English Clubs Liverpool FC 🧣You'll Never Walk Alone, LYN The Reds Fan Zone | Season 2025/26

chaukeng
post Aug 26 2024, 03:04 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(frossonice @ Aug 26 2024, 01:31 AM)
Lucky that Klopp left us with an already great team for Arne to begin with. Game is a bit dull but you can see sometime the way Arne want us to play. Players have more overall freedom on the field.

Lets hope that Arne style will catch on fast with players. Good win nonetheless.
I call that pragmatic rather than dull. Last week against Ipswich was the first time in years our team practise time wasting around the 80 mins mark. Over the years we conceded too many chances late game on counter attack.
chaukeng
post Sep 2 2024, 10:05 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(sahathai @ Sep 2 2024, 01:07 AM)
reserves my judgement on slot. so far all i see is the "new manager impact". happens everytime. but so far very impressive perfomance from everyone.
New manager impact usually happens to team with their manager sacked and on a poor run of form. Ours abit different though

QUOTE(Darrenhans @ Sep 2 2024, 09:54 AM)
Somehow we always let go our forwards who could have stayed as a legend

Owen, Torres, Suarez...
All three wanted to leave. Different case to salah.
chaukeng
post Oct 21 2024, 01:40 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 21 2024, 01:37 AM)
Very important 3 points. But luck is on our side too, despite playing badly. Need to improve a lot, else we gonna get thrash by arsenal next week.
Don't think we played badly. We play ugly but quite well. Kept the ball well in tight areas, didn't give needless possession away, no mistakes from the back, some nice interception and generally restricted Chelsea to almost no clear cut chances in the 2nd half (they are iinm the 2nd top scorer in the league).
chaukeng
post Nov 25 2024, 01:34 PM

2,345 posts

Maybe I'm the only one but real Madrid game plays no significance. Given the new format, it doesn't matter if we finish 1st or 8th. Given we are first now, why not just give the big guns a rest and play all the kids against RM, doesn't matter much even If we were to lose
chaukeng
post Nov 25 2024, 02:31 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 25 2024, 02:11 PM)
it's about respect.

u can sub our ace at 60mins, but not field all kids for the starting XI.

be a club with class.
This is a billion dollar business we are talking about. Imagine salah go out injured against RM and we went on poor run of form bcoz of that, all for a match that carries no significance.

Furthermore, it's not like planning to do something cynical or ugly like mourinho team. It is more deliberate squad management due to hectic schedule and lack of squad depth
chaukeng
post Nov 25 2024, 09:21 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 25 2024, 04:27 PM)
cos this isnt the EFL...
UEFA will probably fine the club 6 figures or something...
and if word gets out...bookies are all gonna go home crying... considering this is a top lvl draw match...

and 1st or 8th got big difference... cos there is still seedings in the knockout phase...so higher seed technically easier route to final.
Seedings doesn't necessarily favor us seeing many big teams are behind in league standing. Ie real Madrid.

There was one season where klopp played salah in an unnecessary game and he picked up an injury and given the margin is so small these days we are always one injury to salah or vvd away from a drop in result
chaukeng
post Nov 28 2024, 08:51 AM

2,345 posts

Robertson committed the foul for mbappe missed penalty too. Really unlucky these past few weeks.
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 12:55 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 2 2024, 12:49 AM)
Good first half. Totally dominated city. Too bad can't score more.

Any reason mac10 took all corners today instead of taa?
I think it's a tactic to allow Trent to take up position just outside of the box on the left to take long shot. He took 2 from corner, one missed narrowly another one blasted over
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 01:16 AM

2,345 posts

Usually like this means sucker punch coming soon haha
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 01:19 AM

2,345 posts

City upped their tempo. Lvp fans blood pressure upped too
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 01:21 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 2 2024, 01:20 AM)
Just realized Diaz is playing sweat.gif
Diaz plays as striker. Same like vs leverkusen
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 01:23 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Dec 2 2024, 01:22 AM)
Midfield no control. Long balls more hopeful than anything.
Jones will come on soon.

Salah getting desperate
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 01:59 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(skyz @ Dec 2 2024, 01:57 AM)
VVD my MOTM... So calm at the back, keep Halaand in his pocket whole match...
He committed a terrible mistake though. Kelleher bailed him out.

Anyway, don't care if nunez will ever be profilic. He is a proper liverpool player

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Dec 2 2024, 01:59 AM
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 02:09 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 2 2024, 02:01 AM)
The 10 tough games run that many say we will fail, we won 8 and lose 0 yo! What a performance. Even I myself got problems believing this, lol.
I think we won 9?
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 02:21 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Dec 2 2024, 02:05 AM)
the game was not as intense as i expected. i saw players chatting n sharing laughter with the opposition players during the game.

and salah s behavior was so different during the game like he is not happy etc hmmm
He usually behave like that out of frustration over his own performance
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2024, 11:37 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 2 2024, 09:47 AM)
He made another interview saying this will be his last anfield game vs city, lol.
He always added 'as things stand', 'at the moment'. Sounds alot like the ex-girlfriend who never wanted a break up lol

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Dec 2 2024, 11:37 AM
chaukeng
post Dec 31 2024, 04:45 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Dec 30 2024, 09:55 PM)
I think we all know the contract is there. But if you are the best player on the planet and in your respective positions and are key to the short mid term of the club, surely you are expecting some kind of reflection of your importance in the contract offer.
I think Slot has done a really brilliant job of keeping the team focused on training and the games. And he has also mentioned many times to the board that it is his preference for the trio to stay. We should not look to win the PL this year. We should look to win it many times in the many years to come. Are we ready to lose VVD TAA and Salah now? It's a clear no.
See what they tried to do with Chiesa, who is supposed to be the back up for right wing. Though his ability is not in doubt, do we really believe he can step into Salah's shoes next season? How good will he adapt to the PL and how fit can he be?
Is Conor Bradley ready though he has shown his abilities? Are we relying on Konate Gomez and Quansah for CB next year?
Now I just hope the contract that the board put out has not lowballed or pissed off any one of them that they give up on negotiation.
I've been thinking about this, from a pure business perspective. Is it worth it to spend extra and aim to win the league; or financially it will be better to spend 'just enough' to stay on top 4. We are fans and we don't care since it's not our money we are spending.

Ie, the owner may analyse it this way, by not extending van dijk for another 3 years, I'm possibly saving 100-150k per week (including salary for a lesser replacement). Thats around 15 million in 3 seasons. During these years, what's the odd of us winning the league with van dijk, and/or maintaining top 4 or winning the league without van dijk. What if, deriving from their data model, they found extending van dijk contract for an extra 15 millions only likely wins us one extra league title out of the 3 seasons; and that will translate to less than 15 million extra prize money (for example). So In this case, should we extend van dijk deal for 3 years?

Also, van dijk and Salah may point to the owner and say Liverpool is top now because of our performance, so we deserve this and this. The owner too can say, this is the best company at the world now, considering you are now a senior employee, this is how much /long we are offering, so take it or leave it else if we budge, it's not just you three, but the rest of your teammates will take your case and knock on our door.

So as much as I want them to sign asap, just trying to look at things from the clubs perspective.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Dec 31 2024, 04:52 AM
chaukeng
post Dec 31 2024, 08:21 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Dec 31 2024, 06:51 AM)
So you mean if you are the owner of your company, you will let your top sales person for the past 8 years, and who is currently bringing in record sales figures for the current year for you, leave for nothing and join a rival company? Because he requested for a 20% raise? That's a very weird thing to do. You won't know how much sales he will bring in next year or the year after, but from the past 8 years and the current record smashing year, is your current sales team or new sales guy replacement able to guarantee those numbers for the next 3 years?

Oh and by the way, good job Ipswich!
Having been in retail business for quite some time, I have come to realize no employees are indispensable to the company; no matter how many sales they brought in. If our own company product is good, the new salesperson will be able to deliver the goods eventually. On the context of Liverpool, thus far we have also proven this with the likes of Torres and coutinho. The club also have a proven track record of replacing our star players properly.

Anyway, of course I want all 3 to stay. Just trying to understand the situation from the owner perspective because the chances of all three staying are slim.

chaukeng
post Dec 31 2024, 11:32 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Dec 31 2024, 10:19 AM)
I get your point, but in this context, you don't have a product. The product is what the players do on the pitch, week in week out. And Salah is the main reason we are having a good "product". And Trent and Van Dijk too.
It just looks like we had so much time (6 months?) to sort this out and day by day we are risking losing 3 key players for Nothing. If FSG truly believed no player is bigger than the club, it would've been wiser to sell them last summer and reinvest, but it didn't happen so...
Talking of recovering from losing key players Coutinho Suarez Torres... How many titles have we won since "recovering"? 1. Like I said earlier, we have a very good team and manager now, we should be aiming to dominate. Win titles every year, challenge in Europe every year. We should not be looking to rebuild the team every 3 years and win a title every 7-8 years. We should be looking to transition the team, buy/sell every season like how SAF dominated for 20 odd years.

Let's hope for good news in the coming days.
This I dun agree. I think we do have a product on the pitch. That's the system we play, the culture we build and the atmosphere surrounding players. Even though intangible, but it means whenever a new player comes in they are more likely to play well than not. We only have to look at manu to understand what this means.

Regarding this statement 'we should be challenging every year' goes back to my earlier argument. How important are these titles or trophies mean to the club owner? They own the club, not us. We are Liverpool fans, they are not. We have to understand from their point of view what owning Liverpool means to them. If sustainability and profit are their main priorities, then there's no chance we should expect them to go all out and risk it, just for a higher chance of winning trophies that will mean not much to them ( prize money aside).

QUOTE(sahathai @ Dec 31 2024, 10:41 AM)
key players like torres, suarez and coutinho was SOLD and at a very high price. enabling us to immediately enter the market. TAA, VVD and Salah will leave for FREE. and if we don't have the money to renew their contract, where can we get the money to buy their replacements? by selling another key players?
with Liverpool it's always not so much about transfer fees but more consideration on weekly wages. Player's wage affects sustainability more than a one time transfer fee. So concurrently renewing all three players contract for around 300k each (and the subsequent effect of having players like Diaz and konate knocking on the door and asking for 200k and above will be disastrous for the club if somehow, unexpectedly we do not see success on the pitch after their renewal.

Can we confirm consistent success after all three renewal,no. Are we a club that can afford to have so many players on high wages and not having enough prize money? The answer is no too.

If we are looking for the after effect of breaking player's wage barrier. We only have to look at the Salah renewal three years ago and how taa and van dijk are asking for the same numbers

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Dec 31 2024, 11:55 AM
chaukeng
post Dec 31 2024, 07:26 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Dec 31 2024, 04:35 PM)
I am a supporter and a fan and I crave success. Do MU fans want trophies or sustainability? How do you guarantee the "sustainability" model does not mean the owners taking out extra profit for themselves like what the glazers are doing?
I do not want to delve into what the owners or the accountants think. Liverpool as a club, as a fan base, we are big enough to stomach this and in my humble opinion I do not think the trio are asking astronomical figures. If Salah gets 400k, and Diaz or Gakpo want equal, ask them to prove themselves long term of coming up with the goals and assists like Salah. If they can, why not? This is the last fat contract that we giving our top player anyway.
New fans and supporters in new markets look to support winning clubs. Not clubs that constantly challenge but win nothing. Ask a neutral today, would he/she support Liverpool or Manchester United, all terms being equal?
Maybe Salah scoring a hattrick with Trent providing 3 assists and Virgil keeping a clean sheet this weekend will change some minds, if they have not signed for another club by then.
Like I said, what we want and what mu fans want are irrelevant. FSG owns Liverpool FC, they decide what they want to do with it.

FSG will be looking at Manu and casemiro as precedence. Handing out a huge contact for an ageing player and are now stuck with him after his decline (can't sell, and no extra wage budget for new player). Once we hands out huge contract to players, current or new players will know LFC is willing and able to pay, then the demand will all come. For instance we've signed someone like Nunez on 120k per week, whereas mu has signed Antony on maybe 180-200k per week. Now both players are not performing up to expectation. There will be no less suitor for Nunez on maybe 40-50m at 120k per week. But who will take Antony for 200k per week? Now that Antony is stuck and not performing, mu needs to go and sign another replacement and also pay him 200k per week. It's a vicious cycle and more so for a club like LFC who is on a self sustaining business model.

0.0229sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:53 AM