charge EV via - solar day...night EV as genset?
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:06 AM, updated 2y ago

My friend charge his ev car during day time...enegy from solar/tnb....night time he is using his ev car as a genset.
I also have alot of balance......at this moment mine I sold it to my neighbour as he has just bought an ev car.....
I am considering using my EV as genset copy what my friend did.
Anyone done this? EV like a power bank?
This post has been edited by adam71: Apr 25 2024, 09:07 AM
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 25 2024, 09:16 AM) Continuously charging and discharging the car isn't going to be giving a long shelf life to the battery. So to try to save on electricity bills you go and degrade the one thing that will cost a brand new myvi But it is 8 years warranty......and at year 6 i plan to dispose off
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Apr 25 2024, 09:17 AM) Good idea, just dun cry mader fader why you change battery faster than other EV car users. EV car usually have 8 years battery waranty....and can extend 2 more years by paying Rm4K extra. Total 10 years.
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:24 AM

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Apr 25 2024, 09:14 AM) Unless your car can provide three phase electricity... No way. But it is possible when they are lots of used EV that is retired, possible to hack and engineer it to work. Plus need to address. 1. Full time on/off grid? 2. Nem, off? Meaning self only. 3. Single or three phase. Basically need a full gen/full battery backup sat to be honest, if you are fully off grid. Because solar will have lots of dips and surge in production. You should go check how byd car charge at ah kow ah mou b40 house .....
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 25 2024, 09:22 AM) Evs are meant to save you money but you end up spending more than petrol that you pump over the years. I don't get you ev drivers I always like to change car ...my style.....boring to drive same car over and over.....you have no life if drive a dynasour
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Apr 25 2024, 09:25 AM) If you think you are smarter than EV manufacturers tat they wont know what you are doing then go ahead. Hope u read the warranty T&C first..... I read the T&C....the car can be use as genset/power bank....they even provided 3 pin plug outlet & cable for it.
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 25 2024, 09:27 AM) Why you want to strain your expensive battery mileage? I believe buying batteries and properly setting up for energy storage will still be a cheaper choice than a full fledged EV now BYD battery only cost RM24K replacement......is that expensive?...maybe 2027 drop to RM15K This post has been edited by adam71: Apr 25 2024, 09:28 AM
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 25 2024, 09:28 AM) Occasional use while you’re outside or camping are reasonable lah. But using it everyday? You’re just putting additional strains to your car battery for no reason. They are BYD EV users.....selling Loklok at road side in China.....doing that every day
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Apr 25 2024, 09:29 AM) The same amount of money can buy you deep cycle solar battery to power whole row of house in you taman  You are being stupid....maybe years 2027 we have engineer ....solving problem of storing solar electricity day time .in EV......and sell it back to grip during night time...people like you do deserve to remain poor......low IQ This post has been edited by adam71: Apr 25 2024, 09:33 AM
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(msacras @ Apr 25 2024, 09:33 AM) BYD is cheap in Tongsan, they pretty much expect to pakai buang it when battery degrades too much. Also if you’re doing business, so long as your revenues > the losses/costs, it’s justifiable. Meanwhile you’re getting it for home use, how to justify the huge losses? I am doing it bcs I dislike how my TNB energy balance got burn annually.....
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 25 2024, 09:37 AM) Hahaha... My kereta 10 tabun dah coming to 11 years Kesian.jpg
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 09:44 AM

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Apr 25 2024, 09:40 AM) Depends lar. LFP battery average shelf life around 3000-3500 full cycles. If single cycle = 400km. 400 X 3000 = 1,200,000 kilometer max shelf life before it started giving problems and needed to change new ones. EV Wuling cheap car in China already 4 years battery still very good at ...85% healthy...you can go Douyin Wuling EV car group
TSadam71
Apr 25 2024, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Apr 25 2024, 10:26 AM) what happen after 10 years, are u going to keep it or dispose it? wonder how many people will buy a car with near expired battery warranty and will cost them a national car to replace. byd battery replacement now 20K.....future maybe 10K++