Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

TSarthurlwf
post Nov 1 2007, 01:05 AM, updated 14y ago

2,546 posts

Any recommend good travel package to travel to Japan? Please share your experience in terms of cost, no of days and daily life over there and etc...

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Japan Travel Info- Updated by moderators:

1. Transportations

- Japan Rail Network, maps & fare: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2019.html
- Train Schedule: http://world.jorudan.co.jp/norikae/cgi-bin...in.cgi#L_Kekka3
- Cheap 5 days unlimited ride via "Seishun Juhaici kippu" ticket (But no Express/Bullet train) http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2362.html
- JR Pass for those want to go major cities cheaply using Sinkansen http://www.japan-rail-pass.com/train-japon/?ap=j0095g
- Haneda Limousine Bus (Keihin Kyuko) for those reaching late night @Haneda - http://hnd-bus.com/route/nightmorningbus.html (Others pls google)

2.Learn Simple Japanese:
http://japanese-phrases.sakura.ne.jp/

3. General Sighseeing & Attractions:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e623a.html

-Tokyo Disneyland ticket price: http://www.tokyodisneyresort.co.jp/en/ticket/index.html

4. Hotel Booking Websites
(Please compare 1st)

http://www.agoda.com/asia/japan/tokyo.html
http://www.asiarooms.com/en/japan/tokyo.html
http://ms.hotels.com/?dateless=true (Probably the cheapest to Japan?)
http://www.booking.com/index.html?aid=3096...CFUd66wodUklQNQ

VISA application:
http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/English/visit.html
1.  Original passport
2. One (1) visa application form (downloadable)
3. One (1) photo (4.5cm x 4.5cm) with white background which is taken within 6 month from the visa application and must be pasted on the application form
4. IItinerary in Japan (downloadable) and for transit purpose, copy of visa to the main destination (USA, CANADA, etc)
5. Employment certificate stating your position, department in the company and length of service(using the company letterhead)
*If you are a sole proprietor/partner/owner of the company, you need to submit a copy of  your business registration
*For those who are not working: a self explanatory letter stating how expenses will be borne, name and relationship of person(s) accompanying (if any)
6. Personal savings, latest current account statement, fixed deposit, Tabung Haji or Amanah Saham Berhad (ASB) (original certified true copy by the bank) (need to show the applicant’s name as the account owner, account number and current balance) 
7. Copy of marriage certificate (spouse) or birth certificate (children) to show proof of relationship between the main applicant and the person(s) accompanying
5. More great info compiled from this thread:

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 3 2012, 11:45 AM)
Going to Kamakura is very easy and very cheap.  and very direct ~~
First you go to Tokyo Station...which just near to your HOtel.
Then Take Yokosuka Line (Dark Blue) all the way down to Kamakura Station.
Journey take around 2 hour plus.  WIll crossing through Shinagawa Station then pass through Yokohama then pass through Ofuna then arrive.

To Nikko:

First from Tokyo Staton taking Yamanote Line to Ueno Station.
At Ueno Station Taking Utsunomiya Line (Orange) to Utsunomiya Station.  
After Arrive Utsunomiya Station then change to Nikko Line to Nikko Station. (Nikko Line Terminal Station)
Journey taking 1 hour 20 minute - 30 minute.
- Nikk0 2 days pass from Asakusa Stn - Railway - Bus & entrance available here: http://www.tobu.co.jp/foreign/pass/w_heritage_pass.html

To Hakone (Best view of Mt Fuji)
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 13 2012, 11:03 AM)
Want see Good View of Mt Fuji without going Shizuoka......then just go Hakone

Seriosly stimix...spent 2 day 1 night at Hakone will never regret!!!  Hakone just 1 hour 30 minute away from Tokyo Shinjuku Station only.
Take ropeway go up to Owakudani...try the Dark Egg!!....hahaha.   Owakudani is the place to see Mt Fuji and snap Mt Fuji Picture. 

After Owakudani...take Rope way down to Lake Ashi.......Here also perfect place to snap whole Family Picture that you will never forget rest of life.
What view can more perfect than this in Japan?

Buy the free pass from Odakyu line @ Shinjuku stn - counter inside Odakyu Mall http://www.odakyu.jp/english/freepass/

More tips
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=51856595

6. Budget Cheap Food Guide

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 26 2012, 11:17 AM)
Budget Food Guides for those kiasu & kiampsiap travelers  rclxms.gif

Morning/Quick lunch/Dinner

Just buy those cup noodles from nearby 7-11, Family Mart, Lawson or even Aeon Superarket (I found AEON giving the most competitive rate but they are not 24hrs)
This cup noodle cost 168yen but there are smaller cup oodle too selling ~ 100yen till 250yen

Also for those wanna meal on the go & dunwan restaurant food, also can buy thoe Bento set & heat-up there instantly & eat inside those convenient shops. Well price are almost similar to the real stuff selling in those budget chain restaurants that I ate (Check after this post). The price of cold /non-heated bento set from 300-450yen:

Proper Lunch/Dinner

Shinjuku -For Noodles & small choices of rice. Try Sanko Near Shinjuku Post Office & beside the Oval high rises district. This is like no frill concept. You can choose plain Udon & thereafter choose the tempura as topping. Or you can choose set.. You can even get the rice wth mince pork for only 200yen here!!
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...%26prmd%3Dimvns

Shibuya/Harujuku & probably more areas, For cheap rice, try this yummy rice..damn shiok  thumbup.gif  I luv thos rice restaurant.. cheap & yummy for sure  rclxms.gif
http://www.sukiya.jp/

In Akihabara (And probably more branches) - My 1st proper Tokyo lunch, I just walked along Akihabara main st & found this Komoro Soba. price from 330yen and I choose the 330yen for sure haha..Damn shiok too and surprisingly now only I know they also opened in Manila!!  blink.gif
http://www.microsofttranslator.com/BV.aspx...iv%2Findex.html

The common Food vending machine either outside or inside the restaurant - This one Komoro Soba in Akihabara

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 2 2012, 10:38 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 1 2007, 11:46 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Nov 1 2007, 11:32 AM)
3 weeks with free accommodation (haha)

my brother is studying in japan, so i had it easier.

return tix: RM2200 (KL-Bangkok-Narita)

spending money: RM6000 (used mostly to eat, train rides, bus rides (Tokyo-Nagaoka, Niigata and Tokyo-Osaka), ONE bullet train ride (haha), festival tickets, live shows tickets, some souvenirs, g-shock watch)

Total: less than RM10k

RM10k is a good amount to prepare for this trip.

Accommodation is cheap if you know where to look. You can get accommodation as cheap as ¥3000 = RM90 (RM 45 each) a night. We got that rate when we were in Osaka for 4 nights. Try sleeping in their cyber cafes, cyber cafes like manboo have seasonal packages. when i was there in the summer, 5 hour = ¥1200 (RM36). Get in around 2am, out by 7am.

Basic Japanese is good to have though it's not a requirement. Bring a phrase book, it might help you.
Btw, what flight you took? MAS, SIA, JAL???

WOW !!!
Kind to share how you sleep in the cyber cafe? on the chair or bed?

Added on November 1, 2007, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(omnimech @ Nov 1 2007, 01:20 AM)
i Went there with my gf for 2 weeks. >_> . Both of us spend > 30 k. alltogether .
You go with travel agent?
Btw, you go with which airline?

And 30k is lots of $$$.. what did you do over there??

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Nov 1 2007, 11:47 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 4 2007, 07:19 PM

2,546 posts

anybody knows any good travel agency for Japan Trip?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 6 2007, 01:21 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(claran @ Nov 5 2007, 04:10 PM)
Used Apple Holidays travel agent last April for a trip to Japan. It is a 7D6N tour that cost around RM5000++ per pax. Nice itinerary, nice hotel and moderate food. We went to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka. Hotel range from 3 stars to 4 stars. For sure you can't afford to stay at those hotel on free and easy with that budget. Average 1 room per night will costs around RM1,000.. rclxub.gif So, tour package usually can cater some simple luxury at moderate price.

The tour guide is a nice and funny guy who is a Malaysian but stay in Japan for his studies and work there afterward. So, after the nomal sight seeing tour in the morning and afternoon, we have some private tour with the guide around places eating nice jap foods and drink beer. thumbup.gif . Really a wonderful experience.

Other than the tour package, i had spend extra RM5000 pocket money for the trip that include foods, train ticket, entrance fees, hotel (i extend my trip for 3 days. Around RM500 per night for a room of equivalent 2 stars hotel sweat.gif ) Damn expensive.

Cheers!
Walau.. in total you spend about RM11k for 10D9N trip...

Very expensive but I believe its an enjoyable trip. Can share some of your daily experience over there?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 6 2007, 11:42 PM

2,546 posts

Awesome experience !!! How is the food over there?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 8 2007, 02:31 AM

2,546 posts

WHAT... raw chicken... i got the fear factor feeling on the Raw Chicken..

Btw, thats for the info...
Kinda to share about the people over there? And do you speak Nihon-go?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 9 2007, 12:19 AM

2,546 posts

which is the best month to visit Japan??

And btw, how is the people over there? Are they friendly, fast pace society, kind to foreigner?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 12 2007, 02:15 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 11 2007, 09:03 PM)
best time would be spring in march-april or fall , november. keep in mind though that japanese love to travel during this times as well because of the sakuras and foliage, so there are crowds...
i guess March, April and November is the peak season in Japan.

Is the trip normally cheaper if we were to travel outside of Tokyo?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 12 2007, 06:21 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 12 2007, 04:39 PM)
urm, hard to say. hokkaido and okinawa is prolly more exp than tokyo tongue.gif
blink.gif How come? Tokyo is one of the most expensive city in the world already and Hokkaido and Okinawa is more expensive than Tokyo? shocking.gif

Btw, is it cheaper if we were to go to Japan to get travel agency?
TSarthurlwf
post Nov 13 2007, 01:34 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(supernothing @ Nov 12 2007, 10:11 PM)
so little time, so many places to go. have fun!
Not going to enjoy little time and many places to go...
Being in that kind of experience once and its real super hectic... Travel is suppose to be enjoying and relaxing
Nevertheless make full use of the time to enjoy the trip smile.gif

Added on November 13, 2007, 1:36 am
QUOTE(claran @ Nov 12 2007, 06:40 PM)
I would say yes. Some might disagree with me.
But consider in the hotel you stay and the places you need to go(For transportation). Again, i would definitely say YES YES YES.
There is always pros on cons in going with travel agency.
With a travel agency, your travel will be relaxing (in term of you do not have to think on how to go and what to eat) and thus convenience. But since they arrange everything for you, then you lost the flexibility. Can't go where you want to go and can't eat what youy want to eat. BUt yoiu staying a some good hotel and got tour guide serving you.  thumbup.gif Therefore, it would definitely depend on what you want.

So, back to the topic. Is going Japan by travel agency cheaper?
By going with a travel agency, for sure you can get a much better hotel. Range from 3stars - 4 stars hotel. (Strictly speaking, hotel in Japan does not categories into star star thing, just that easier for our imagaination what class of the hotel is). For that hotel, per night per room might have cost you at least RM500. I mean minimum. !!! rclxub.gif Easily goes up to RM1,000.  shocking.gif Be aware that some hotel in Tokyo charge per head not per room. So, it going to be very expensive!!!!

So, if you going to have a 7D6N in Japan like most of the tour offer, you will need to spend
RM500x6 = RM3000 on accomodation alone. Again, RM3000 is minimum. Unless you gonna stay in the hostel which i think cost around RM100. But it is a different story again. How can you compare hotel with hostel. Even it just 'S' that differentiate them. So, by using a tour agency, you can enjoy some simple luxury where you can't get on free and easy.

So,
Hotel = RM3,000 (minimum)
Airfare (return) = RM2,000 (apox)
Transport +admission +food + others = RM2,000
So, in total your travel expenses must be not less than RM7,000

As for me, a good hotel is also one of the important part in your travel. It will simply spice up your enjoyment there. Just my opion though.... whistling.gif

Cheers!
You have any recommended travel agency? So far I've got a recommendation for Apple Holiday

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Nov 13 2007, 01:36 AM
TSarthurlwf
post Dec 6 2007, 12:42 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(Sweet @ Dec 5 2007, 03:24 PM)
OIC. thanks for your helpful info. I guess that is what being practise all these while.

My colleage is going with the family. 2 adult and 2 child, no wonder they want RM35K as FD.  sweat.gif

Anyway, thanks a lot for the info. Enjoy ur life in Japan.  thumbup.gif
Wait a minute... going to Japan as a tourist requires visa? cry.gif Any idea how much is the application?
TSarthurlwf
post Dec 20 2007, 01:52 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 20 2007, 01:36 AM)
I lived there for three years...it's frickin awesome. I find it funny that they use Kancils as police cars...but yeah. The living expenses there is very high...I remember I was like RM5 for a donut I REFUSE!! smile.gif

I miss Japan...I wanna go back there to see my friends.
ohmy.gif 3 years !!! u went there for studying?
TSarthurlwf
post Jan 23 2008, 10:24 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jan 23 2008, 07:09 PM)
yea, i definitely suggest backpacking.

oh yea, hakone is abt 1hr+ from tokyo, so u might as well spend the day there, or early morn till late aft at the very least. so, u might not have time to go asakusa as its on the other side of tokyo.

www.japan-guide.com is a good place to do research. pm if u need any advice, i'm willing to help
Hi clemong_888,

You got any japan tour package recommendation?

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Jan 23 2008, 10:24 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Feb 28 2009, 12:16 PM

2,546 posts

One of the JP Visa requirement is to have the bank statement. Does anybody have any idea on this part?

Is it that I need to update the passbook, and then get officer to sign the photocopy... or I need to write a letter stating that this is my passbook and get bank officer to sign the letter?

Arigatou

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Feb 28 2009, 12:17 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Mar 1 2009, 01:56 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 28 2009, 08:09 PM)
zoakies, itu link to firedauz punya post...tak complete lah.

see the first page , under FAQ
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=739760

you can either photocopy your passbook n get the bank officer to sign
or
print online, bring to bank to sign
or
ask them to print n sign. have to pay RM10 (CIMB)
Your answer hit the bulls eye. Thanks
TSarthurlwf
post Mar 6 2009, 06:03 PM

2,546 posts

Anybody have any idea where and how much to purchase Shinkansen pass at KL? Thxs
TSarthurlwf
post Mar 7 2009, 12:00 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Mar 6 2009, 06:32 PM)
hahahha.... shinkansen pass can only bought there or online , not that sure, cos never took shinkansen before.
The website Shinkansen states
Eligibility

Only foreigners, who stay in Japan on a temporary visitor visa (and Japanese nationals with permanent residence outside of Japan), are eligible to use a Japan Rail Pass.

The Japan Rail Pass has to be purchased outside of Japan. When purchasing the pass, you will receive an exchange order which has to be exchanged into an actual rail pass after your arrival in Japan and within three months of the purchase.

The exchange can be done at various major railway stations, including Narita Airport and Kansai Airport. It is not until the time of exchange, when you determine the starting date of validity of your Japan Rail Pass.

Added on March 8, 2009, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Mar 7 2009, 12:00 AM)
The website Shinkansen states
Its ok, found the info already.. http://www.jalpak.com.my/

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Mar 8 2009, 01:49 PM
TSarthurlwf
post May 20 2009, 05:26 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(sub_noob @ Apr 13 2009, 12:59 PM)
hi all
here i have a question
if i wanna sleep at Tokyo for 3 night is rm 2000 enough?
for accommodation,shopping,ticket and Disneyland?
currently budget Rm4500++
haha suddenly wanna go after see your guys experience
thx
If you stay at K House Tokyo, it would cost you not more than RM 300 per room (2 beds) depending on the exchange rate.

Shopping wise... well, depend on what you buy..

Ticket to Disneyland... no idea as I did not went there rclxub.gif

Added on May 20, 2009, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(nekosama @ Apr 13 2009, 01:29 PM)
japan lifestyle is quite luxury that's why cost is so high. the food and drinks won't be as cheap as malaysia normal restaurant but if you're used to visiting TGIF or tony romas or kampachi then the price would be consider normal to you. lodging got a lot weird weird places. there's very cheap until very expensive. just get a bunker and sleep lo. then some cafe price is quite ok and you can stay there the whole day. save your money on lodging and shoping to try exotic foods there... you can't find these elsewhere but japan.
Luxury... no la...
Expensive... yes la...

here are some average pricing on the food...
Lunch = JPY 600 - 900
Dinner = JPY 600 - 2000
Btw, Yoshinoya is the cheapest food in Japan and you can get less than JPY 600

Ramen is a common food in Japan and its super super delicious !!!

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: May 20 2009, 05:28 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Jan 25 2010, 08:34 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Jan 25 2010, 08:20 PM)
Japan is memang an expensive place to go, but it's well worth it smile.gif

Apple holiday seems to be pretty aggressive with their Japan packages. check it out

Japan is a country which a tourist no need to go on a package tour as it's very tourist friendly and safe... unless you need bus/van to ferry you all the time

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 28 2010, 09:51 PM
TSarthurlwf
post Mar 22 2010, 12:12 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Mar 21 2010, 05:34 PM)
They didnt say that there's a minimum amount on your bank account or FD right? Are there any minimum amounts? Just for inquiry cause I wanna make sure all the things n stuffs I need to prepare before leaving to Japan without problems.
Last year when I went there, not mistaken, the required minimum amount in your bank account should be 8k or 6k... But it's best for you to call up the Japan Embassy to clarify on the latest minimum amount

0.0386sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:32 PM