Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

deodorant
post Mar 14 2012, 08:38 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(mafilee @ Mar 13 2012, 04:19 PM)
So i shud stop at daiba for fuji TV and Aomi for palette town is it? How abt the rainbow bridge where actually i can get the best view to watch the bridge?

Last time I randomly went into one cafe in Aqua City called cafe gigi, food is "ok" only but i got a seat right in front of the glass facing the rainbow bridge.

Renowned for its genuine espresso and traditional French gallette offerings
Enjoy a pristine location that provides a full view of the Rainbow Bridge while savoring a romantic moment with that special someone on a love sofa. During dinnertime, enjoy gallette made with buckwheat power and European fusion cuisine as you marvel at the night view.

QUOTE(mafilee @ Mar 13 2012, 04:19 PM)
Because I only got 3D 2N at Tokyo..
How about if i put Disneyland and Odaiba for my second day...it will be from 9:00AM till 6:00PM at disneyland and after that i'm goin to odaiba...?

3d/2n means you gotta either touch & go everything, or sacrifice some places to see in more detail. disneyland you have to budget one full day with no time to do anything else on that day. Also IMO one must-do thing in Tokyo is visit tsukiji fish market and eat omakase at sushi dai / daiwa sushi ... that one also will take up whole morning liao.
deodorant
post Mar 15 2012, 11:34 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 15 2012, 11:30 AM)
Just avoid everything got this word : 豚

Boss, cannot leh. For those muslim who follow more strictly, even chicken, beef, lamb, etc must be slaughtered correctly then only they can eat, so without halal logo they won't eat.
deodorant
post Mar 16 2012, 03:15 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Mar 16 2012, 01:07 PM)
hi regentcid, got a question for you.
what are the pros of visiting japan during 29aug - 3 sep (still summer weather like malaysia ) ? i booked my ticket then, should've chosen autumn.. sigh.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 16 2012, 01:12 PM)
I got one word for you.
Get ready for BBQ.
You are the Meat .....Sun are the Fire.....you will be cooked....Hospital ready to eat you. ( if you get sunburn or fainted out)
Morning 6am Tempreture outside 30 - 32C   Noon 36 - 40C  Night 30 - 32C
Malaysia Morning are 25-27 around Noon 32 - 34C  Night 25-27C
You see the diffrent?
Malaysia highest record so far are 37C.  Tokyo Highest record are 45C

really that high? last year I was there aug 27-aug31, yes I felt it was hot and walk everywhere outdoors also sweat, but I didn't at any time feel like it was unbearable or anything hmm.gif

Added on March 16, 2012, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Mar 16 2012, 03:06 PM)
Tokyo
1) Sushi at Tsukuji Market (thanks to Deodorant blog)

by coincidence i was digging through my things found this that the guards will give out to you when you go tsukiji ... sushidai/daiwa sushi are in the bigger "uogasi yokochou" area.

download here: http://www.timing-design.com/crap/SCN_0002.pdf

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 16 2012, 03:28 PM
deodorant
post Mar 19 2012, 02:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse80 @ Mar 19 2012, 12:23 PM)
Im interested in this Tokyo Disneyland package but just worried that it would be very hard to travel around Tokyo due to the language barrier.

As long as you do proper research before flying over, dunno a single word of Japanese also not much of a problem one.
deodorant
post Mar 21 2012, 08:45 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 20 2012, 10:17 PM)
5) Akihabara- It/Electronics city but actually nothing to buy there (for me-lah haha..except regentcid things haha)

Maid Cafe leh? lol.
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 20 2012, 10:17 PM)
9) Odaiba- The most expensive metro ride - Cost 310Yen to that Island.. Very nice view of rainbow bridge, Fuji TV stn & Statue of Liberty but the Aqua Mall is abit letdown and expensive food there.

You didn't go to the Toyota Mega Web? Can ride/drive car simulator & see like few dozen cars on display and sit inside a GT Toyota, for me I spent like more than half a day there lol.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 21 2012, 08:45 AM
deodorant
post Mar 21 2012, 02:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ Mar 21 2012, 02:00 PM)
If i want to go Sushi Dai for breakfast, what time do you think i should be there to queue?

http://look-see-eat.blogspot.com/2011/09/a...dai-tokyos.html

6.25am:

7.15am:

7.40am (I'm still outside):

7.55am finally sit down to eat.

The queue is equally as long even if you come late, but if it is summer time, you will be queue'ing in damn hot sun. IMO if you don't want so long queue, Daiwa Sushi is similar quality, much faster queue (cos they got 2 shop lot), but poorer value for money.
deodorant
post Mar 26 2012, 02:40 PM

5,691 posts

Since we all posting photo ... I look through my photos found this one ha ha went to meiji jingu then don't have anywhere to stamp the rubber stamp ... so i stamp in my passport lol

deodorant
post Mar 26 2012, 02:54 PM

5,691 posts

Few more photo spam ...

The melon pan at sensoji was super ... too bad cannot find anything similar anywhere here, even at the japanese-origin bakeries sad.gif
Melon Pan by shuigao25, on Flickr

Sensoji by shuigao25, on Flickr

Yosakoi by shuigao25, on Flickr

Soy Sauce Ice Cream by shuigao25, on Flickr

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 26 2012, 02:54 PM
deodorant
post Mar 30 2012, 08:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 29 2012, 10:16 PM)
Unker Stimix...saw this machine at Akibahara Station?

omg I was searching for this kind of machine when I was there but never saw it! Hmm I guess akibahara station too big liao, the routes I walk didn't cross the path of the vneding machine sad.gif
deodorant
post Mar 31 2012, 12:32 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(pickyien @ Mar 31 2012, 12:04 PM)
I am planning to go Tokyo Disneyland & Tokyo DisneySea on 9/4/2012 & 10/4/2012 and overnight somewhere nearby Tsukiji Fish Market to visit the market early morning 4am on 10/4/2012. Thereafter, go to Tokyo DisneySea.

Are you also planning to eat sushi breakfast at tsukiji? because after tuna auction --> breakfast --> tour the fish market --> travel to disney it will be probably past lunchtime liao.
deodorant
post Apr 1 2012, 09:11 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mmyy @ Mar 31 2012, 03:55 PM)
Confusing.. since I hear many people printing out airtix and hotel booking info and submit together.

I dunno about MY since I applied in SG embassy, but the lady when receiving my documents and looking through them, didn't even want to take my hotel booking confirmation she just gave it back to me and said this one no need.

@RegentCid you know those big juicy peaches, do you know if they are seasonal or all year round also got?

deodorant
post Apr 3 2012, 07:52 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 1 2012, 10:11 AM)
Japanese Momo ( Peach ) only available in Summer.  More juicy you want...have to go early market.  can test eat.  better than those from supermarket

Ahh ok no wonder then. I bought some momo from those shops next to tsukiji market, wahlau most delicious and juicy peach i've ever eaten. also expensive. but ever since last half year survey in Isetan here, don't know why never saw it (isetan here got a japanese fruits corner with muskmelon, strawberry, etc, but i've never seen peaches so far).
deodorant
post Apr 6 2012, 12:38 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 6 2012, 12:14 PM)
No..just that I kena Singaporean kiasu virus liao  sad.gif ...Last time I used MAS to Taipei, boh song wth their serbis, I walloped all their pillow, stainless steel fork & Spoons and ceramic plates  blush.gif
Too bad that hotel in Japan using dispenser soap..If not I also wallop their soap bar liao...OK lah I got 1 roll of Japanese soft toilet paper  rclxms.gif

OMG cheapskate shakehead.gif

... next time you go Tokyo you should go sunshine city prince, I remember the soap/shampoo is not in dispenser nor small bottle but actually in large, 1litre bottle ... perfect for you to wallop lol.
deodorant
post Apr 6 2012, 06:53 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Apr 6 2012, 06:40 PM)
Work as moderator but behave like a ...

forum moderator only needs to moderate the forum mah, who cares whether he is a saint or a devil outside? biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Apr 14 2012, 11:32 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sin88 @ Apr 14 2012, 03:06 PM)
tq but still abit worry on the railway work there look like more complicated than malaysia

it's not as bad as it looks. my first glance at the map when i was there, wahlau, almost fainted. but after you look closely actually is not really that much harder to decipher which line to go and which station to get off.

The only real difficulty I experience is forgot which station I go to, got no map with roman alphabet wtf, only got japanese characters, that time really facepalm lucky got one helpful auntie there tell me how to go smile.gif
deodorant
post Apr 25 2012, 12:23 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 25 2012, 09:30 AM)
i am interested to rent a pocket wifi at Japan as there is no sim card available for tourist... but the price is kinda expensive for me (RM288 for 10 days). i jus need to use whatsapp during my trip... is there any other cheaper way?

what operator are you using? i know that maxis got (relatively) decent data roaming prices for a few countries, but not sure if Japan is one of them. For me when I went Japan, I used my SingTel $15/day unlimited data roaming, I think it was damn useful cos noneed to pay internet at hotel, go anywhere wanna change plans can google for directions, etc.
deodorant
post May 2 2012, 09:16 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Izzet @ May 1 2012, 10:04 PM)
... just to cover my expenses and the cost which may incurred during my stay over there. = )

Company trip, your company no cover all your costs? hmm.gif

QUOTE(calvinyou89 @ May 2 2012, 12:05 AM)
Maybe royce chocolate from duty free shop.

hard to sell once he's back here lor. Some more also got Royce shop in KL ler.
deodorant
post May 2 2012, 06:07 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 2 2012, 04:53 PM)
Want to ask about Disneyland.
Can i finish both Disneyland and Sea in a day or i should do 2 days?

QUOTE(Shazzac @ May 2 2012, 05:26 PM)
1 day each.
The queue for rides are like really long plus the whole theme pack is really really big......

Like Shazzac said, you can't satisfactorily cram both parks into 1 day. If you're pressed for time, just choose 1 to go. Disneysea has better rides and is better for adults, Disneyland is better if you're bringing family i.e. kids.
deodorant
post May 11 2012, 08:22 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ May 10 2012, 01:30 PM)
meanwhile, RegentCid did u tried 大和寿司 b4? any comment on that?

daiwa sushi, the value for money is lower than sushi dai. when i went late last year, it was 3500yen but only 7nigiri+1roll. sushi dai is 3900yen but 11nigiri+1roll. however daiwa got 2 shophouse and 6 itamae so the queue is also a LOT shorter than sushi dai. in august i.e. summertime i queue'ed 1.5 hours for sushi dai, start queue 6.25am seated 7.55am.

blogwhore a bit lulz

daiwa sushi

sushi dai
deodorant
post May 11 2012, 11:26 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 10 2012, 01:11 PM)
Best in World (my ranking) are Sukiyabashi Jiro at Ginza.  18 Sushi with 1 beer cost you 38,000 Yen Per Head.  (Michelin 3 star and Japan Emperor Honour Chef)

sad.gif

wonder when only i can afford to wallop rm1.4k/person meals lol ... probably 10 years from now also cannot

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0472sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:42 AM