Buying Advice A Canon 400D or a 350D?, To buy or not to buy?

TSCutieLynette
post Oct 31 2007, 10:52 PM, updated 19y ago

214 posts

Dear Sifus, I need help, or rather, I need affirmation la.

I have only RM2500 to spare as a reward for myself this Christmas. I'm currently looking at the possibility of getting a Canon 400D or a 350D. I see the pros and cons of buying both the cameras with my budget.

The pro if I buy the 400D means I get 10 MP (which I don't really need) and more importantly, the built in sensor cleaner. But the con is that I won't have enough to get another lens for myself as I plan to get a 50mm f1.8 as well.

However the pro of buying a 350D is that it's cheaper now (Can get it at 2k only!). Relatively good though it may not a a sensor cleaner and I could actually buy the 50mm f1.8 with the remainder of my RM2500 after buying the camera. The con is, I will not have 10MP and no sensor cleaner.

I just want to know if I'll lose much for not getting the 400D. If the sensor cleaner is that important. If dust would collect on the sensor that easily and if servicing my camera is expensive.

Please help me clear the air. I just want to make sure I didn't make the wrong purchase.

Sekian, thank you sifu-sifus!
soulfly
post Oct 31 2007, 11:34 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,904 posts

350D kit + 50mm f1.8 + cheap camera cleaner/blower

that should do it tongue.gif

the built-in sensor cleaner works fine, but if there's a stubborn speck of dust you still need to give it a bit blow
harrychoo
post Oct 31 2007, 11:53 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Oct 31 2007, 10:52 PM)
Dear Sifus, I need help, or rather, I need affirmation la.

I have only RM2500 to spare as a reward for myself this Christmas. I'm currently looking at the possibility of getting a Canon 400D or a 350D. I see the pros and cons of buying both the cameras with my budget.

The pro if I buy the 400D means I get 10 MP (which I don't really need) and more importantly, the built in sensor cleaner. But the con is that I won't have enough to get another lens for myself as I plan to get a 50mm f1.8 as well.

However the pro of buying a 350D is that it's cheaper now (Can get it at 2k only!). Relatively good though it may not a a sensor cleaner and I could actually buy the 50mm f1.8 with the remainder of my RM2500 after buying the camera. The con is, I will not have 10MP and no sensor cleaner.

I just want to know if I'll lose much for not getting the 400D. If the sensor cleaner is that important. If dust would collect on the sensor that easily and if servicing my camera is expensive.

Please help me clear the air. I just want to make sure I didn't make the wrong purchase.

Sekian, thank you sifu-sifus!
the sensor cleaning is a useless thing in 400D body, might as well get a RM30 blower to blow ur job.. tongue.gif

350D now around RM1750 in the market only (pls dun pm me ask me where, go survey around), u can save few hundred bucks for ur 50mm and maybe a 2nd hand tele 70-300 as well
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 1 2007, 12:17 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Oct 31 2007, 11:53 PM)
the sensor cleaning is a useless thing in 400D body, might as well get a RM30 blower to blow ur job.. tongue.gif

350D now around RM1750 in the market only (pls dun pm me ask me where, go survey around), u can save few hundred bucks for ur 50mm and maybe a 2nd hand tele 70-300 as well
Haha, I found someone selling at what I thought was a really good price for the Canon 350D. Called up the guy and he's selling me the promotional package (Canon EOS 350D Kit + Canon OEM Sling Bag + Hoya 58mm UV Filter + Matin Neo Joint Neck Strap +cleaning kit + 50mm f1.8 + lens protector) for RM 2385. If I want a Lowepro SlingShot 200AW instead of the Canon OEM Sling I would have to top up RM200. That would be RM2585. Slightly out of budget but still affordable.

What do you think? Not bad hor?

I found it here- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/435770

This post has been edited by CutieLynette: Nov 1 2007, 12:22 AM
soulfly
post Nov 1 2007, 12:18 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,904 posts

Good deal!
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 1 2007, 12:21 AM

214 posts

HEHE, that's what I thought so too.

Now I'll wait for my paycheque to clear before I drag my dad to the shop and get it for me. YAY!

But sifu sifus ah, if you all found somewhere else with a better deal please let me know ah.

Thankyouveryveryveryveryverymuch!
harrychoo
post Nov 1 2007, 12:24 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Nov 1 2007, 12:17 AM)
Haha, I found someone selling at what I thought was a really good price for the Canon 350D. Called up the guy and he's selling me the promotional package (Canon EOS 350D Kit + Canon OEM Sling Bag  + Hoya 58mm UV Filter + Matin Neo Joint Neck Strap +cleaning kit + 50mm f1.8 + lens protector) for RM 2385. If I want a Lowepro SlingShot 200AW instead of the Canon OEM Sling I would have to top up RM200. That would be RM2585. Slightly out of budget but still affordable.

What do you think? Not bad hor?

I found it here- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/435770
It is good deal from its look but i prefer to buy kit set at RM1750, some of those things are pretty cheap..

try to ask siewkahow how much he offer u the kitset only..i bought things from his shop b4..not bad
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 1 2007, 12:37 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 1 2007, 12:24 AM)
It is good deal from its look but i prefer to buy kit set at RM1750, some of those things are pretty cheap..

try to ask siewkahow how much he offer u the kitset only..i bought things from his shop b4..not bad
Hmm, okay. Let's do the math together ah, I'm very bad at math.

If I get the kit lens only I might get it at RM1750. How much would a good bag cost? I'll be traveling for quite a bit so I need a good one and the Lowepro that comes with the package looks good enough.

Then I'll need to get the UV lens protector for the kit, tripod and cleaning kit. Oh and the 50mm f1.8 lens and lens protector also. How much would all of that cost ah, if I buy them all separately?

I think I could get the 50mm f1.8 with lens protector at a cheaper price. Maybe at RM250? But I'm really not good at negotiating la.

Harry, can I say you recommend me? Will he give cheap? LOL

This post has been edited by CutieLynette: Nov 1 2007, 12:38 AM
kevin613
post Nov 1 2007, 07:59 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Nov 1 2007, 12:37 AM)
Hmm, okay. Let's do the math together ah, I'm very bad at math.

If I get the kit lens only I might get it at RM1750. How much would a good bag cost? I'll be traveling for quite a bit so I need a good one and the Lowepro that comes with the package looks good enough.

Then I'll need to get the UV lens protector for the kit, tripod and cleaning kit. Oh and the 50mm f1.8 lens and lens protector also. How much would all of that cost ah, if I buy them all separately?

I think I could get the 50mm f1.8 with lens protector at a cheaper price. Maybe at RM250? But I'm really not good at negotiating la.

Harry, can I say you recommend me? Will he give cheap? LOL
usually the bundled stuff will not be good, it'll be ok for starters, but sooner or later, u'll need to replace them..
a good bag would cost u around RM200-300, or even more, depending on your needs, some can hold laptops, and comes with rain coat, while the cheaper ones may just give ways after u put too much weight on it..
UV filter also has product that ranges from the cheap less than Rm50- more than Rm100, again, depending on your needs, cheaper ones may just be a piece of glass, while the expensive ones will be multi-coated.
tripod, again depending on your requirements, u can either settle for those cheap ones around RM50 or those expensive ones ranging from RM300-RMxxxx, cheaper ones will be able to hold less weight, less sturdy, and will probably fail anytime soon than u can imagine.. it's advisable to invest in a good one, cause u'll be placing all your investment on the tripod, and u wont want it to collapse when u are using it, and let all your investment goes along with it..
a typical cleaning kit consist of a blower, a microfibre cloth, and maybe some fluid cleaner, costing around RM30-50, better ones would cost RM50 or more for just the blower alone..
the 50mm f1.8 should cost around RM270-290 for a brand new set, if u can find it at RM250, i'll say grab it before the boss change his mind.. tongue.gif
goldfries
post Nov 2 2007, 07:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 1 2007, 12:24 AM)

hehe. I spent a few k at that shop already. tongue.gif well their service is good la.

very nice people.

kevin613, I got a nice bag from siewkahow's place for less than RM 150. smile.gif It's now carrying my gear. they have quite a lot of bags there.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 2 2007, 07:51 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

i need a price update on the 350D, any ideas?
orenzai
post Nov 2 2007, 09:40 PM

3,114 posts

erm...wasnt it stated there RM1750 with kit? smile.gif
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 2 2007, 09:49 PM

214 posts

After looking correctly, I realized siewkahow's promo package does not include memory card and tripod. I'm changing my mind now.

I just want to ask you all sifu... if the tripod is really that important? I know you need it when shooting in low light conditions and indoors. I'm not a heavy user just yet and I really can't see myself carrying my tripod with my camera attached and walking around with it to take pictures. What do you think? My only concern is that Canon would discontinue the 350D anytime soon which I really hope won't happen so soon.

I am most probably gonna get the kit and bag and lens protector and memory card first. I hope I could get them all within a 2K budget. I'll get the 50mm f1.8 later la. sad.gif

This post has been edited by CutieLynette: Nov 2 2007, 10:00 PM
goldfries
post Nov 3 2007, 02:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

tripod or not, depends on you.

i have tripod but i rarely use it (and my tripod is heavy!). smile.gif in some cases, a monopod would be more helpful.

i started off with just the body + kit lens. bag and other stuff came later.
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 3 2007, 11:17 PM

214 posts

Went to 1Utama today and talked to the guys at Fotokem. They offered me RM1900 for the kit, bag, tripod and 2GB Sandisk Ultra II CF. I nearly fainted. This is the cheapest deal I found so far for full package.

They told me that they can only give me this price if I buy today. But my cheque is not cleared yet then they say they can't guarantee that price if I get it another day instead. Hate them la, they purposely put dateline to scare me.
r4ydc24
post Nov 4 2007, 07:53 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

ZOMG!!!! nearly fainted? how cute. alolololololo~ Fotokem is alwiz like dat wan.. they give u a price, then simply said they kenot guarantee the price will b the same later on... applies to Fotokem, JB s well. haih~

Lynette, y r u so afraid if the model discontinue? full range of EOS lenses are for your dispense... even if the model is not in the market, it doesnt mean dat they wont do services for it... if rosak within guarantee pulak, who knows, they might throw u a 400D.. whee~ rclxm9.gif
TSCutieLynette
post Nov 4 2007, 05:24 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Nov 4 2007, 07:53 AM)
ZOMG!!!! nearly fainted? how cute. alolololololo~ Fotokem is alwiz like dat wan.. they give u a price, then simply said they kenot guarantee the price will b the same later on... applies to Fotokem, JB s well. haih~

Lynette, y r u so afraid if the model discontinue? full range of EOS lenses are for your dispense... even if the model is not in the market, it doesnt mean dat they wont do services for it... if rosak within guarantee pulak, who knows, they might throw u a 400D.. whee~ rclxm9.gif
Well, because of my budget right now, the 350D is really the best deal for me. A 400D would be overkill as I don't need 10MP and such a big LCD screen. Waste battery power. I'm not afraid of not having enough lenses and etc. I feel the 350D is just nice for me.

Sifus, If I'm buying a secondhand one, what should I look out for?
kevin613
post Nov 4 2007, 06:12 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Nov 4 2007, 05:24 PM)
Well, because of my budget right now, the 350D is really the best deal for me. A 400D would be overkill as I don't need 10MP and such a big LCD screen. Waste battery power. I'm not afraid of not having enough lenses and etc. I feel the 350D is just nice for me.

Sifus, If I'm buying a secondhand one, what should I look out for?
look for those with warranty left if u're worried, otherwise drag any photographer friend of yours to check it for u when u COD..

TSCutieLynette
post Nov 5 2007, 12:52 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Nov 4 2007, 06:12 PM)
look for those with warranty left if u're worried, otherwise drag any photographer friend of yours to check it for u when u COD..
I have only one photographer friend and she's also an ameture. All of my other friends are PnS casual users. So sad. cry.gif

To be safe I think I'll get a new one la. (Unless someone else who is a pro offer to help me scout for a good second hand.)

kevin613
post Nov 5 2007, 02:08 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Nov 5 2007, 12:52 AM)
I have only one photographer friend and she's also an ameture. All of my other friends are PnS casual users. So sad.  cry.gif

To be safe I think I'll get a new one la. (Unless someone else who is a pro offer to help me scout for a good second hand.)
haha, ask and i believe someone would lend u a helping hand..

0.0189sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:07 PM