Changed to new Michelin Pilot Sport run flat today

TSAshenOne
post May 25 2024, 02:57 PM, updated 2y ago

168 posts

I know all the bad comments about run flats, I have experience using Michelin Pilot Spot and so far has been good.
I wanted peace of mind of not needing spare tyre all over again, so I changed all 4 tyres to run flat again.
Any tips on run flats from you all sifus? I want the best for my BMW.

Roadwarrior1337
post May 25 2024, 03:14 PM

979 posts

Run flat is waste of money.
TSAshenOne
post May 25 2024, 03:15 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ May 25 2024, 03:14 PM)
Run flat is waste of money.
Even the safety that comes from it is not worth the money?
Kind of a bummer I already purchased and switched to them now.
doczane
post May 25 2024, 03:16 PM

114 posts

Make sure check on it once in a while. I think i only realize it was flat after days of some minor discomfort in drive. It will be stable and no abnormal sound even if flat. When i check, there was already a large tear alongside it. Maybe sustained days / weeks earlier.
zuozi
post May 25 2024, 03:30 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(doczane @ May 25 2024, 03:16 PM)
Make sure check on it once in a while. I think i only realize it was flat after days of some minor discomfort in drive. It will be stable and no abnormal sound even if flat. When i check, there was already a large tear alongside it. Maybe sustained days / weeks earlier.
Lol you guy don't have a common practice quick look before drive?like sneak peak left and right only take like 5 second i guess? 😅
TSAshenOne
post May 25 2024, 03:39 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(doczane @ May 25 2024, 03:16 PM)
I had broken run flat few years ago, the discomfort was obvious as compared to what you said "minor discomfort".
The vehicle steers weirdly and keep attempts to correct itself to be stable, then I go to workshop and they revealed a tear/crack in the run flat, and need to change the whole donut.
sitescope
post May 25 2024, 10:41 PM

4,490 posts

Runflat need to use nitrogen ?
TSAshenOne
post May 25 2024, 10:43 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ May 25 2024, 10:41 PM)
Runflat need to use nitrogen ?
Did not know about this nitrogen stuff, it seems to let your tyre last longer before the next air pressure refill?
Run flat still need to pump air just like regular ones.

0.0136sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:22 AM