Is PS5 Cheap in Japan?

TSechoesian
post May 2 2024, 12:04 AM, updated 2y ago

3,294 posts

I am going to Hokkaido this coming year end, wondering if electronics/cameras and PS5 is cheap there? Does PS5 provide international warranty?
giorno9
post May 2 2024, 12:47 AM

44 posts

Nope.. it is quit standard... Hokkaido.. not sure if they got international version
khusyairi
post May 7 2024, 12:20 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(giorno9 @ May 2 2024, 12:47 AM)
Nope.. it is quit standard... Hokkaido.. not sure if they got international version
Cheaper in Japan la. That's why there is Japan version on sale in lazada/ shopee.
My friend also bought while vacation in Japan.
Boleh jimat around RM400.
snipersnake
post May 7 2024, 03:59 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

I have never been to Hokaido but try finding Yodobashi or obviously go to Akihabara.. if you are info classic, can get used things at Hardoff which are littered there... generally they are cheaper and to add to that, foreign visitors get tax exemptions on certain products.
tripleB
post May 9 2024, 12:27 PM

201 posts

It won't be cheaper necessarily, but you can get tax rebate for it. Back then the GST was 8%, now I think it's 10%. Ask the shop if they have duty-free. Sometimes if you ask for "tax rebate" they may not understand. You will need to have your passport with you when applying for tax rebate.

You can find electronics / cameras / gaming stuff in pretty much any of the big chain stores. There's Yamada Labi, Bic Camera, Yodobashi Camera, and some others that I can't remember. These three are my usual places when buying electronics or video games.
Hattori
post Aug 28 2024, 09:28 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

Sony to raise PlayStation 5 price by 20% in Japan

https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...-by-20-in-japan

TOKYO (Reuters) - Sony is raising the price of its PlayStation 5 (PS5) games console in Japan by about 20%, it said on Tuesday, citing a difficult external environment including global economic fluctations.

The console will cost 79,980 yen ($551) or 72,980 yen for a version without a disk drive from Sept. 2, the entertainment and technology conglomerate said in a blog post.

Sony has said it expects to sell 18 million PS5 consoles globally this financial year, down from 20.8 million in the same period a year earlier.
dennis008
post Aug 30 2024, 12:02 PM

545 posts

cheaper but you will have problem with warranty. i would not risk it to save few couple of hundreds

0.0151sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:13 AM