Solar providers, any recommendation?

Jason
post May 16 2024, 01:35 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Apr 26 2024, 11:23 AM)
Can share which solar provider you are using and which to avoid and the pricing you have gotten?

Any problem with roof leaking?

So far got quotation from gspark for 6.9kwp/5kwac for RM22899.
6.34kWp/5kWac
Trina panels, Huawei hybrid 3 phase inverter

Got it for RM19800 during promo. Should be installing next month. Just signed the NEM forms on Tuesday.
Jason
post May 16 2024, 01:22 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 16 2024, 12:51 PM)
got the model no for huawei?
Sun2000 5KTL-m1

Ppl will say battery expensive
Ppl will say need to use proprietary Huawei battery or only those approved by Huawei so it’s expensive

My answer is very simple
IF the price is the same or just very slightly more, for the same 5kWac of course I take the hybrid inverter

Why? I have the OPTION available to me to easily plug in a DC battery. Which incurs less setup cost versus your AC coupled battery. Not to mention less losses since it’s DC to DC battery.

Battery expensive is not relevant. I have the option to do it when it’s cheaper in the future. Even if AC battery is cheaper in the future you need to incur additional setup and commissioning cost for the AC coupled battery setup. So nett nett I will still come ahead with less hassle.
Jason
post May 20 2024, 05:21 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(rogeRRabit @ May 18 2024, 08:41 PM)
Planning to install solar panel too
Just wondering
As my new house require to install ACP awning, can just install solar panel as awning, as the ACP awning quoted rm50k for the whole semi-d house
logically possible. but why don't you ask the solar installers and share...

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 19 2024, 12:31 PM)
get a low frequency inverter if you have the options..
power mosfet burnouts is the archillis heel of most inverters here.. hf ones
how to know if its low freq or hi freq?
Jason
post May 30 2024, 02:03 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ May 24 2024, 11:43 AM)
That will be after 10years , by that time if want to off grid will be better to change new inverter
I don’t want to be off grid. I want to be on grid with battery so can use my own power after NEM expires.

Who changes inverter after 10 years lol. If it’s not faulty and nothing wrong why want to incur cost? 10 years time battery cost would have come down, and just buy a Huawei battery, plug and play and I am ready to rock.

My payback period for solar system is <5 years. After that savings for another 6 years would give me sufficient returns to buy the battery, just in time for NEM expiry.

There is absolutely no reason to buy a normal string inverter over a hybrid Huawei inverter if it costs the same. If the hybrid inverter is slightly more, just pay it. After all Huawei is one of the better China inverters out there.

Anyhow the only reason I pull the trigger now is because solar systems have dropped significantly in price. Plus the Solaris RM4k rebate lowers the total cost. And the company offers 0% credit card installment, which is bit more than my TNB bill. No brainer for me to pull the trigger.

After paid up it is “free” electricity.

QUOTE(nerdude @ May 29 2024, 01:35 AM)
mind to share the provider?
PM me your contact I’ll hook you up.

This post has been edited by Jason: May 30 2024, 02:04 AM
Jason
post Jun 3 2024, 12:59 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(slimguy @ May 31 2024, 11:26 AM)
Hi Sifu,

can help to see if this package good?

Alpha Solar HOME (NEM RAKYAT)
Standard  7.26 kWp (12 panels)
LONGI PV PANEL: 15 yrs
Product warranty / 30 Yrs Performance warranty
SAJ/Sofar/INVT STRING warranty: 10 Yrs
Solar PV mounting Structure: 10 Yrs Warranty
Workmanship Warranty(DLP): 3 Yrs
Insurance : 2 Yrs
Pv Cleaning : 2 Yr
Average Monthly Generation(Year1):8712 kWh
Average Monthly Bill Saving: RM 415

cash term :
🚩MYR 21,600( Discount Price )
Panel is okay. But I would avoid those inverters like the plague.

Good brands for inverter from China includes Goodwe, Solis, Sungrow and Huawei.
Jason
post Jun 3 2024, 03:12 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 3 2024, 11:51 AM)
Did you have bad experience with SAJ/Sofar/INVT?
Search, Australia forums and groups are a good resource.

Learn from other people’s mistake. Don’t need to have bad experience in everything lol. We have abundance of option in Malaysia and Solis & Goodwe + Huawei are solid choices.

In any case, that’s just my personal opinion that I would avoid it like the plague. I would avoid Peugeot cars too. But anyone can go ahead and buy with their money.
Jason
post Jun 4 2024, 04:58 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(slimguy @ Jun 4 2024, 11:24 AM)

found one with Solis Inverter and Canadian Panel, but Huawei Inverter need topup RM2K
That's a single phase inverter. Is your household supply single phase or 3 phase? If 3 phase, always best to choose 3 phase inverter.
I got 6.37kWp with Huawei 3 phase 5kW hybrid inverter for about the same price. Which is why I say for the same price & kWp, take the Huawei inverter.

Just checked..
NEM submission 17th May, approval 28th May. Not bad. Now waiting to queue for installation date.
Jason
post Jun 18 2024, 11:00 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jun 17 2024, 05:19 PM)
Hi guys,

I got another quotation from Alpha Solar as below:

System Size: 7.3 kWp
Energy Generation (Year 1) (kWh): 8,784
Average Monthly TNB Bill Saving: RM 419
Recommended for current TNB Bill Amount: RM 498
Savings and Financial Analysis
Solar promotion price: RM 19,750 (Cash/Credit Card)
Solar promotion price: RM 20,935 (EPP 36 months)
Solar promotion price: RM 21,429 (EPP 60 months)
Payback Period (Year): 3.1
Simple 10 Year Saving: RM 50,329
Simple 20 Year Saving: RM 100,658
Solar PV Panel
Solar PV Panel: Longi
Solar PV Model: LR7-72HGD 610M
Quantity: 12
Product Warranty: 15 years
Power Performance Warranty: 30 years
Inverter
Inverter: SAJ-Sofar-INVT
Model: R5-6K-S2-15
Quantity: 1
Warranty: 10 years

Change to Huawei Inverter add 3k

From what I have survey so far, the pricing seems to be the cheapest. Any comments here from the specs?
The panels are fine, I would however opt for a better inverter if it was my system. A GoodWe, Huawei or Solis. Also, my vendor don't charge me extra for EPP 36 months, so if comparing the system of the same size + Huawei 3 phase hybrid inverter and 36 months EPP... nope, your quotation is not the cheapest, just FYI.
Jason
post Jun 24 2024, 09:46 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Jun 23 2024, 08:42 PM)
Gotten another quota:

EPP price of RM 31,800
If comparing both, what is the diff btw Solar PV Panel? Longi vs Jinko Panel? Any advice?
Not sure if you noticed your own quotation. Despite both using the Huawei hybrid inverter, the VASOLAR one is 8kW and the earlier one is 10kW. Given the total system size the VASOLAR one is more optimised. Given the price difference and similar kWp output, VASOLAR is a no brainer IMO. At RM2994/kWp with EPP, very competitive pricing!

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 24 2024, 08:02 PM)
Just different brand. To me not so important. The first quotation you share don't have inverter brand and capacity... but assuming is similar capacity. So my opinion is just get the cheaper one will do.

lol what you talking. the inverter make all the difference. panels have matured so much and between major manufacturers performance numbers are very similar. inverters on the other hand lead a hard life and fail more so than panels.

And his first quotation stated SUN2000 which is the Huawei hybrid inverter.
Jason
post Jun 25 2024, 09:12 PM

6,354 posts

https://services.seda.gov.my/nem/quota/dashboard

NEM rakyat quota 30% left… we are only in half of the year.. Solaris working its magic. I’m chilling because NEM agreement signed and allocated for me.

You guys better hurry up if you want to install this year.
Jason
post Jun 26 2024, 09:59 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Jun 26 2024, 09:04 AM)
From what I can see, there is no upfront payment. That itself is a 'saving' compared to buying the whole system upfront. I understand that they charge according to how much their system managed to offset from the bill (I could be wrong on this as I didn't call them up to get the details). The real saving is after the contract period. They have a minimum contract period of 5 years which is reasonable owing to the systems nowadays can last for much longer. After the contract period, it's like getting the system for free.

In a gist, its like:-
1. no upfront payment
2. getting the system for free (after contract period)
3. worry free during contract period
4. going green helps the environment

Its all about reaping the benefits after the contract period. (this is the only downside which I can see). Any thoughts or comments?
Not worth it for a consumer. Many solar vendors out there offer EPP credit card payments at 0% (some with surcharge) upto 60 months which is 5 years. if you calculate the entire cost/sum paid, it is much more expensive for such rental/instalment plan. Because at the end of the day, somebody is financing the capex, and there is no free lunch in the world.

And depending on the vendor, the warranty period varies. In any case most all inverters and panels are warrantied for >5 years.
Jason
post Jun 30 2024, 12:08 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jun 28 2024, 12:58 PM)

Based on this, only take 3 years to break even.

TNB did a cut off, once NEM is successfully registered and for my May bill from 22 to 31st is only RM 0.90.
How much did your system cost per kWp? 3 years is amazing.
Jason
post Jul 2 2024, 10:48 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Jul 2 2024, 12:04 PM)
Pathgreen. Quite efficient and organised.

Was comparing alpha and them but chose them in the end even though alpha cheaper.
Alpha.. the sales person don’t even know what is “data sheet for panel & inverter”

Answer me her quotation is suitable for my tnb bill and ask me brochure?? I don’t want brochure, I want data sheet. Brochure got rubbish i don’t want to read.

Then say revise quotation and never come back. Very unprofessional.

For something I spend more than RM10k on. It is crazy to even consider Alpha. Like pasar malam.
Jason
post Jul 31 2024, 05:14 PM

6,354 posts

Today installer came to install the system at my house. Very professional, they are seasoned pros and know exactly what they are doing.

9am start work after some chit chat. 2pm all done.

Very happy with the installation of my inverter, decided to put it outside my porch with space right below it for batteries 10 years later.

Jason
post Jul 31 2024, 05:48 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jul 31 2024, 05:27 PM)
From which solar company? Good price?
ERS. PM me your name and contact I’ll get them call you, VIP treatment. They are very busy and swamped now as with all other installers.

Price is competitive but most important for me is that they install 3 phase inverter for my 3 phase power. Some installers will insist single phase inverter is fine (it is, just not optimized for you!).

Jason
post Aug 22 2024, 02:04 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 20 2024, 07:09 AM)
Hi sifus, was wondering if can comment on this.
Pathgreen.

N-Type Trina Solar 605W Bifacial Dual Glass Monocrystalline PV Modules (Tier 1 Solar PV panel; China) Smart Package 7.26kWp (12 pcs of Solar Panel 2 Solar PV inverter c/w monitoring system (FOC mobile apps) • Hoymiles Microinverter (China) • 3 units of Microinverter

Rm26000 before rm4k rebate.

Acceptable price , type of panel and inverter?
Micro inverter is not superior to string, each has pros and cons.

Unless you have shading issues, going with string inverter will be cheaper for same kWp. I would suggest you to get some quotes and compare.
Jason
post Aug 29 2024, 12:28 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Aug 27 2024, 01:05 PM)
Just got new quotation from pathgreen, since I'm still deciding what size solar.
9.68kwp rm30k
12.10kwp rm36k.
Microinverter hoymiles.

I asked about adding battery and getting a smaller capacity solar but was told if add battery will not be eligible for NEM.
If you want battery better off getting a hybrid inverter like Huawei, then add in smart meter and you can even be powered up when TNB grid is down.

Why micro inverter? No shading better go for hybrid string inverter, more bang for bucks.
Jason
post Sep 5 2024, 01:08 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGrove @ Sep 2 2024, 10:00 PM)
I have shortlisted a few:
1) Verdant Solar
2) Pathgreen
3) Solar Vest
4) RGS

So far, only got Verdant's quotation
- 6 panels 3.45KWh best price rm16k
- 12 panels 6.96KWh best price rm25.5k

I noticed Pathgreen uses micro inverter while the rest are string inverter?

Would like to hear from you guys if you are using any of these companies' solar solutions.. thanks
That’s very expensive. VERY.

1. RM4.6k per 1kWp — wtf
2. RM3663 per 1kWp

I did mine 6kWp system ~ RM3.2k per 1kWp. Smaller system than your 2. And cheaper. Trina Vertex S+ panels with Huawei hybrid inverter which costs a premium over normal string inverters. If you need help DM me I’ll hook you up. Now they super busy no time layan ppl asking for fun.

Quota left < 8% now. And is it cash price or credit card EPP?

And pls don’t just look at the kWp number. What panel, and especially what inverter is more important.

Inverter works very hard. Over 60C internal temperature, and it needs to do this everyday.

My 6.86 kWp with 5k inverter can hit 5.5kW on sunny days, but some days don’t. But I guess it’ll pull the average output up.
Jason
post Sep 5 2024, 09:44 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Sep 5 2024, 07:11 PM)
Yes to be exact RM14210 before Solaris.

Solaris supposed to be 2.7k but they wrongly submitted thats why I get 4k.
That's RM3552/kWp. They gave you a good inverter, Sungrow, single phase. If your house is 3 phase then.. not so great.

Cheap.. hmm, I won't say so, but your inverter is now underrated, you can add more panels inf future if your electricity usage increase or you change to an EV.
Jason
post Sep 6 2024, 02:59 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Sep 6 2024, 11:13 AM)
It's RM2552/kwp after solaris rebate.

The purpose it's I don't want to pay electricity bill so i wouldn't purposely use more just to breakeven faster.

EV will be an option when there's no more fuel subsidies.
Well, shouldn't take Solaris rebate into account when comparing cost between systems, because 4kWp system will always nett the highest savings/cheapest kWp price WITH Solaris rebate. So it's not a true apple to apple comparison.

Anyway they did give you a larger inverter, you are future proof upto 7.8kWp with oversize panels, more than enough for single phase house. Good job!

0.0342sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:01 AM