If you are driving diesel cars, what is your plan?

TSEnergyAnalyst
post May 29 2024, 07:40 AM, updated 2y ago

4,146 posts

The Finance Ministry today announced a diesel subsidy aid programme involving a monthly allocation of RM200 for eligible individuals as well as agriculture and commodity smallholders.

The eligibility criteria for the Budi Madani programme require applicants to be Malaysian citizens and own a private diesel vehicle registered with the Road Transport Department (RTD).

"The vehicle also must have valid road tax, and the annual income of the individual or their spouse must be RM100,000 or below.

"However, luxury vehicles under 10 years old are excluded from eligibility," the ministry said in a statement.

It said that applications received will be cross-checked with data from the Inland Revenue Board (IRB) to exclude owners of luxury vehicles under 10 years and high-income individuals (T20).

Meanwhile, for the Budi Agri-Commodity category for small-scale farmers and smallholders, applicants must be registered with the relevant agencies under the Agriculture and Food Security Ministry or the Plantation and Commodities Ministry.

"The applicant must also be an active commodity farmer or smallholder with annual agricultural sales of between RM50,000 and RM300,000."

The Finance Ministry also said that early applications for the Budi Individual and Budi Agri-Commodity categories were open until mid-June.

"Applications can be made online at https://budimadani.gov.my.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/05/...y-aid-programme

TSEnergyAnalyst
post May 29 2024, 07:45 AM

4,146 posts

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...pm-anwar/136873

kurangak
post May 29 2024, 07:48 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

If my land at sabah, can apply for vehicle registered at semenanjung? laugh.gif
Roadwarrior1337
post May 29 2024, 07:50 AM

979 posts

This is going to backfire big time. Price of food is going to increase again and we will be poorer and govt will need to give cash handout again

For me, will stay with my diesel until it cannot drive anymore. Just be abit more frugal on the throttle. I really don’t want to spend anymore money on another car since I’ve no car instalments anymore and it’s cheaper to maintain my current car. If fuel is 3.50 a liter I will still keep it coz full tank still gives me around 600 to 700km city drive
Roman Catholic
post May 29 2024, 11:38 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ May 29 2024, 07:50 AM)
This is going to backfire big time. Price of food is going to increase again and we will be poorer and govt will need to give cash handout again

For me, will stay with my diesel until it cannot drive anymore. Just be abit more frugal on the throttle. I really don’t want to spend anymore money on another car since I’ve no car instalments anymore and it’s cheaper to maintain my current car. If fuel is 3.50 a liter I will still keep it coz full tank still gives me around 600 to 700km city drive
Backfire ? Tak mungkin bro., I can envision these words in our menteri mind, "Percayalah kenaikan harga diesel akan turunkan harga barang." They are just dying to say it out loud.
amscouzach57
post May 30 2024, 07:39 AM

539 posts

I love my Diesel car. I"ll just keep driving it as usual.

I'm not eligible for any of the criterias, anyway

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: May 30 2024, 07:39 AM
TSEnergyAnalyst
post May 30 2024, 08:30 AM

4,146 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ May 29 2024, 07:50 AM)

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ May 30 2024, 07:39 AM)
I love my Diesel car. I"ll just keep driving it as usual.

I'm not eligible for any of the criterias, anyway
https://www.motor1.com/news/714014/volvo-la...esel-car-built/

https://www.slashgear.com/1558926/auto-manu...diesel-engines/

https://www.carexpert.com.au/car-news/jagua...rs-in-june-2023

OK. As long as you are all OK with the dwindling support for Diesel cars from automakers themselves

Some stopped making them, some sent them to museum (Volvo)

littlefire
post May 30 2024, 09:04 AM

2,736 posts

No impact, majority of diesel owners also got 2nd car. Like my father also owns a BMW 320d. He also no plan to sell off as it is damn reliable and not much issue compare to those petrol counterparts.
TSEnergyAnalyst
post May 30 2024, 09:33 AM

4,146 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ May 30 2024, 09:04 AM)
No impact, majority of diesel owners also got 2nd car. Like my father also owns a BMW 320d. He also no plan to sell off as it is damn reliable and not much issue compare to those petrol counterparts.
Maybe still early days... Some may need to plan for plan C as plan B also have issues

Plan B refers to supposedly better Biodiesel

But....

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...o-engine-issues
littlefire
post May 30 2024, 10:14 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ May 30 2024, 10:33 AM)
Maybe still early days... Some may need to plan for plan C as plan B also have issues

But....
FYI, most diesel owners still prefer stick with the B7 fuel if the price difference is not much unless goverement do the same as Ron97 case then maybe some owner will revert to normal diesel with the higher biodiesel content.

Still overall mechanical reliability wise, diesel engine really far less issue compare to petrol counterpart and higher torque so it will still got its enthusiast.
ayamxxx
post May 30 2024, 11:01 AM

4,068 posts

now many will say ok etc cz we no idea yet whats the final price will be for the diesel.
hksgmy
post May 30 2024, 11:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I don’t drive diesel, certainly not in Malaysia, but I was toying around with getting a diesel Land Cruiser for country use in Australia - and over there, diesel is already more expensive than petrol (RON98 is usually AUD2.20/litre and diesel is around AUD2.50/litre) so in a way, the diesel users are already penalized for it.

But, the advantage of a diesel in terms of cost per kilometre is indisputable… one full tank can take you from Singapore to Perlis with careful planning and a light touch on the throttle…
faridr
post May 30 2024, 02:51 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ May 30 2024, 09:33 AM)

But....
Until there is a big gap between b7 and b10, most private owner will stick to b7. Only time i use b10 is when the station doesnt have b7. With current pricing, full tank would be rm20-30 ringgit differences

But thankfully, my diesel mpv usually for distance travelling / weekend outing. Most of the time still with petrol econobox

This post has been edited by faridr: May 30 2024, 02:53 PM
4WD_er
post May 30 2024, 03:26 PM

573 posts

I am driving my new diesel suv, and will continue to drive it.

I hope the Govt also increase the petrol price to cut down its subsidy and curb smuggling issue.

Eventually diesel SUV is still a better combo than any petrol turbo SUV. Hybrid SUV ? Erm maybe ok, but PHEV is a big no no to me.
amscouzach57
post May 30 2024, 05:28 PM

539 posts

Unsubsidised B10 diesel is sold at RM3.33/liter at the moment.

Assuming the unsubsidised B7 diesel would be sold at RM3.53/liter, that would be an extra RM1.18/liter. Which roughly about an extra RM60 per full tank refuelling.

Which is still ok for me
hksgmy
post May 30 2024, 08:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ May 30 2024, 05:28 PM)
Unsubsidised B10 diesel is sold at RM3.33/liter at the moment.

Assuming the unsubsidised B7 diesel would be sold at RM3.53/liter, that would be an extra RM1.18/liter. Which roughly about an extra RM60 per full tank refuelling.

Which is still ok for me
Because the range advantage will make the RM60 less painful, right?
dwRK
post May 30 2024, 09:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 30 2024, 08:10 PM)
Because the range advantage will make the RM60 less painful, right?
for me not really... even though my full tank can do singapore-pinang-singapore... in reality, so what? hahaha... but do i enjoy the syiok sendiri feeling... biggrin.gif

as you know, beauty of oil burner... very high low-end torque, drivability is just so good... also i can literally smoke tailgaters with soot if they try to hound me... hahaha

hksgmy
post May 30 2024, 09:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 30 2024, 09:46 PM)
for me not really... even though my full tank can do singapore-pinang-singapore... in reality, so what? hahaha... but do i enjoy the syiok sendiri feeling... biggrin.gif

as you know, beauty of oil burner... very high low-end torque, drivability is just so good... also i can literally smoke tailgaters with soot if they try to hound me... hahaha
Diesels are torque kings. Rock on, bro!
dwRK
post May 30 2024, 10:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 30 2024, 09:55 PM)
Diesels are torque kings. Rock on, bro!
tq bro... few months back i was thinking of adding a cayenne diesel... did shop around but its really too big and not my type so gave up the idea after a week... biggrin.gif

anyways... cheers n gnite

amscouzach57
post May 31 2024, 09:09 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 30 2024, 09:46 PM)

@hksgmy my answer is similar to this. At the moment, very few cars can give me the same enjoyment & fulfillment as my diesel car

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: May 31 2024, 09:09 AM

0.0388sec    1.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:14 AM