QUOTE(chaukeng @ Dec 31 2024, 11:32 AM)
This I dun agree. I think we do have a product on the pitch. That's the system we play, the culture we build and the atmosphere surrounding players. Even though intangible, but it means whenever a new player comes in they are more likely to play well than not. We only have to look at manu to understand what this means.
Regarding this statement 'we should be challenging every year' goes back to my earlier argument. How important are these titles or trophies mean to the club owner? They own the club, not us. We are Liverpool fans, they are not. We have to understand from their point of view what owning Liverpool means to them. If sustainability and profit are their main priorities, then there's no chance we should expect them to go all out and risk it, just for a higher chance of winning trophies that will mean not much to them ( prize money aside).
with Liverpool it's always not so much about transfer fees but more consideration on weekly wages. Player's wage affects sustainability more than a one time transfer fee. So concurrently renewing all three players contract for around 300k each (and the subsequent effect of having players like Diaz and konate knocking on the door and asking for 200k and above will be disastrous for the club if somehow, unexpectedly we do not see success on the pitch after their renewal.
Can we confirm consistent success after all three renewal,no. Are we a club that can afford to have so many players on high wages and not having enough prize money? The answer is no too.
If we are looking for the after effect of breaking player's wage barrier. We only have to look at the Salah renewal three years ago and how taa and van dijk are asking for the same numbers
I am a supporter and a fan and I crave success. Do MU fans want trophies or sustainability? How do you guarantee the "sustainability" model does not mean the owners taking out extra profit for themselves like what the glazers are doing?Regarding this statement 'we should be challenging every year' goes back to my earlier argument. How important are these titles or trophies mean to the club owner? They own the club, not us. We are Liverpool fans, they are not. We have to understand from their point of view what owning Liverpool means to them. If sustainability and profit are their main priorities, then there's no chance we should expect them to go all out and risk it, just for a higher chance of winning trophies that will mean not much to them ( prize money aside).
with Liverpool it's always not so much about transfer fees but more consideration on weekly wages. Player's wage affects sustainability more than a one time transfer fee. So concurrently renewing all three players contract for around 300k each (and the subsequent effect of having players like Diaz and konate knocking on the door and asking for 200k and above will be disastrous for the club if somehow, unexpectedly we do not see success on the pitch after their renewal.
Can we confirm consistent success after all three renewal,no. Are we a club that can afford to have so many players on high wages and not having enough prize money? The answer is no too.
If we are looking for the after effect of breaking player's wage barrier. We only have to look at the Salah renewal three years ago and how taa and van dijk are asking for the same numbers
I do not want to delve into what the owners or the accountants think. Liverpool as a club, as a fan base, we are big enough to stomach this and in my humble opinion I do not think the trio are asking astronomical figures. If Salah gets 400k, and Diaz or Gakpo want equal, ask them to prove themselves long term of coming up with the goals and assists like Salah. If they can, why not? This is the last fat contract that we giving our top player anyway.
New fans and supporters in new markets look to support winning clubs. Not clubs that constantly challenge but win nothing. Ask a neutral today, would he/she support Liverpool or Manchester United, all terms being equal?
Maybe Salah scoring a hattrick with Trent providing 3 assists and Virgil keeping a clean sheet this weekend will change some minds, if they have not signed for another club by then.
Dec 31 2024, 04:35 PM

0.0279sec