what happened when you emergency brake?

TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 08:11 AM, updated 2y ago

880 posts

today I had the unfortunate event of having to emergency brake in front car stopped suddenly

in doing so, the car able to stop but have a very harsh sound and feel on the brake.

is it normal? its quite new car btw.

lucky got FCW if not i'm toast liao.

kira_88
post Jun 6 2024, 08:21 AM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,153 posts

definetely the car will stop when u e-brake. lol

doing so you would wear up your suspension and brake parts faster as compared to normal braking but its nothing to worry about unless you do it on a daily basis.

If after braking there is nothing unusual (noise,ride feel) then you have nothing to worry about as you car is built to take a beating like that. if yes just bring it to sc for checking since its a new car
regnessem
post Jun 6 2024, 08:39 AM

398 posts

most likely its the ABS; preventing you from losing control from a hard brake
nomoredfox
post Jun 6 2024, 08:40 AM

324 posts

dont worry..chassis wont break....lol
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 6 2024, 08:42 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

What is FCW?
TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 08:43 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 6 2024, 08:42 AM)
What is FCW?
Front collision warning
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 6 2024, 08:45 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2024, 08:43 AM)
Front collision warning
Oooo how does it work?
How can it differ accident with stopping behind a car in traffic jam? Or during parking?
TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 08:59 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 6 2024, 08:45 AM)
Oooo how does it work?
How can it differ accident with stopping behind a car in traffic jam? Or during parking?
for mine, when you press accelerator but in front got car slow/stopped, the warning will flash at your dashboard with sounds. but braking is done by driver. just the alert sound and graphic only. sometimes u won't notice the car in front suddenly stop
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 6 2024, 09:31 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2024, 08:59 AM)
for mine, when you press accelerator but in front got car slow/stopped, the warning will flash at your dashboard with sounds. but braking is done by driver. just the alert sound and graphic only. sometimes u won't notice the car in front suddenly stop
Must be annoying during traffic jam?
TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 09:38 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 6 2024, 09:31 AM)
Must be annoying during traffic jam?
no, it won't activate in normal traffic jam. its smart enough to know abnormal driver behaviour.
hksgmy
post Jun 6 2024, 10:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2024, 08:11 AM)
today I had the unfortunate event of having to emergency brake in front car stopped suddenly

in doing so, the car able to stop but have a very harsh sound and feel on the brake.

Bro! Does that mean you traded in your Jazz and bought a new car? Sorry if I missed it and congratulations bro!

Lucky no one got hurt also…
TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 10:15 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 6 2024, 10:13 AM)
Bro! Does that mean you traded in your Jazz and bought a new car? Sorry if I missed it and congratulations bro!

Lucky no one got hurt also…
oh ya yes finally. got a bit of remorse on why do I waste money like this, but when these things happen I do glad the modern safety system kick in .

LKA also once helped me when I microsleep at highway last time.
hksgmy
post Jun 6 2024, 10:17 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2024, 10:15 AM)
oh ya yes finally. got a bit of remorse on why do I waste money like this, but when these things happen I do glad the modern safety system kick in .

LKA also once helped me when I microsleep at highway last time.
Tahniah bro! Share la sikit cerita kreta baru!
TSMegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2024, 10:22 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 6 2024, 10:17 AM)
Tahniah bro! Share la sikit cerita kreta baru!
aha. nothing to share la . just a basic normal car miles away from your cayenne . biggrin.gif

at the time budget was 90k . got few choices - vios / city /S70.

leaning on S70 but keep hearing stories of local spareparts problem and some problematic SC . the new vios was just a glorified myvi. Hence chose the city as got ready stock .

I do have remorse on why didn't pick S70 as I do feel like I'd appreciate a faster and bigger car. But oh well past is past . Just enjoy the ride for now for the next 5-7 years.

I wonder after that time EV will be established here. hmm.gif
hksgmy
post Jun 6 2024, 10:33 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2024, 10:22 AM)
aha. nothing to share la . just a basic normal car miles away from your cayenne .  biggrin.gif

at the time budget was 90k . got few choices - vios / city /S70.

leaning on S70 but keep  hearing stories of local spareparts problem and some problematic SC . the new vios was just a glorified myvi. Hence chose the city as got ready stock .

I do have remorse on why didn't pick S70 as I do feel like I'd appreciate a faster and bigger car. But oh well past is past . Just enjoy the ride for now for the next 5-7 years.

I wonder after that time EV will be established here. hmm.gif
You know what they say bro… ada Honda, ada…. Hahahaha win already.

Congratulations again, happy for you!
littlefire
post Jun 6 2024, 11:00 AM

2,736 posts

Honda always branded as milo tin by my mechanic.. Try knock on the door and body panels and compare with other competitors on the feel & sound.. You will know why... laugh.gif
constant_weight
post Jun 6 2024, 01:27 PM

916 posts

All kind of sounds during emergency braking.

If ABS is triggered, you'll feel the pulsation on brake pedal, along withe the noise
*brake by wire might or might not depends if the advanced type that simulate it

Depends on brake pad compound the brake will have different noise

Depends on tyres, different noise as well

Lastly new car, new brake, is the bedding of brake pad compound on the rotor complete? (this the what the brake run in do)
Not many aware, (at least for the common cast iron rotor) during braking in a fully run-in brake it is primarily brake pad rubbing against brake pad compound coated on the disc rotor.
When the coated compound worn off during braking, new layer constantly coated. That's why rotor worn really slowly in daily driving.

during run-in vs fully bedded different noise.
If change new 3rd party brake pad with different compound, how is the new compound compatible with old compound already coated on the rotor?

Lastly how you brake, gradually increase the brake force vs one short pedal to metal?
Speed also influence. Especially low ~10km/h speed, straight lock the wheel, there will be a big bang, feels like hitting the wall.

Anway in this situation, my biggest worry is other car from behind. You don't know how other people put shitty cheap brake pad, never change brake fluid or worst worn never bother to check...

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Jun 6 2024, 01:29 PM
sadukarzz
post Jun 6 2024, 01:30 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(regnessem @ Jun 6 2024, 08:39 AM)
most likely its the ABS; preventing you from losing control from a hard brake
Yes its ABS

The harsh and like bumpy sound is the sound of the brakes being applied heavily (from FCW); while the ABS is breaking the streak to several repetitive breaks in a frequency.
Hattori
post Jun 6 2024, 01:46 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

What is your definition of "emergency brake" in your situation ?

Is it :
a) Pull the parking brake, also known as a handbrake or emergency brake ?
b) Suddenly jammed your foot down very hard on the brake pedal ?
c) both a) & b) above ?

If a) then your car's rear brakes will activate & depending on how much you steer sideways, you may be able to perform a drift.
If b) then your car's both front & rear brakes will activate but more braking force is applied to the front, and your car will tilt forward
If c) then you probably cause damage to the handbrake and rear tyres when the rear axle locks up
Balanced
post Jun 6 2024, 10:47 PM

877 posts

Its normal. Your abs working and hitting and releasing the brakes for u several times while u standing on the brakes. Helps u brake in shorter distance and prevent tires skidding

0.0185sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:58 PM