Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

happyshirt
post Nov 14 2010, 04:04 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Sep 24 2010, 10:40 PM)
Generally, road signs are bilingual, railway signs (especially in JR and major railway companies) are also bilingual.

Some stations even have Chinese and Korean.
I've been to Tokyo yeah no prob getting around with subway. I'm planning Kyoto next. I don't speak/read Japanese so is it as tourist frenly there? Signs and directions in English? OK to go on own? I"m going by myself.

happyshirt
post Nov 15 2010, 08:25 PM

412 posts

Hello. I"m planning to go Kyoto next year. How many days will i need. Anybody has experience to share? I wanna take photos also so, will need more timelah.

If i budget about rm8k per week enough kah?

Thansk.
happyshirt
post Nov 17 2010, 03:02 PM

412 posts

Any recomendations for Hostels in Kyoto? or decent, clean cheaper hotels? There are lotsa reviews on the travel sites but i'm hoping to get some Malaysian recomendation/views.
I'm female will travel alone so preferably not too far from the train stations since i'll have to manage luggage alone. I hv never leanred to travel light. biggrin.gif
happyshirt
post Nov 30 2010, 07:22 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Nov 22 2010, 04:07 AM)
Better think twice.

Just to get from the station to the street there may be several flights of stairs.  If you're lucky there might be a lift but can you find it or ask in Japanese? The station itself is huge (and very interesting) but that means everything else around it is far away. Nearest lodgings are not cheap -- meant for business travellers passing through the city centre.

Instead of all the taxi fares on the trip can you buy/reuse some of that stuff in your luggage?

Good info.Thanks! will have to consider my backpack then. The trusty hardback has been useful thus far stairs will be a pain. Escalators?
Good to know this. thanks.

Added on November 30, 2010, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Nov 22 2010, 04:31 AM)
you're traveling alone in Japan with lots of luggage and no Japanese skills. Well, this time you'd better learn to travel light. Japanese like to mind their own business, so it's unlikely you'll get help from passerbys.
No dear, not lots of luggage. My luggage (singular) tends to get heavy. and No, i was not expecting anyone to help. If i waited for help everytime i travel I'd probably still be stuck at the airport. Which is why i'm doing research and have gotten some pretty useful advise thus far.

This post has been edited by happyshirt: Nov 30 2010, 07:25 PM
happyshirt
post Sep 1 2011, 02:12 PM

412 posts

Hi guys,some questions to prepare for my trip. Appreciate the advise and help.

where can i buy the JR rail pass vouchers in Malaysia? Any ideas? can buy Online kah? or just make reservation only then go to Japan buy at the rail station.

Can someone explain the reserved and unreserved seat process. I been reading up and just managed to confuse myself.
What if i get a unreserved seat ticket and then find full, can i just wait for the next train? or, it is recomended to get the reserved?

My HTC Desire HD phone can be used in Japan, is there a SIM card we buy n use like prepaid cards here? Does not seem to have i searched already anyone knows?
Or just get the regular phone card to use in payphones.?

The bank statement for visa application, is there any requirement how old/new it should be? Can we print online statement to use?

Thank you.
happyshirt
post Sep 1 2011, 07:55 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(7989k @ Sep 1 2011, 06:31 PM)
You can't purchase JR Rail Pass at Japan. You have to buy 'JR Pass Exchange Order' from a travel agency located outside of Japan(before you enter Japan) and exchange JR Pass Exchange Order with JR Rail Pass at designated stations or area in Japan.
You can use most JR trains, buses and ferrys.(including Shinkansen except for Nozomi and Mizuho class)

The difference between reserved and unreserved seat :
You don't need an reservation when you ride on train( Just show your JR Pass and Passport to staffs, then they let you pass the gate. It's the same when staffs on train ask you, while on board, to show your ticket.), just you can't seat on the Reserved car so that you should find a seat on the Non-reserved car.
Check this sites also :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_Rail_Pass
http://www.japanrailpass.net/
Thanks 789k sorry i was referring to JR Pass Exchange Order i guess i'll go to JTB then there's a branch in Penang.
happyshirt
post Dec 14 2011, 08:16 PM

412 posts

Hi how does one get from Malaysia to Hokkaido? Do we hv to go to either osaka or Tokyo then take domestic flight to sapporo? Any advise please? Thanks
happyshirt
post Dec 17 2011, 10:06 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 14 2011, 09:53 PM)
Direct flight will be more cheaper.

Japan domestik air ticket are very expensive....RM convert to Yen totally too expensive.  Tokyo to New Chitose by JAL / ANA ticket are RM1,000 plus. Go by Air DO or Skymarks will cheaper but still need RM800 above.
Thanks RegentCid. I think it looks like CX then. they go from KL or PG to HK then to Sapporo.
happyshirt
post Mar 12 2012, 10:19 AM

412 posts

I'm looking for some suggesetions on which other regions are good to visit in Japan.

thus far, have been to Kyoto, Tokyo, Hiroshima and Miyajima. Hokkaido for the flowers is next on the list.

I'm looking for scenery and since i'm travelling alone would be good if the places aren't too hard to get to.

Any thoughts? Appreciate the insights.
happyshirt
post Mar 12 2012, 10:32 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 12 2012, 10:27 AM)
Been to Kyoto but didn't went to Osaka and Kobe?   

Then you can plan going Osaka + Kobe.  Can Try Nagoya.    If want go north then Sendai // Aomori // Akita // Yamagata.  Go south then Kagoshima Island Chain //  Okinawa island Chain
Yeah i had to skip Osaka spent whole 10 days in Kyotos take photoes and feeling very "blessed" after all the temples and shrines i visited brows.gif

I was thinking of Osaka also and then side trip back to Kyoto for winter shots.....maybe. OK i'll look into the North.

The south islands aren't they mainly beachlike?

thanks RegentCid. as usual very helpful of u.

0.0419sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:07 AM