If there’s no fear, then why this type of news and reports comes out? The news are not from China. Geopolitics and decoupling! We are hearing this since Covid but how much de-risk are we seeing today? You think it’s easy to build a new supply chain from scratch? Most of the so called de-risk still depends on China in some forms. Do you think the MNCs going to abandon China market? Do you think car manufacturers like BMW, Volkswagen, Tesla, etc. going to leave China market?
What China managed to do is produce things much more cost effectively. They can make quality things much more cheaper than US and EU. Nobody today say China’s lithium batteries, solar panels, etc. low quality. The fact is consumers all around the world will vote with their wallets. If China cars are coffin wheel box, there’s nothing to be scared, right? They won’t compete at all. So why all the hoo haa?
BYD is in the market how many years? In such a short period of time, they are in top 10 selling only EVs. The only other car manufacturers that managed to do it is Tesla. BYD came later than Tesla and to achieve top 10 is not impressive? Even Tesla is using BYDs battery and that’s not an achievement?
The handphone maker might not be able to make a car as good as Mazda today but give it 5 years and let’s see. BYD already done it. You think other China car manufacturers won’t make it in the future especially after they consolidate into a few companies?
Coffin wheel box! That’s similar like how people describe Japanese cars in the 60s and 70s. Where are the Japanese today? Korean cars in the 80s are similarly called too but where is Hyundai and Kia today in global markets?
You don’t want to drive coffin wheel box, drive a Volvo lah but Volvo owned by who today? LOL!
Jeng,jeng,jeng....again CCP asswipe has spoken. Why Volvo? There's Toyota, Ford, Honda, Mazda, and others that sold more cars than BYD lorr! None of the CCP EVs outsold or better make than Tesla.
Brah....CCP has more than 2 decades to catch up on automotive industry. Yet it's a battery maker that made it. It's the monopoly of lithium ion battery and CCP subsidy that cause the current overcapacity of CCP EV vehicles.