Changing larger brake caliper, Non ABS car

TSAliBaBa_King
post May 7 2024, 09:44 AM, updated 2y ago

105 posts

Hi all, i planned on upgrading my brake caliper from single pot to twin pot. Do some research online and saw some people saying changing to larger caliper on non ABS will easily causes wheel lock if hard braking. Would like to hear everyone opinions or any owner upgraded their caliper on non ABS car. My car doesnt equipped with ABS biggrin.gif
scorgio
post May 7 2024, 09:47 AM

4,695 posts

Get a car with ABS.

Yang tarak ABS ni, means old & outdated. Not worth to spend on upgrades.
dwRK
post May 7 2024, 09:50 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 7 2024, 09:44 AM)
Hi all, i planned on upgrading my brake caliper from single pot to twin pot. Do some research online and saw some people saying changing to larger caliper on non ABS will easily causes wheel lock if hard braking. Would like to hear everyone opinions or any owner upgraded their caliper on non ABS car. My car doesnt equipped with ABS  biggrin.gif
don't waste money with calipers... go buy better tyres 1st... then maybe better brake pads...

TSAliBaBa_King
post May 7 2024, 09:51 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 7 2024, 09:47 AM)
Get a car with ABS.

I do agree car without ABS in modern day is outdated, but my car loan will be finish paying this September, doesnt want to make new commitment/ loan by getting another car as current car doesnt have any issue. Just want to upgrade the caliper to have faster stopping time.
blindmutedeaf
post May 7 2024, 09:57 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 7 2024, 09:51 AM)
I do agree car without ABS in modern day is outdated, but my car loan will be finish paying this September, doesnt want to make new commitment/ loan by getting another car as current car doesnt have any issue. Just want to upgrade the caliper to have faster stopping time.
Brake is to catch your tyre, and your tyre is the one catching the road to stop yea.

Means if your tyre stop spinning but your inertia keep dragging, you will hit into things as well - you need your tyres stop with your car not tyre stop but car still going. If stopping time is what you wanna achieve, have you tried UUHP tire?
TSAliBaBa_King
post May 7 2024, 09:57 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 7 2024, 09:50 AM)
don't waste money with calipers... go buy better tyres 1st... then maybe better brake pads...
I am using RE004 now with Bendix metal king brake pad, not sure if Bendix metal king is a good pad but at least with the tire and pad combination the braking performance is not bad. Just hope to have better stopping/ slow down time by upgrading to bigger caliper.
TSAliBaBa_King
post May 7 2024, 10:03 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 7 2024, 09:57 AM)
Brake is to catch your tyre, and your tyre is the one catching the road to stop yea.

Means if your tyre stop spinning but your inertia keep dragging, you will hit into things as well - you need your tyres stop with your car not tyre stop but car still going.  If stopping time is what you wanna achieve, have you tried UUHP tire?
Yup, using RE004 now, does help the braking time alot, so it is not recommended to install bigger caliper on non ABS car?
amscouzach57
post May 7 2024, 10:22 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 7 2024, 09:50 AM)
Plus DOT4 or DOT5.1 brake fluid
littlefire
post May 7 2024, 10:39 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 7 2024, 10:57 AM)
I am using RE004 now with Bendix metal king brake pad, not sure if Bendix metal king is a good pad but at least with the tire and pad combination the braking performance is not bad. Just hope to have better stopping/ slow down time by upgrading to bigger caliper.
Metal king is just mid range brake pads, you can still upgrade to Bendix Ultimate, Trestor Blue Advantage or go for those premium Japanese brake pads like Dixcel ES

FYI, bigger brake rotors/caliper will add weight, reduce pick-up & add on fuel consumption also , if you do a lot of start stop or city driving is better to keep original. Unless you plan to go track or do a lot of high speed braking than only got the advantage, if not is just waste money.
dwRK
post May 7 2024, 10:40 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 7 2024, 09:57 AM)
Depends how fast and how hard you brake... last time when I was younger brake until literally smoking one... lol

pads have certain optimal temperature... for normal driving once in a while emergency braking... metal king should be ok...

go test your car braking power first... find a good road, try braking until you lock up your tyre... do it in dry and wet... if cannot lock up then you can think about upgrading, but first check vacuum hose got leaking or not first...

blindmutedeaf
post May 7 2024, 10:43 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 7 2024, 10:03 AM)
Yup, using RE004 now, does help the braking time alot, so it is not recommended to install bigger caliper on non ABS car?
My exp tell me locking means your brake is way too power for your tires to take it.
But what is your purpose? Cause too overwhelm will cause people bang you from behind too
JON97
post May 7 2024, 11:34 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ May 7 2024, 10:39 AM)
Metal king is just mid range brake pads, you can still upgrade to Bendix Ultimate, Trestor Blue Advantage or go for those premium Japanese brake pads like Dixcel ES

FYI, bigger brake rotors/caliper will add weight, reduce pick-up & add on fuel consumption also , if you do a lot of start stop or city driving is better to keep original. Unless you plan to go track or do a lot of high speed braking than only got the advantage, if not is just waste money.
Metal king wont makan disk?
TSAliBaBa_King
post May 7 2024, 11:45 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ May 7 2024, 10:39 AM)

Thanks, will look into those performance brakepad.

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 7 2024, 10:43 AM)
My exp tell me locking means your brake is way too power for your tires to take it.
But what is your purpose? Cause too overwhelm will cause people bang you from behind too
Purpose are still for daily drive but better stopping time, cuz i encounter alot of modern car uses cruise control on highway's overtaking lane with moderate traffic that will brake randomly and occasionally brake heavily and causes unease braking experience for me even though i follow them with 3 seconds rules.

QUOTE(JON97 @ May 7 2024, 11:34 AM)
So far so good but alot of brake dust, have to rajin cuci rim biggrin.gif
littlefire
post May 7 2024, 02:26 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ May 7 2024, 12:34 PM)
I used metal king for my Subaru Xv from 80k until 200k rotor surface still same, this depends on how you drive & maintain as i am not that kind of person that like high speed emergency brake or do a lot of hard braking. Those makan disc 1, u can see their disc usually uneven surface maybe also due to sand or foreign objects stuck on the brake pads. If you want your disc to last long, buy those normal cheap ceramic pads or so call organic pads but dont expect braking performance better.
TSAliBaBa_King
post May 8 2024, 03:56 PM

105 posts

Decided to not upgrade caliper as bigger rotor and caliper are just for better heat tolerance instead of stopping power as suggested by all Sifu here, will rather invest in adjustable + maybe a semi slick tyre + performance brake pad. Thanks for all the suggestion guys. rclxms.gif
bo093
post May 8 2024, 07:39 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(AliBaBa_King @ May 8 2024, 03:56 PM)
Decided to not upgrade caliper as bigger rotor and caliper are just for better heat tolerance instead of stopping power as suggested by all Sifu here, will rather invest in adjustable + maybe a semi slick tyre + performance brake pad. Thanks for all the suggestion guys.  rclxms.gif
What car is it? Should mention it from start.
Maybe people can even suggest proven brands for the car. wink.gif
ktek
post May 9 2024, 09:16 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

metal king that y lousy stopping no confidence
ktek
post May 9 2024, 09:27 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

upgrade bigger size is more focus on fade preventing, precision action & front-back balance.

if brake weak while not fading. settle that first.
no point to mess with balance setup
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 04:20 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 7 2024, 09:47 AM)
Get a car with ABS.

This. It’s not the size that matters….

0.0199sec    1.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:41 AM