proton s70 premium or flagship?

paulPan
post May 25 2024, 09:49 PM

Executive vs Flagship would be a better comparision, since only singnificant difference between the exec and premium is reverse camera which you can pasang sendiri/shop.

The main consideration will be do you think you need ADAS or not. Its more of a safety net in case anything that might happen, but can be preventable with good driving. Personally, i feel passive safety is more of a importance compared to active safety. Some people also do think that all these electronics are more troublesome that useful (I hate the keyless start because when it fails, can be a bit or troublesome).

If you are only doing city driving, then only the auto emergency braking and blindspot monitoring is of any use.

Long story short, you mau active safety ke tak? If you can't decide, then just go for flagship if you have the cash. You can use this as a chance to try out the ADAS (hopefully you dont come in a situation the needs it).
paulPan
post May 25 2024, 09:49 PM

-Duplicate Post-

This post has been edited by paulPan: May 25 2024, 09:49 PM
TScodercoder
post May 25 2024, 10:56 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(paulPan @ May 25 2024, 09:49 PM)
Executive vs Flagship would be a better comparision, since only singnificant difference between the exec and premium is reverse camera which you can pasang sendiri/shop.

The main consideration will be do you think you need ADAS or not. Its more of a safety net in case anything that might happen, but can be preventable with good driving. Personally, i feel passive safety is more of a importance compared to active safety. Some people also do think that all these electronics are more troublesome that useful (I hate the keyless start because when it fails, can be a bit or troublesome).

If you are only doing city driving, then only the auto emergency braking and blindspot monitoring is of any use.

Long story short, you mau active safety ke tak? If you can't decide, then just go for flagship if you have the cash. You can use this as a chance to try out the ADAS (hopefully you dont come in a situation the needs it).
What about the tyre difference?
brkli
post May 25 2024, 11:07 PM

592 posts

take flagship.
Pugbunny
post May 25 2024, 11:29 PM

717 posts

I will go for flagship - buts its your money

Safety

Autonomous emergency braking
Forward collision warning
Adaptive cruise control with stop and go
Intelligent cruise control
Lane departure warning
Lane departure prevention
Lane centering control
Traffic sign information
Auto high beam
Tyre pressure monitoring system
360-degree camera with 3D display
JON97
post May 26 2024, 12:18 AM

343 posts

If you can spend the extra, get flagship. If not, normal spec will do.. For me I prefer nothing, less things to deal with if anything roask
TScodercoder
post May 26 2024, 07:03 AM

148 posts

I notice flagship got Online Navigation while Premium doesn't have. What it means? And flagship maintenance cost is higher right compare to Premium?

This post has been edited by codercoder: May 26 2024, 07:06 AM
alternativehype
post May 26 2024, 11:19 AM

1,300 posts

If got money, everything but the sunroof. Sunroof just don't make sense in Malaysia weather
iOrange
post May 26 2024, 11:22 AM

320 posts

Flagship
romuluz777
post May 26 2024, 12:08 PM

2,215 posts

Skip the sunroof, its redundant in Msia
BOTAK_WAI
post May 26 2024, 01:22 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ May 25 2024, 03:25 PM)
I have booked a unit of proton s70 today. I'm still deciding premium or flagship model? For sure executive and flagship x is out. What's your opinion?
flagship. don't make mistake.
paulPan
post May 27 2024, 01:53 AM

QUOTE(codercoder @ May 25 2024, 10:56 PM)
What about the tyre difference?
Bigger tyre means more grip, but that also means less fuel economy. I have seen people downsize tyres in older cars to improve fuel economy. If you are the person who drives within the speed limit or dont really speed, I dont think it would make that much of a difference.

Speaking of the infotaiment system which include the navigation. From what I gather its using the ATLAS OS, the same one used in other proton cars (I use a persona premium, so my experince is based on that). Maps is OK if you are going to a new place and don't really know the road, but not that good in terms of avoiding traffic, google maps on my phone seems to do a better job, but this may be subjective and differ from person to person. The music app is spotify and joox, so you can directly connect, however sometimes my spotify has issues and needs to login again and again. Voice command is a gimmick at most, nice to use sometimes but it gets old pretty fast.

Also, one more point to consider which I overlooked earlier. I think the aircod needs to be controlled from the headunit, so replacing it might not be so easy; you might want to check with owners clubs (FB or here). The persona premium can be fitted with aftermarkets headunit but requires some additions to get the sensors and reverse cam working (one reason why I have not changed mine).

With that being said, if the flagship is within your budget (ie can afford it on a 5 year loan or less), go for it. But if you are willing and ready to find solutions for the above for a RM 15k, then you could consider the executive. You mau ADAS and don't want to bother with aftermarket stuff, go with flagship. If you just want a car to take you from point A to point B, then it would be exec and pasang camera and aftermarket stuff yourself.

This post has been edited by paulPan: May 27 2024, 01:56 AM
johnnycp
post May 27 2024, 07:23 AM

600 posts

Flagship jer lah, no need to think.
TScodercoder
post May 27 2024, 08:41 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ May 27 2024, 07:23 AM)
Flagship jer lah, no need to think.
Besides the cost, I think I want a more comfort ride with smaller tyre esp here got many potholes lol. better for suspension also.

Ride Comfort:

16-inch tires: Often provide a smoother and more comfortable ride because of the taller sidewalls which absorb more shocks from potholes and rough roads.
17-inch tires: Can provide a firmer ride due to the shorter sidewalls which offer less cushioning.
MegaCanonF
post May 27 2024, 08:57 AM

864 posts

Get a flagship and call it a day.

Flagship x - only sunroof .no need. Doesn't justify the cost (unless u really need that black colour and bodykit)

Non ADAS version - Junks. You better buy a persona instead.
xtreme_paranoid
post May 27 2024, 10:16 AM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

QUOTE(Ttbatdtptsm @ May 25 2024, 04:45 PM)
Only 10k diff btwn premium and flagship … if u take loan not thT much difference …
Now with depo, it is 3.5% interest?
jonthebaptist
post May 27 2024, 10:21 AM

1,036 posts

Wait for R3 variant, sports version
jerm57
post May 27 2024, 11:43 AM

405 posts

IMO, Premium spec looks to be the most cost effective one. Problem with fancy gadgets is they are expensive to fix/replace.
TScodercoder
post May 27 2024, 12:20 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ May 27 2024, 11:43 AM)
IMO, Premium spec looks to be the most cost effective one. Problem with fancy gadgets is they are expensive to fix/replace.
yeah and also very fast out dated.
myteam94
post May 27 2024, 01:38 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 25 2024, 04:35 PM)
If you're confused, that means you can afford the flagship. So if I were you, I'd get the flagship and call it a day.

Buyer's remorse is no joke. I made the mistake of choosing a cheaper car twice.
i feel this remorse as well cry.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0185sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:51 AM