Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

tatsuyachiba
post Aug 11 2011, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 10 2011, 06:04 PM)
Tokyo just now noon avg temp was 36.7c. Those coming to Tokyo this month or next month goodluck. I now wear only underwear inside house also cannot stand it.  Due to elrctricity limit usage.....cannot used aircorn
QUOTE(RegentCid)
Very less people will say go Japan want to go Kamakura.......interesting place for those who like history
Too bad it's so hot - I'll be in Japan next week. Hopefully I'll be able to catch some summer festivals (matsuri) - it's the season, plus fireworks (hanabi) and shaved ice (kakigori). My kids and I are going to catch our "hometeam's" baseball game - if you've never been - the fans are nuts. Singing/cheering/banging nonstop.

Kamakura's historic because it was this was where the bakufu i.e. feudal samurai/shogun started - good for surfing too.

tatsuyachiba
post Feb 1 2012, 09:24 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 31 2012, 04:23 PM)
Due to eartquake..now electrical power tak cukup used. ..Aircorn cannot used for long period.  T
True that Aug is hot (I'm there every year for Obon) but it also rains a lot because it is typhoon season so it cools down.
Absolutely not true that you cannot use aircon as long as you want unless you were living under some bridge in Shinjuku along with the other homeless people.

tatsuyachiba
post Apr 26 2012, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Apr 25 2012, 10:08 PM)
That is very true during the heydays of the 90s. I am really sorry sir but the Japanese government debt is 200% of their GDP and it is  one of the highest in the world, meaning that the money that they owe is twice the number of their economic output a year .  The same figure for Italy is around 100% and investors are already knocking on their doors.
You may not understand Japan's situation correctly. True they have the highest per GDP capita debt in the world but unlike other countries, their debt is almost entirely owned by domestic concerns.
Chiefly Japan Post, pension and Japanese banks. Not the same with Italy at all. They can always print more money to cover obligations - so far looks like they can do it because inflation is not a concern(the opposite really), they want to soften the endaka and when you have no foreign holders of govt. securities, you can do what you want.

Japan borrows money using JGB bonds. Almost the entire tranche is placed out locally. The Japanese government adopted this aggressive borrowing to stimulate the local economy after the crash of the 90s e.g. building bridges to nowhere, mostly construction.

The measure of how rich a country is a combination of the size of its economy, its per capita GDP, size of reserves, assets under Japanese bank management and the market capitalization of its stock market. Japan is still very rich, by all these measures, richest in Asia. They've got lots of money.

They lend out strategically esp. Southeast Asia because that's one of the main foundations of Japanese foreign policy. Soft power.
tatsuyachiba
post Apr 26 2012, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Apr 25 2012, 09:45 PM)
The tsunami is deterring visitors but they have a lot of serious underlying issues with their economy that is becoming more apparent nowadays.
It has  never recovered from the property bubble burst in the late 90's. Growth is almost stagnant after that.
Most of the economic indicators for Asia nowadays are quoted "Asia ex Japan". The US has relaxed their visa policy even more. Approval rate before the Lehman collapse used to be around 50% but now it is more than 80% from what Ive heard. Previously you need 100k to qualify for their visa but even junior executives that are not sponsored by their company got it. Previously these people can forget about it. These people probably have 10k in their account at most.
Again, based on what you post above, you're mixing in some truths with a lot of misunderstood facts. Good to have a discussion but before you attempt that, perhaps a good idea to get a clear understanding of the facts.
1) Securities have *always" be quoted ex-Japan - that's because Japan dwarfs the rest of the exchanges and Japan's not emerging so has a different growth profile than rest of Asia.
2) Your understanding of US visa policy is completely wrong, sorry to say. What's that got to do with Japan anyhow?

To be clear, Japan has serious issues with domestic growth, asset deflation, population curve with a projected inverted tax curve, future obligations towards social security and health insurance that cannot be supported by decreasing tax base etc

0.0450sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:31 PM