Questions bout wireless cabel for electric guitar

TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 31 2007, 09:55 PM, updated 19y ago

170 posts

im planing to get a wireless cabel for my electric guitar cause when i perform on stage in school,i want to jump and spin on stage but the stupid cabel limit my stunts cry.gif

so how much does a wireless cabel cost?

wat brand do u recommend?

and how is the quality??
SweetTooth
post Oct 31 2007, 10:16 PM

2,650 posts

jumping on stage? performing for looks eh brows.gif
you can jump with a cable no problems. even herman li did it when he came here few months back biggrin.gif

just be very sure of what you're doing and dont trip over when you jump. you can try hooking your cable to your strap so that its abit higher and you wont trip over it that easily. other than that should be fine.

if you still insist on a wireless cable, i can't help you there smile.gif
blacktrix
post Oct 31 2007, 10:16 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

It's cheaper to get an extra long cable.
Wireless Guitar setups are expensive and the average priced ones doesn't sound good at all.

Zakk Wylde uses like, a 50ft Monster Cable..... he hates the quality of any wireless system, no matter HOW expensive.
TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 31 2007, 10:51 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 31 2007, 10:16 PM)
jumping on stage? performing for looks eh brows.gif
you can jump with a cable no problems. even herman li did it when he came here few months back biggrin.gif

just be very sure of what you're doing and dont trip over when you jump. you can try hooking your cable to your strap so that its abit higher and you wont trip over it that easily. other than that should be fine.

if you still insist on a wireless cable, i can't help you there smile.gif
jumping no problem. but spinning and SPIN WHILE JUMPING that need wireless cabel maT.T i achieve that but got darn cabel block my wayT.T
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 31 2007, 10:16 PM)
It's cheaper to get an extra long cable.
Wireless Guitar setups are expensive and the average priced ones doesn't sound good at all.

Zakk Wylde uses like, a 50ft Monster Cable..... he hates the quality of any wireless system, no matter HOW expensive.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
so wireless cabel sucks shocking.gif ??
T.T how much does the cheapest cost
blacktrix
post Oct 31 2007, 11:07 PM

13,063 posts

Probably the cheapest I can recommend is the AKG wireless system.....

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/AKG...tem-?sku=275682
About USD 250...... but good luck finding it here in Malaysia.

SweetTooth
post Oct 31 2007, 11:12 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Oct 31 2007, 10:51 PM)
jumping no problem. but spinning and SPIN WHILE JUMPING that need wireless cabel maT.T i achieve that but got darn cabel block my wayT.T

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
so wireless cabel sucks shocking.gif ??
T.T how much does the cheapest cost
try jumping OVER the cable?
i don't see why its so hard to spin, the cable won't be in the way most of the time. improvise? thumbup.gif
blacktrix
post Oct 31 2007, 11:25 PM

13,063 posts

Closest distributor for AKG Distributor are in Singapore:

ASI DISTRIBUTION PTE LTD.
289B Outram Road
169071 Singapore

Eric Chow
Phone: +65 6225 1661, Mobile +65 94571101
Fax: +65 6225 1771

Maybe you can contact them and see if they have a satellite distributor here in KL
nerd
post Oct 31 2007, 11:48 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

Herman did a rather decent spin with the cable.

and how do you play decently when 'spinning' anyway?

I think quite a few guitarists pulled off the jump-spin rather well with cables smile.gif
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 12:15 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 31 2007, 11:07 PM)
Probably the cheapest I can recommend is the AKG wireless system.....

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/AKG...tem-?sku=275682
About USD 250...... but good luck finding it here in Malaysia.
OMG shocking.gif
so expensive?
i thought it wil be 500-700 range. >>..<< too expensive for a student to affordT.T
QUOTE(nerd @ Oct 31 2007, 11:48 PM)
Herman did a rather decent spin with the cable.

and how do you play decently when 'spinning' anyway?

I think quite a few guitarists pulled off the jump-spin rather well with cables smile.gif
any video of them jump-spin with cable?? i want to watch and learn thumbup.gif .
many band like fall-out-boys or simple plan achieve jump-spin with wireless cabel during live concert
blacktrix
post Nov 1 2007, 12:27 AM

13,063 posts

Um........ Sorry to burst your bubble........ Herman used a wireless system too.....

SweetTooth
post Nov 1 2007, 12:48 AM

2,650 posts

^
sorry, my bad. didn't recall him using a wireless CABLE system. i know he used the wireless wah though
led_zep_freak
post Nov 1 2007, 01:26 AM

5,231 posts

Focus on the music and don't do too much stunt lar... seriously, it's not worth it to spend so much on a wireless system, no matter how cool the idea is.

Plus, there're lotsa other cable-friendly stunts that you can pull off live. biggrin.gif The cables didn't stop Pete Townshend, did they? biggrin.gif
SweetTooth
post Nov 1 2007, 01:50 AM

2,650 posts

just do a power slide biggrin.gif
follow what tenacious D teach in the pick of destiny laugh.gif
monosyllabic
post Nov 1 2007, 08:25 AM

203 posts

If it's just one show, I don't think it's worth it. Also, for most gigs in Malaysia, the venue/organizers provide a backline (the amps, drumkit) for all the bands. If you get a wireless system, you might have to set it up beforehand and maybe even have to share...

Play the music, and the rocking out will come naturally. And note that sometimes those jumps and stuff are exaggerated for music vids. When they do it live, it's usually just accompanied by a held chord or a slide down/up the fretboard - not much finger gymnastics while jumping around, that's for sure.

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 1 2007, 01:50 AM)
just do a power slide biggrin.gif
follow what tenacious D teach in the pick of destiny laugh.gif
But then you'd have to worry about stage size and/or rugburn (or stageburn?). Ouch!
echobrainproject
post Nov 1 2007, 10:00 AM

4,765 posts

wireless with have not only have a slight drop of quality but also add slight compression.

a normal unit like the sennheiser will cost about rm2k+.

dont get it unless u really know what u're doing. setting it up will take a while and u need to work with the sound ppl too. you dont want them to set wireless microphones, etc to your guitar's wireless frequency. alot of other things to consider.

dont get that guitar bug(the link blacktrix posted). quality is a little fuzzy and ive seen people who use it experience problems (fuzz, cracks/pop and tempororily no sound). well maybe it was bad luck, but we guitarist already have enough of gear. the more 'canggih' gears u add in, the more chances of u having technical problems during the show and ruin ur show.

no offence, but a wireless system for just a concert in school??!! spend more time trying to make music that make the crowd jump and spin around, not yourself syiok sendiri up on stage.
crazychris
post Nov 1 2007, 12:43 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

get a great cable is reli better
buy smtn like MONSTER cable
and ul appreciate the minimum toneloss

blacktrix
post Nov 1 2007, 02:17 PM

13,063 posts

That's why I said, get a super long monster cable instead....... you'll be much happier with the overall results.
freakfingers12
post Nov 1 2007, 05:24 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Meh,spinning a guitar?That is so not metal XD
Bassix
post Nov 1 2007, 06:26 PM

-----
1,171 posts

regi had a cable on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vdJvHE8qxA

Don't mind the noise in the first 3:45 of the clip though laugh.gif tongue.gif
Rossie
post Nov 1 2007, 07:23 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 1 2007, 05:24 PM)
Meh,spinning a guitar?That is so not metal XD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwXU9jTCFUw
Metal?
AlienProbe
post Nov 1 2007, 07:28 PM

209 posts

guitar spinning is metal la..those 80's rock guitarists did it way back then..
Everdying
post Nov 1 2007, 07:42 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

yea la, malmsteen and every other guitarist from the 80s did that already.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 07:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Nov 1 2007, 06:26 PM)
regi had a cable on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vdJvHE8qxA

Don't mind the noise in the first 3:45 of the clip though  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
Omg nice spin!this is so damn cool and im soooo GOING TO LEARN THAT MOVE thumbup.gif thumbup.gif !!!!!

QUOTE(Rossie @ Nov 1 2007, 07:23 PM)
NICE NICE!! but he was using wireless syetemTT

it seems that buying wireless cabel is a reckless disicion i guess.
Any more guitar stunts i can do with a cabel????????

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Nov 1 2007, 07:54 PM
Rossie
post Nov 1 2007, 08:18 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 1 2007, 07:53 PM)
Omg nice spin!this is so damn cool and im soooo GOING TO LEARN THAT MOVE thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif !!!!!
NICE NICE!! but he was using wireless syetemTT

Hang your vocalist?
SweetTooth
post Nov 1 2007, 08:20 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Nov 1 2007, 07:53 PM)
yeah. sweep an arpeggio, thats a stunt nod.gif
or you can do a guitar spin. if you're not too confident, do it at the end of the gig. quickly detach the cable before you do it icon_idea.gif

TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 08:23 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 1 2007, 08:20 PM)
yeah. sweep an arpeggio, thats a stunt  nod.gif
or you can do a guitar spin. if you're not too confident, do it at the end of the gig. quickly detach the cable before you do it icon_idea.gif
OMG,GGOOODD IIIDEEA NEVER THOUGHT OF THAT rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
nerd
post Nov 1 2007, 08:27 PM

3,373 posts

wait.. wireless guitar cable.. doesn't it sound very contradictory? lol
Rossie
post Nov 1 2007, 08:36 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 1 2007, 08:20 PM)
yeah. sweep an arpeggio, thats a stunt  nod.gif
Do it with a broom to be more impressive...

crazychris
post Nov 1 2007, 08:39 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

detach the cable wit the amp on
den u can listen to how a tube blows smile.gif
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 08:41 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Nov 1 2007, 08:39 PM)
detach the cable wit the amp on
den u can listen to how a tube blows smile.gif
LOL.................
MAybe quickly step on it just hear abit TUMP and quickly make the SPIN 'ROUND NECK STUNT And JUMP+SPIN STUNT
Everdying
post Nov 1 2007, 08:42 PM

30,735 posts

it'll be so obvious if you plug out the cable...
then everyone will just think...what a monkey tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Nov 1 2007, 08:52 PM

2,650 posts

well, as long as it makes TS look cool thumbup.gif
Everdying
post Nov 1 2007, 08:52 PM

30,735 posts

the only cool looking monkey around is mojo jojo.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 08:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 1 2007, 08:42 PM)
it'll be so obvious if you plug out the cable...
then everyone will just think...what a monkey tongue.gif
T.T cry.gif
man,why couldnt wireless system cost as cheap as a computer's wireless router........

Any video or any tips??

just last 2 week i on stage play the song avril lanvinge-girlfriend with some girls.
but i wasnt able to do any stunts because of the stupid cabelT.T
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Everdying
post Nov 1 2007, 08:59 PM

30,735 posts

go watch 'pick of destiny'.
learn the powerslide tongue.gif
nerd
post Nov 1 2007, 08:59 PM

3,373 posts

what stunts are you looking at? backflips?

TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 09:05 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 1 2007, 08:59 PM)
what stunts are you looking at? backflips?
LOL.if i achieve that while playing guitar then i might as well join linkin park rclxms.gif
Everdying
post Nov 1 2007, 09:07 PM

30,735 posts

linkin park can do backflips?
i thought they can only bendover and wait for zakk wylde to come in.
blacktrix
post Nov 1 2007, 09:09 PM

13,063 posts

Ok, This is going waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off topic already.

If you are decided about a wireless guitar system, then I'm going to close this thread and you can continue your discussion in the Guitar Phreaks Club thread.
TSsoraxroxas
post Nov 1 2007, 09:15 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 1 2007, 09:09 PM)
Ok, This is going waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off topic already.

If you are decided about a wireless guitar system, then I'm going to close this thread and you can continue your discussion in the Guitar Phreaks Club thread.
well,after reading all the post, i guess im not buying wireless due to too many reasons.

ANyway,thz for the support guys! rclxms.gif

-CLOSED-

0.0247sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:04 PM