No [ 7 ] ** [28.00%]
Total Votes: 25
Guests cannot vote 

TSBlofeld
post May 31 2024, 09:42 AM, updated a long time ago

4,703 posts

My cousin is gradually withdrawing from society, I feel. When I or anyone else invite her to a party, she makes all sorts of excuses not to come. She seems to go to places alone. When anyone in the family invites her out to dinner, she claims she has “a hairdressing appointment”. Is there such a thing as social withdrawal?

Yes, there is indeed such a thing.

Social withdrawal happens when someone intentionally avoids opportunities to be with other people.

There is a type of extreme social withdrawal described in Japan called hikikomori.

It also happens in other parts of the world, but it is especially common in Japan.

When you have hikikomori, you withdraw from others for long periods of time.

You isolate yourself from your relatives and friends.

This may last for years, and even decades.

“Hiki” means “to withdraw”.

“Komori” means “to be inside”.

https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/health...cial-withdrawal

rindu zaman mco wub.gif
ListenToTheWind
post May 31 2024, 09:44 AM

453 posts

Me.

Not picking uo friend phone call, not replying to chat, message. Unfollow people on social media. Turn off radio when driving.
moiskyrie
post May 31 2024, 09:47 AM

3,217 posts

yes, stay inside my bed....
Bananahead
post May 31 2024, 09:49 AM

57 posts

Yes, for about a year during uni time. Because of financial issue that time, and uni friends always want to lepak sini sana, buang masa buang duit. My phone was on airplane mode 24/7, deactivated social media accounts, and other than going for lessons, other time just stay at home watch tv and play video games.
Lasted for one whole year.
Lada Putih
post May 31 2024, 09:51 AM

214 posts

got, i was waiting for something
but then as times goes by,
i noticed the logic behind it is no longer logical anymore
so i keluar cari girlfriend
now i drive hailak and kahwin my minachi gf liao
pic related, its my henpon background

This post has been edited by Lada Putih: May 31 2024, 09:53 AM
yushin
post May 31 2024, 10:08 AM

3,329 posts

Want to do it but I still need to work to pay my house loan.
Current Events guy
post May 31 2024, 10:09 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ May 31 2024, 09:44 AM)
Me.

Not picking uo friend phone call, not replying to chat, message. Unfollow people on social media. Turn off radio when driving.
Damn syiok

Just alone with thoughts
alanyuppie
post May 31 2024, 10:11 AM

2,834 posts

Its not hikikimori or social withdrawal if one still continue to go to (public) places alone. They still willing to cross path or even interact with strangers in such process, like cashiers/frontline staff.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: May 31 2024, 10:11 AM
alanyuppie
post May 31 2024, 10:14 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 31 2024, 11:09 AM)
Damn syiok

Just alone with thoughts
Solitude is underrated. Those complained others enjoying solutide , usually frustrated they cannot squeezed any benefit from them for their own selfish needs.

pufferfish
post May 31 2024, 10:14 AM

439 posts

hikikomori is staying at home and refused physical social events, right?
if she still going out on her own then maybe just like to be alone

Chrono-Trigger
post May 31 2024, 10:16 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

Me think it happens when people
1. have limited money
2. don't want people to know they have no.1 problem
3. withdraw from world, depress , repeat cycle

hikikimori recipe
Slowpokeking
post May 31 2024, 10:20 AM

19 posts

Me, I still work from home.

Living alone at home didn’t talk to any people for days.
Chrono-Trigger
post May 31 2024, 10:20 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

QUOTE(pufferfish @ May 31 2024, 10:14 AM)
hikikomori is staying at home and refused physical social events, right?
if she still going out on her own then maybe just like to be alone
hikikimori is an extreme example of person withdrawn from society and lost capacity to fend for himself/herself, and fully dependent on parents for all needs.

Once parents died, they also will die.

It's like a baby with no social skills.

I agree with you, TS example is not hikikimori. It's just some people like to be alone and they can be happy.

Have many friends happy meh? everyday talk nonsense, talk about money, success, stock market, children study here there, children achievement in schools, migrate which country , earn this that.

sasuketaichou
post May 31 2024, 10:26 AM

192 posts

they have a different place to chill

like /k..
BL98
post May 31 2024, 10:33 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 31 2024, 10:08 AM)
Want to do it but I still need to work to pay my house loan.
Buying house is the biggest mistake.
vapanel
post May 31 2024, 10:38 AM

1,075 posts

I practice onani
St0rmFury
post May 31 2024, 10:40 AM

225 posts

I think being a hikikomori is too extreme for me.

I prefer a NEET lifestyle.
JohnL77
post May 31 2024, 10:46 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ May 31 2024, 09:44 AM)
Me.

Driving means you still got go out of your house.
LemonHoneyIce
post May 31 2024, 10:48 AM

33 posts

poor= hikikomori
rich= retired
soul78
post May 31 2024, 10:48 AM

933 posts

in merehsia we got better solution...

it's called 14th Floor!