

60 posts

can upgrade using NSU
the latest firmware is 4.81

try putting the ringtone in the phone memory, not the memory card.
many seems to solve the bug by doing this
Addario
post Feb 15 2008, 03:41 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Feb 14 2008, 09:12 PM)

i have a pouch for my slider and always carry it inside my handbag to avoid scratches, but the weird thing is whenever there's call, once i take out my phone fr the pouch, n b4 even able to c who's actually callin, my 'high-tech' 6500s wil automatically answer the calls for me without havin me pressing on any keys..??!!:rclxub.gif:

WHY??!!

PLS HELP IF U KNOW HOW...MILLION THANKS!!!
In my case, not only that, it also rejects a call when i take it out from pouch.
Plus the phone unlocks itself when putting into / taking out the pouch.

It seems the pouch magnet pulls the front pad. Even if I put the phone on top the pouch and slide abit, it will also unlock.

I had to take out 1 magnet from the pouch. It lessen the issue a bit.
i also set autolock after 30s.

Find a pouch with 1 magnet only the side or better those which uses velcro.

0.0236sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:53 AM