Cannot draft Tenancy Agreement yourself anymore?

TSimtrobin
post May 22 2024, 11:21 AM, updated 2y ago

76 posts

Hi, my existing rental TA, all done by privately, but my agent says there is a new rule since March 24, all TA must be drafted by lawyer, and they are charging me RM650 for it. Is that true? Sounds like a lot of money for simple cut and paste job.
AbbyCom
post May 22 2024, 11:34 AM

452 posts

Ask agent to show you the said rule in B&W or sources to confirm it, if not carry on with the status quo?

Agents cannot just say something with no sos and then we take it at face value.

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: May 22 2024, 11:37 AM
earlgrey77
post May 22 2024, 11:35 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(imtrobin @ May 22 2024, 11:21 AM)
Hi, my existing rental TA, all done by privately, but my agent says there is a new rule since March 24, all TA must be drafted by lawyer, and they are charging me RM650 for it. Is that true? Sounds like a lot of money for simple cut and paste job.
I am a lawyer and I say this is complete BS.
TSimtrobin
post May 22 2024, 12:28 PM

76 posts

I found this, but it doesn't really say anything about enforce

https://lppeh.gov.my/WP2016/notification-3-...ancy-agreement/
forever1979
post May 23 2024, 04:16 PM

2,854 posts

its just say agent cannot provide tenancy agt, it should be done by lawyer firm

but nobody care, this is Bolehland.
Nanti Sekejap
post May 23 2024, 04:26 PM

409 posts

if the sos is 'agent said', it is a fake news for most of the time
vicky.max
post May 28 2024, 09:50 PM

167 posts

I'm an agent myself and this is true. There was a memo by the board recently and apparently only lawyers alone can draft the TA.

But still, some agent pandai2 laa...

0.0123sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:26 PM