Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

D-Tourist
post Sep 6 2008, 02:35 AM

95 posts

Hi everybody. Need some advice on Japan. Today I was at the Matta Fair and thinking of signing in for a Apple Holiday's Japan 3 nite Hokkaido (Toya-ko, Noboribetsu, Yubari, Otaru, Sapporo & Chitose) and 4nite Tokyo (Asakuso Kannon, Disneyland, Shinjuku&Ginza). The choice of travel period is between 28 September & 8 October. What do u all think about this period or places?

1) How is the weather? Would it be too cold for elderly ppl, especially in Hokkaido?

2) I read in some guidebook that Aug-Oct is Typhoon period. Is that true and if so, then the trip would be spoilt if clashes with the typhoon?

3) Anything Must Try or Must Buy or Cheap Bargains in these regions?

Need advice asap coz need to book by Sunday liao.

D-Tourist
post Oct 16 2008, 11:06 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Oct 16 2008, 09:35 PM)
Planning to go Hokkaido too. Any recommended travel agents? How's Apple or Reliance? Thanks
Hi Atah

below is my reply to someone else pasted here for ur question:- tongue.gif

my travel agent was Apple tour, supposedly a tour agent based in KL check here www.appleholiday.com .... their itinerary and quotes are all in there. My trip was the hokkaido-tokyo package whereby u get to see both the nature of central hokkaido and the busy Tokyo city at the same time. Also included Disneyland. Do note that this trip did not cover other parts of hokkaido such as north, east and southern territory.

Food was great if u like japanese food, lots of king crab and huge scallops. Hotel was quite good, mostly 4 star hotel type. First 2 nites at hotel with hot springs (onsen) so u get to try the hot spring as long as u dun mind doing it naked.. hahah!!! japanese culture, duh!

This company is different in that the tour leader is also the tour guide. the malaysian tour leader from apple is fluent in japanese and will do all the guide job in Japan. No local japanese guide used. I guess that is where they save money to give better quality hotels. Overall, the trip was quite good with minor setback. The particular tour leader was good in planning as everything went smoothly & professionally but could have been better in the narration of the places and personal attention. But considering that the tour leader had to cover both the job as leader and guide, i guess its a compromise.

D-Tourist
post Oct 22 2008, 10:21 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Oct 19 2008, 09:04 AM)
thanks. do u have any contact person inside Apple tours?

Added on October 19, 2008, 9:07 am

thanks for your offer. actually i'll be bringing my mum, is it easy to backpack in japan as we can't speak japanese?
Try look for allan as he sounded very knowledgeable in Japan tours.

Or you can look for Ms. Kok, our tour leader for the trip

I was with my mom for the trip also, so i recommend u follow tour since ur mom is also going, coz if u go on free & easy, u will have to do lots of walking which would too tiring if ur mom is going.
D-Tourist
post Oct 22 2008, 05:07 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Voonz @ Oct 22 2008, 03:32 PM)
hello guys me and my family of 6 plan to go to japan this beginning of december, we plan to go to 2-3 places in 7-10 days. May i know where would be the best place to go during this time? tokyo is a must go right? how about hokaido?

can anyone recomend me a travel agency?
this is a leisure trip, so i don't mind paying higher for this whole trip. Just don't want the cheapo package. please drop me a PM.
Hahaha.. if u dun mind paying more, then check out the BRANDED tours offered by Apple whereby the tour leader is supposedly their top guides or the boss himself whereby u hafto pay at least 1-2K above the normal package price. Haf not tried it myself but u can ask for urself.

Added on October 22, 2008, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(atah @ Oct 22 2008, 01:49 PM)
thanks. checked their website, the hokkaido trip is quite expensive though, at least 7k per pax. so i guess have to budget 10k per pax...
Yes, about 10K/pax ...for my trip we spend another 2K /pax on just food, snacks, souvenirs and yukatas... and that was just considered normal. Went there with 3 luggage and came back with 4 bags and 2 boxes of mainly food stuff... hheheheh

If u intend to buy branded stuff like LVs or Burberry...etc.. then at least another 4-5K /pax tongue.gif ..

Added on October 22, 2008, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(laksaUTARA @ Oct 21 2008, 04:36 PM)
hi.. i am newbie....am really new to this forum...
well actually i'm thinking 'bout going to japan on backpack....but i guess it involved a lot of things..
such as visa and such.... erm my bank balance only down to RM1.00 end of every month..
i heard about apple holidays n they have really good bargain price on Muslim tour..
but i'm really wanna go by backpack..... if i'm going by back pack
erm.. how much it's cost let say around 7D2N?......and if maybe a couple of places MUST VISIT?

Thank in Advanced smile.gif
wif that bank account balance, u will haf problem applying for visa to japan. tongue.gif
unless u can show them u haf a huge cash reserve stashed somewhere in some FD / invesment account, you may not be able to get your visa coz the japanese embassy requires proof that you are able to pay for the trip and the expenses there.

This post has been edited by D-Tourist: Oct 22 2008, 05:42 PM
D-Tourist
post Oct 23 2008, 12:55 AM

95 posts

their website here http://www.appleholiday.com/

if u look at the website banners or their departure list, those branded are often labeled branded tour guide... so and so...

ask them how it is different from the normal tours... i haf no idea...
D-Tourist
post Dec 13 2008, 11:28 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(starry @ Dec 13 2008, 01:54 PM)
Hi smile.gif

For those who are interested, Citibank is having a promo for Platinum and Gold Cardmembers:

5D3N winter delight in Rusutsu Resort, Hokkaido:

Non-skiers package:
from RM3,888 (Adult) and RM3,128 (Child)

Skiers package:
from RM5,688 (Adult) and RM4,428 (Child)

Package includes: 
‧  Return economy class air ticket by Japan Airlines
‧  Return airport transfer by scheduled coach
‧  Accommodation with daily breakfast
‧  Hot spring tax, consumption tax and service charge
‧  Choice for stopover at Tokyo
‧  Skiers package includes FREE: 2 days lift pass, half-day private ski lesson
(2 hours), a full set of ski rentals for 2 days

Terms and conditions apply. Prices shown above are based on 1 person (twin sharing basis). Choice for stopover at Tokyo excludes ground arrangement and accommodation. Valid until 31 March 2009 (except 20 December 2008 - 4 January 2009).

I'm thinking of booking the package in March.
What do u guys think? Worth it?
Thanks!
seems like a good price package... but the price is not inclusive of airport tax, surcharges... etc. rite? those should add around RM1.3K to the price...

0.0339sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:43 AM