NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 8800 GT, Official Overclocking Discussions...

QiW
post Feb 28 2008, 09:23 AM

354 posts

just got my asus 8800gt top yesterday ..
only OC the PC cpu .. nothing done to grafik card at all ..
scores ok ahh ??

QiW
post Feb 28 2008, 09:57 AM

354 posts

this one at different resolution ...

QiW
post Feb 28 2008, 10:17 AM

354 posts

another one with 1440x900 res .. tongue.gif

QiW
post Feb 28 2008, 11:17 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 28 2008, 10:42 AM)
about the same as mine....comparing 1440x900 bench, mine higher 500score coz i OC abit of GC out of it.... we both have the same specs/score i can say.. anyway how much ram u have on ur com?? what HDD ur winXp running on?
2GB of RAM ..
HDD is 3yr old MAXTOR SATA .. hehehehe

anyone know anything about this PhysX thing ahh ???
seems to be cuttin edge stuff ...
QiW
post Feb 29 2008, 02:22 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 28 2008, 11:53 AM)
if u have 2 cards in sli can lah..
1 card will render the graphics while the other will handle physics...
but for me cpu physics is enough, just take a look at havok physics engine powered games such as oblivion, hl2..
SLi ?? i dont think so la .. its a PCI card ... not gfx card leehh ..
i know the site says it says in physics calculations for some apps and games that carries the PhysX logo ..

what about games and apps that doesnt carry that PhysX logo ?? no difference ??
QiW
post Mar 1 2008, 07:32 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 29 2008, 04:24 PM)
what?? are u talking about the normal physix card of the rumored physix engine that be run on an nvidia gpu??  hmm.gif
Ageia PhysX which is doing the technology is bought over by NVIDIA already i think .. so whatever PhysX thats coming out still comes from Ageia but maybe NVIDIA might market it under their own umbrella laa .. that is to be seen over the next year

as for new NVIDIA cards that comes out with PhysX .. for sure will be super duper expensive .. coz the PhysX PCI card alone will cost u around rm1.2k at this moment .. hehehehe ... i know coz i got my hands on one of those PhysX card to test test .. tongue.gif
but for games without the PhysX then it doesnt make any difference laa .. u can always go to the Ageia website to see the difference in gfx

as for whatever rumours that 9800gt will come around the rm1k or jsut over rm1k mark .. prepared to be surprised .. i was told by reliable source that it will cost around rm2.1k when it hits our shores .. prolly within the next 2-3 months .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Mar 3 2008, 01:39 PM

354 posts

could be the OC settings are over your card limitation .. try go back to default settings and see if the problems still persists .. if ori settings u get this artifact prob then take it back to the shop and claim .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Mar 3 2008, 10:43 PM

354 posts

i am using ASUS 8800gt ... but the TOP version .. stock clock 700 memory 1000 shader 1750 ... so far so good except for the normal probs faced by loads of other ppl using 8800gt .. hahahaaa
QiW
post Mar 4 2008, 07:58 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Mar 4 2008, 12:55 AM)
what?? temp ke???  tongue.gif
not temp laa ... read on .. http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=243239
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=...ight=8800gt+g92
and got lots more in there to read about for 8800gt g92 .. tongue.gif

maybe spending more time USING it rather than just OC it for benchmark points could help .. hehehehe

This post has been edited by QiW: Mar 4 2008, 08:20 AM
QiW
post Mar 4 2008, 04:52 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Mar 4 2008, 03:41 PM)
Mine using the glaciator, but dunno which version...and don't have temp sensor I think. Coz I tried all sorts of program to view my GC temp but fail. doh.gif
I did try 700/1000 with a few 3dmark runs without problem. But I'm getting errors at those speeds in ATI Tool artifact test. Is the ATI tool test trustable?
How to set fan speed?
if yours came with glaciator fan .. then your is an ASUS rite ???
u can set fan speed as well as play with your core speed memory and shader using the supplied software call smart doctor .. hehehe
alternatively .. u can try rivatuner or atitools .. u can find the download link somewhere in the sticky threads .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Mar 6 2008, 05:43 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 6 2008, 04:08 PM)
Wah,good oc man.1887shader is no joke.My PNY show permanent artifact@720/1800/950 during 3dmark06 and currently on RMA sweat.gif But then your card is 1.25v default which i think is .15v more than stock 8800GT thumbup.gif
your PNY is stock factory OC at those clock and memory or u OC it yourself until that setting from stock ??
QiW
post Mar 9 2008, 07:58 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 9 2008, 01:27 PM)
You use 3dmark 06 pro,right?Go to analyze screen and show some FPS,that what i want to see.Mind PM me the keygen/serial of 3dmark 06 Pro?
what analyze screen ?? i dont see any analyze option in my PRO edition oso ??

Added on March 9, 2008, 7:59 pmps .. i might be selling off my ASUS EN8800GT TOP .. any idea what its worth now ?? shops selling around rm960 at the moment ..
tot of going to the darker side .. hehehehe

This post has been edited by QiW: Mar 9 2008, 07:59 PM
QiW
post Mar 9 2008, 09:40 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 9 2008, 09:13 PM)
ooo, come i also wanna selll my 1 month old Asus 88GT TOP ed.... or trade with 9600GT..hehe gatal wanna test
your case is considered downgrading to 96gt worr .. tongue.gif
me going to darkside means jumping over to ATi .. hehehe
prolly going for the ASUS 3870 TOP laa . hahahaaa

This post has been edited by QiW: Mar 9 2008, 09:41 PM
QiW
post Mar 10 2008, 01:31 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Mar 9 2008, 11:14 PM)
click on the details,it will show the fps for each game
that one i know la .. hehehehe
i was looking for the ANALYZE button .. but cannot find so i asked .. hahahaaaa
thanks smile.gif

Added on March 10, 2008, 1:34 am
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 9 2008, 10:11 PM)
comparing mine and urs, now i realize there is sumthg diff... both same ASUS TOP 8800GT 512mb.. .but my memory is 1010mhz... haha.. i free 20mhz ka? the only diff there is forceware driver and 1000mhz vs 1010mhz......mine is in the below pic... weird
dunno why la .. maybe VISTA runs faster ?? hahaahahaaaa

This post has been edited by QiW: Mar 10 2008, 01:34 AM
QiW
post Mar 12 2008, 08:07 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Mar 12 2008, 06:20 PM)
yup because of vista is a resource hogger compared to xp..
i know that la .. was just kidding around .. hahahahaaa
QiW
post Mar 14 2008, 08:54 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 13 2008, 11:07 PM)
Palit has acquired Galaxy

Sources have told us that Palit has acquired Galaxy and that the big company is looking into buying some smaller players. Palit is Nvidia's number one partner and it completely rules the Chinese market and buys incredibly lots of chips from Nvidia.

Palit has a few other brands under its umbrella and now after swallowing Galaxy it is looking into buying Inno3D, as well.

The market has to consolidate and Nvidia will certainly push for fewer partners and a few bigger ones as it will make it easier to work.

source: HERE

is that the reason galaxy price so cheap?? 8800GT = Rm729......
no reason for PALIT to hit its own market if it had acquired galaxy what .. all PALIT have to do is sell GALAXY and their own cards at the same price la
unless PALIT plans to use GALAXY to hit market with price bombing and therefore killing their own products .. hehehe
QiW
post Mar 19 2008, 02:49 PM

354 posts

any of u guys' crashed in CRYSIS with the 88gt after long periods ??
with your OC settings to play la of coz .. tongue.gif
my 88gt running core 700 mem 2020 shader 1750 ... temp is not a prob as i touch the gpu HSF oso warmish only ... hehehheee
QiW
post Mar 21 2008, 11:34 AM

354 posts

the 88gt i am using is asus 88gt top with glaciator fan ..
the temp readings for this card cannot be detected by both everest or gpuz(latest version) .. the software provided by asus only lets me control (up or down clock) the core/shader/memory ..
previously i was using asus 88gt top oso but the reference cooler version .. that one has temp reading for both core and memory .. i tried stressing gpu using atitool artifact thing .. temp hit 80+ for core and close to 60 for memory

anyways ... since u guys says its heat related then cannot do anything coz this one doesnt even allow me to change fan speed .. hahahaa

comparing by TOUCH ... previous 88gt top was much hotter than this glaciator version .. the previous one didnt have heat issues oso .. so i EXPECT heat should not be an issue laa .... tongue.gif

i downclocked it abit ... hang much much much much less liau now ... tongue.gif
QiW
post Mar 21 2008, 12:43 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 21 2008, 12:02 PM)
after mine OCed to the clock stated in my signature... idle at 49'c and full load with ATItools 30mins at 64-67'c depend on day/nite.... why downclock??? so far i've no problem with hangs EXCEPT crysis.... the rest about 11+ games no problem.. include COD4, GoW, HL2, WIC, CoH:OP, LPEC and more...
but the thing is ,, CRYSIS is the game i am playin now ma .. hahahahaaa
so have to down clock abit lor ... not very much la .. maybe to 670 or so only .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Apr 18 2008, 10:07 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 18 2008, 01:13 AM)
my gc temp is worrying..wif 85% fan, the temp goes up to 75c full load..haih..
is it still ok?or i really2 need to change to 3rd party cooler?
should still be ok la ... last time i was stressing 8800 top (OC version) using ati tool for almost 10mins .. temp went up to around 90C .. hehehe
no artifacts whatsoever oso .. tongue.gif

0.0383sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:55 AM