Country Heights Grower Scheme (CHGS), anyone heard before?

neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 12:34 PM

36 posts

hi guys, sorry to interrupt in like this.
i was searchin for tech stuff online, and i suddenly bumped in this topic.
which i am actually one of the company consultant, and been sellin this grower scheme for many mths now.
anyways i would like to lend a hand in answering most of your doubts.

juz a intro to u all.
name is Andrew. Im based at The Mines Business Park 10th floor, Balakong, under Mines Marketing Sdn Bhd.

i'll try to answer most of your questions.
Juz a simple refurbish to ya all, we at CHGS believe this is something very new in the market, which has unseen potential on the long run. This program basically benefits both parties, you and the company, and a chance to own a land for 23yrs without having to manage it. i would say its wise to diversify some in here, and still go on with the other kinds of investment out there, nv put everything in one basket.

i'll stop here, and i'll be glad to assists any questions u hav.

happy 2008!!
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 06:15 PM

36 posts

hi guys...din expect to see quick reply.
yeah i read through thread, and i notice most of the concern is about the exit plan.

basically i believe most of ya read the agreement and prospectus which can be freely downloaded from our website in pdf format

www.chgs.com.my

there is no clause that d company will buy back, but has the first option to buy back, if you choose to do a transfer in the future. And also in the agreement the company is not forced to buy back....which makes things quite complicated sometime. Lawyer's fault...like to put in bombastic words which hard to understand.

a few options to make it easy to understand

1) the company will buy back from you, if you choose to release at par value / purchase price.

2) u hav to hold a minimum of 12mths upon ur investment date before u can do any transaction.

3) investors are free to use the company website to publish their lots for sale (Free Of Charge), that space is still under construction.

4) any transaction / transfer hav to go through the company, which in another point of view, has control over every transaction, to prevent abuses and to protect genuine investors.

mmmm doesn't seem to miss out any i guess.... feel free to ask me more.

launching price was RM5000 for one plot or 1/4 acre
now its sellin at RM5500 for one plot or 1/4 acre
the price will appreciate to RM6000 a plot in the mid of FEB

those who invested earlier, meaning last year will get their first dividen this 22nd January 2008 Friday. And a gala dinner will be held at Palace Of The Golden Horses on the same day. The board of directors will be there, and all of the consultants will be there too.

we hav weekly events on sat and sun .... a talk bout our scheme.
feel free to contact me if you were to sit for the talk, its free but limited seats.
3pm sat and sun, palace of the golden horses.
u can drop a msg here or call me at this number

016-3170935 - Andrew

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 7 2008, 05:55 PM)
Agreed. What is the exit plan, if any? Any discount if buy more lots? 8% per annum is based on what, the price of purchase ie RM5k/RM5.5k/RM6k?
eer no discounts, even we consultant who invested also no discounts....
ur 8% us based on the lot u purchase....for example

RM5500 x 8% = RM440

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(F1meteor @ Jan 7 2008, 01:53 PM)
@neocappuccino

is there any 0% interest installment plan?
currently we hav a few campaign for credit cards

past campaign are

maybank platinum card holders enjoy 0% installment plan for a year

citibank platinum card holders enjoy 2days 1 night stay at palace of the golden horses for 2plots, or 2days one night stay at palace of the golden horses and a body screening checkup at palace too for 4 plots.

UOB platinum card holders enjoy 0% installment plan for a year.

these are the ones we hav right now.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 06:24 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 06:36 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Jan 7 2008, 03:59 PM)
Andrew,

What % already taken up?

Please feedback to yr management. Many people here main concern is ability to resell the plot easily. If your company can afford this feature, then the product can be sold quite easily.... Maybe CHGS can buyback at a discount??

mmm bro, this is a long term low risk investment plan.
we are hoping everyone will look this as an alternative to the bank's FD.
because on the long run, the yield is better and stable, because of the rising demand of oil palm.

normally we all concern bout the exit part of it. but on the 4th year and above, if you are getting 12% return and mayb more, would u want to sell? most ppl wont think of doing that. because u cant find a real good stable return out there.

so wat i always tell my customer is, if u really want to sell, pls look for me. i'll find buyers for you. but if u would release at the cost price, everyone would want to buy from u, because of the better returns after the 4th year.

if you think bout this ... you know wat u will do after tat. but arent most of us always think that, what if rite?
if you calculate on the 4th year, you already earn 8% for 3 yrs which makes to 24% in total.
if you want to sell, u can sell per certificate, because each plot holds one certificate.
so 4 plots will hav 4 certificate.

u can sell piece by piece which is not hard to sell, even i might consider taking ur plot in future.
if we can wait till maturity date, meaning after 23 yrs. u dun hav to find buyer, the trustee and management will do it for you.
and you get ur capital + capital appreciation.

i hope i answer ur question, feel free to ask any....dun worry its my duty anyway.

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(Justmua @ Jan 7 2008, 06:29 PM)
Are u saying existing investors are invited for the gala dinner on 22nd Jan and to receive the first dividend cheque??
yeah, investors are invited...but its limited seats, the place only can hold up to 1000 ppl
board of directors will b there, with performances and stuff
its objective is to let the investors meet one another.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 06:40 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 06:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 7 2008, 06:25 PM)
Please do take note that if the agreement didn't stated those options, it makes the following options 3) and 4) valid when things comes dirty.
Company will not liable for any consequences other than that stated in the contract. That is why the information contained in the agreement is very important. Unless you can point to us which phrase in the agreement stated those information, else it'd be consider a riskier investment than REIT.
in the agreement, page 9
clause 8.2 Notwithstanding clause 6.4 above, in the event the Grower intends to sell/assign/transfer a Gower plot, such grower must first obtain the written consent from the management company who reserve the right to refusal in the respect of such sale/assignment/transfer

this clause state that the company wants to protect the market, management has a control, and to also protect genuine investors.

if you were to release at a terrible price, or spoil the market, company can act quickly to prevent tat from happening.

the website space its not in the agreement, but u can ask every consultant we are told from tan sri himself and the marketing company itself, that investors can later put their plot on website and its FOC.
all interested buyers will put their attention there.
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 06:55 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 7 2008, 06:42 PM)
1st, you didn't answer my question. Can you pin point to us which phrase in the contract stated that the management will buy back at par/ search for buyer on behalf of the investor?

2nd.When we do investment, we consider liquidity. This is a very important element. Not just profit.

3rd. Please do take note that every investment there's a risk carried, the return you calculated is based on CPO prices unfortunately, so, anything to do with CPO has direct effect on your return. smile.gif

Im not pouring cold water, just something every investor themself should take note.
dun worry bro, i meet this kind of thing every single day.
im used to it. yeah i understand.
the risk is yeah, at the CPO price. but past few mths when im sellin this, everyone is concern bout the CPO price will drop. but nowdays, tat not the matter anymore. because CPO price can achieve 4000, currently its around 3000++.
i hav even some directors tellin me it can achieve 5000, which in my personal opinion is quite hard.

my opinion is this, CPO will come down at a stable value, around 2400 - 2600 by the year 2009
its only logical it will be there, cause inflation is not good for anything.
as long the CPO is 2100, investors get a return of 12%. the return of the land is another return u havent add up.

overall u can expect around 13% on the 4th year.
around 15% on the 8th year
and 17% on the 10th year above cause the trees are mature.
after tat its all the way to 23rd year...

neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 07:00 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 7 2008, 06:52 PM)
Nope. This clauses just stated that the investor need to get management approval before proceed the transfer/selling. What i'm concern is
(update)
pls check this clause
6.4 page 8
The management company shall not be obliged or required under any circumstances whatsoever to repurchase any Grower's Plot from any Grower during the Term of the Scheme.

what i understand from the lawyer, after he explained to us.
No guarentee buyback, grower able to write in to request company buyback.

i hope tat helps

tats wat the lawyer says when we had a meeting with him many months back. im not tellin u somethin without consulting with the lawyers. cuz he is the one who wrote these clauses.

if you would want to get in great detail, i can help to arrange a appointment with the lawyer. cuz we done it many times nod.gif

or you can all come to the investment seminar at palace of the golden horses, every weekend 3pm.
its a short presentation and get a better understanding of the whole scheme.

juz contact or sms me, and i'll try to arrange a seat for u. nothing to be shy, no obligations to invest if you dun feel comfortable.

016-3170935
Andrew

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 07:07 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 07:24 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 7 2008, 07:10 PM)
I understand what you trying to tell us. You're trying every way and means to convinced us what you've been told by the lawyer. But one point i would like to make you understand is, whatever stated in contract has legal effect, whatever not stated in the contract is not binding. This will void what you've said just now. Except point 3 and 4. In this real world, we trust no body but contract.

The effect of it: Investor have liquidity problems when they intend to cash out for emergency use. This is unpredictable. Or when the return generated is not good enough. Or when the management having trouble to deliver what promised. There's more risk associated than you can imagine off.

Making an investment is a very crucial decision. That's why we need detailed information for decision making.
point taken...
i know agreement means everything strongly agree nod.gif . but im sharing wat i know bout it with you guys wat i hav learned when im with this investment product, and bcuz im being updated every single day. im from marketing side, so there are options which is being approved by management company which i mention to you.
i think to help further strengthen this, if u need written black and white state u can sell on our web, in the form of a official letter signed by our GM and me as the witness, i would be more than happy to do it for u.

mmmm bout the return part, u get ur return based on CPO regardless of the land condition. the management company hav to cough out the dividen back to investors. if management failed to deliver promise, trustee steps in, appoint new management company.

the trustee is holding the master land title of the land, and all invested money goes to the trust account. Trustee is BHLB.

company stake is 50% of the 10,000 acre land.
company don't produce, they rugi 50% which they wont want and dirty their name.
program is approved by SSM (suruhanjaya syarikat malaysia)

rolleyes.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 7 2008, 06:47 PM)
By the way, neocappuccino, thank you for taking the time to answer our questions. However, please be prepared for real questions and skepticism too. How can we get more information and eventually sign up? Where do we need to go, who do we need to meet? That gala that you spoke about, is it open to potential investors like us? How do we get invited?
you can contact me if are interested to know more, i'll make an appt with you. i can help u to sign up.
u can contact me through this number
Andrew - 016 317 0935

the gala is for every investors who invested wif us. to get invited u need to first invest with us tongue.gif
sry for tat expression.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 07:37 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 07:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 7 2008, 07:39 PM)
That's what im trying to tell. Sometimes it's very bias to get information from the marketing department. Because what they need is to market the product. Investor would be more assured if the management company can provide everything black and white to assured the investor that buyback option is available. But unfortunately, it seems like it's not the case. Management stated very clearly that they do not guaranteed a buyback. Which in return makes the investment not liquid. This is what every investor should know prior to invest. I've cleared off my part. Thanks for your reply.
welcome. well i think im being very transparent for most of the part tongue.gif , but if you could take tat risk, its a great investment overall. but out there, there is no guarentee buy back scheme, liquidity is always an issue in every investment. normal la....

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 07:54 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 7 2008, 10:41 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 7 2008, 09:40 PM)
Not really, other investments, we can exit even though at a loss, in case of emergency. This is the problem. In this case, company already stated clearly not obliged to buy back under any circumstances whatsoever, even at par value or even less.

Out of 5000 acres (since company take 50%), how many percent is taken up?
we only hav 30% left to sell. appx 600 plots left.
i hav alot of solutions for ya guys, but its not in the agreement so u all wont trust me or anything.
we dun need u to release at a loss, but juz at par value, im able to put ur plot for sale.
cool2.gif

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 7 2008, 10:44 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 8 2008, 01:08 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 PM)
There's no free lunch here...I think v shd just be realistic and understand the risk and reward given. I think it has already been made known.....yield is attractive but liquidity might be a problem....

those who has not much savings/emergency cash shd avoid this kind of investment....as for those who has lots of x-tra cash...can try to invest a small sum on this.....just my 2cents....
yeah i agree with that. they say you hav to give and take, its a win win situation here. but i don't know whether it applies in investment....juz my 2 cents keke.

diversify some into it, or extra money is a wise move. i hav nothing to hide which i hav reveal to all and every reader knows the pros n cons of this investment.

Added on January 8, 2008, 1:11 am
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Jan 7 2008, 11:52 PM)
I have invested in this scheme couple months ago and i have a question to ask Neo (Andrew). The brochure stated that if the CPO is above RM2100, we are entitled to 12% dividen. Would the management pays extra dividen if the CPO price hits all time high like RM6000?
thx for investing with us. we really appreciate your support. and i hope to see you in the gala dinner at palace of the golden horses this 22nd of this mth. i'll be keeping in touch you and i hope to shake your hand at the ballroom.
tongue.gif

well if the CPO price hits a high time RM6000, you will still get a stable 12%.

the extra dividen is from the yield of the land. which is from 1% - 5% extra.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 8 2008, 01:12 AM
neocappuccino
post Jan 8 2008, 01:31 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 8 2008, 01:21 AM)
So whether the CPO is RM2100 or RM6000, dividend is still 12%?
And yield of the land at 1%-5% is dependant on what?
depending on our payout table.
if the yield of the land for tat year is

20-24 metric tonne, additional 1%
25-29 metric tonne, additional 3%
30 above metric tonne, additional 5%

so lets say if the CPO is above 2100, and yield for the land is for tat year is 26 metric tonne.
so your dividen back would be 12% from CPO, plus 3% from yield of the land.
so total u would get back is 12% + 3% = 15%
so

RM5500(one plot) x 15% = RM825

this is a rough calculation, which will happen in the future. nod.gif nod.gif

neocappuccino
post Jan 8 2008, 08:54 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Jan 8 2008, 08:18 AM)
Aiya, just realized that 22nd is a Tuesday. Why can't they have it on a Sat or Sun so more investors can attend??

BTW, when are they sending the invite? Can a person pick up cq on spouse's behalf?
aiks aiks....correction my bad.....
its on the 22nd of February 2008 Friday
i'll get more info on the gala dinner asap.

neocappuccino
post Jan 8 2008, 06:19 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(myusername @ Jan 8 2008, 05:13 PM)
Good question. I also want to know?
updates on the gala dinner night at palace of the golden horses.
all investors who invested can participate in the event, RM100 per seat. Limited seats to cater for around 800 investors. can pm me if any investors wants to attend.

if the cpo reaches 6000, the rest of the profits goes to the management company.
the bonus that investors get are from the yield of the land from 1-5 %

Added on January 8, 2008, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 8 2008, 04:19 PM)
Neocappuccino,

Thanks your input so far, the conclusion we get is that we previously no doubt about its yield/return attractiveness, but we are highly concern on liquidation part as most investment public made, it can exist even when market condition is bad (the only difference is making a loss), including properties (just not so fast).

But the CHGS has not clause on the agreement means public can't liquidate even after 23 years (so far what I can get they have the first option to buy back afer 23 years, but doesn't mean it is a must, right? (sorry, the post is bit long to read throughout again, if I read it wrong on that, mind to correct me if I am wrong on this part).

Sometimes, investment part is unpredictable so does individual issue, the most concern for public whom have limited fund is that what if I need to liquidate the investment in CHGS for emergency usage? So far unless third party willing to take up, public can't liduidate at all. This is also part of the risk in it. Also, I don't think banks would accept this kind of 'certificate' as collateral that in order to take up bank loan if really needed for energency usage.

Not to pour 'cold water', instead as said yield return is attractive enough, just public need to understand the clause of agreement in this kind of investment and as a responsible sales person, one needs to properly explain this issue also, can't just put yield and return is attractive then should forget about others thing else.

Just my 2 cents.
CHGS doesn't guarentee a buy back, true. But u are able to sell it on the open market at appreciated price. Like properties the investment will hav its value overtime. There is no guarentee buy back for properties too if im not mistaken. Treat it like a land investment and it will all make sense. Basically you are investing at a plot of real land located at Gua Musang Kelantan.

About the agreement part, i really cant do much which i cant juz change anything but to help u a better understand about CHGS.
First option to buy back b4 maturity date. During maturity date, an independent valuator will be elected by the trustee, and put later put the land for sale. After its sold, the money will be equally divided back to the investors.
Pls check the agreement its on page 12 clause 11.

So far what i hav told my customers are, if they really in need to sell their plots, i will volunteer to help them sell their plot of land at the value they want. Country Heights has a huge base of customer, so its not impossible to sell a few plots of land.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Jan 8 2008, 06:40 PM
neocappuccino
post Jan 8 2008, 10:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 8 2008, 09:38 PM)
So after maturity, they'll put the land for sale? What if the land sold at lower than market value? Or no buyer willing to buy off the land? After sold, the money will be distributed back to investor? It seems to be not bad afterall, other than the liquidity part.
if you can keep for 23 yrs, its the best deal in town available. Management hav to sell the land in order to honour the agreement. They evaluate the land b4 6mths of the maturity date. Trustee will make sure everything is taking place here. Such example are trustee will actually held a small seminar inviting investors to attend and discuss the matter at hand.
The land value may be lower than purchased price, its possible. But when u think about a land that's generating income for the past 23 yrs, its very unlikely to happen.

After sold the money will be evenly distributed back to investor.
That's where u get back your capital + capital appreciation.
It makes sense, u invest on a piece of land, being managed by company, and enjoy the yield of the land.
Seriously in case of emergency, u need money and need to sell off some plots, dun hesitate to contact the company, or me, we will help to assists u in any manner possible.

not here to touch and go leh, i dun wan to spoil my reputation, nor the company is ready to damage its name.
nod.gif

neocappuccino
post Jan 9 2008, 12:10 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 8 2008, 11:45 PM)
Ok, last question.
May i knw how much is the market price of 1 acre land at Gua Musang Kelantan?
im not sure of the exact amount here.
but its definitely lower than market price outside there.
to compare, an acre land would cost around RM28,000 in area like johor. Some may reach RM32,000 but the location in other states of malaysia which im not sure.
CHGS, is by far the cheapest or comparable price on sale in the market price, RM22,000 an acre.and being managed for you.

im comparing a fully cultivated and planted with trees land for sale. not some empty reserved jungle land.
u can get raw land at very cheap price around RM7000 an acre, some even lower, but not cultivated / planted.

but pls correct me if im wrong, i dun wan giv wrong info here. thx thx
neocappuccino
post Jan 9 2008, 09:30 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 9 2008, 12:16 AM)
I'm not really sure about the market price. But I see land in Gua Musang isn't very attractive. And i thought the land at Gua Musang isn't fully planted yet? How to compare it with a fully cultivated and planted trees land prices while it's just a piece of empty land at this moment?
the land isn't being fully planted. its going phase by phase. so far more than half of the 10,000 acre is being planted.
the land now is still fairly cheap. After a few years the land price will appreciate.
Not every piece of land is suitable for oil palm plantation, and this piece of land is suitable for oil palm.

At the maturity of this scheme, im sure the price will appreciate much higher than the purchased priced, 23 yrs is a long time and allows things to progress steadily. Finding a buyer wont be a problem, because countries suitable for oil palm is only malaysia, thailand and indonesia. whereby malaysia and indo is mostly producing it.

Malaysia produces the best oil palm so far, and oil palm is a consumable product to the world population. Oil palm is not expensive, doesn't cause transfatty acid, doesn't require hydrogenation process to extend its shell life. Its naturally very safe to use. Unless another alternative is being discovered, oil palm remain as the best solution up to date and in the near future.

so, sellin the land in the near future, or the land being appreciate wont be a big issue, many big corporations out there would snap it
neocappuccino
post Jan 9 2008, 08:12 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Red Dragon @ Jan 9 2008, 07:55 PM)
Is the 8% return nett of all expenses, and how often is it paid. The last time my friend invested in such a scheme, the returns were only paid some years later after he gave up some of the returns as discount. That was a different developer, And I still see some signage at a building near the palace of the golden horses that assures 7% solid returns for the first three years, which has been lying uncompleted for the last couple of years. Wonder what happened to the investors.
its a fixed 8%. no management fees charged during the first 3 yrs.
4th yr onwards, 0.1% will be charged for the management fees.

example: RM5500 x 0.1% = RM5.50

its paid every year february, and no other deductions tat i known of.
im not sure of the building there, but some projects is going on im juz not sure wat are they.
neocappuccino
post Jan 16 2008, 11:50 PM

36 posts

anyways its your choice guys, i hav discussed with all of ya the pros and cons of it.
its still consider a safe investment on the long term basis. but its totally not suitable for any short term investment.
on the long run basis, you enjoy the high projected return annually.
otherwise, its better to invest in other short term funds.

but investors out there, its another kind of investment that you can include in your portfolio.
diversify your investment. =)

pm me if there is any need to meet up anyone of u.
thx
Andrew
neocappuccino
post Feb 9 2008, 11:21 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Jan 29 2008, 09:32 PM)
Aiya Andrew,

This so called gala dinner is not free one!! RM100 /person. Most disappointing that CHGS is not treating its pioneer investors.... Would be interesting to see how many willing to swap the half the dividend for the dinner!

Betul-betul anti-climax!
lol....bros' part of the RM100 per head dinner, will go to charity. Its consider quite ok la for this kind of scale,

9 course dinner
world class acrobatic show from china
entertainment from aflin shauki (he is the malay guy acted in phua chu kuang, entertaining guy)

its gonna be huge, and im pretty sure it will be in the papers, so we all wont be disappointed.

We consultants are paying that RM100 too tongue.gif
The dinner easily costs above RM200 ++, so i guess its still ok by today's standard.

Anyways hope to see u there.

Oh yea, happy cny to all out there, and those who read this post.
May the year of rat brings you good luck and fortune.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Feb 9 2008, 11:22 AM
neocappuccino
post Feb 19 2008, 11:30 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(mkhor7 @ Feb 15 2008, 06:31 PM)
Out of the RM5.5k paid as Grower's Fee per plot, 29% are kept by the Trustee to pay us 8% for three years and balance 5% to remain as Reserve which will only be released to the MC upon termination/maturity of CHGS.  (I guess the 5% goes to pays all the Trustee's costs and other costs like final valuation.)  Deducting some other costs for launching, marketing and commissions, I think MC will receive nett about RM100 million.

MC accounts as at Feb-2007 showed they have already put in around RM20 million including land development costs of over RM15 million.  The RM100 million from CHGS will be used to buy more seedlings, planting and fertilizers costs, labours , maintenance, re-planting, etc...  Hence a fully operating plantation with productive trees would fetch good value even after 20 years.  This Gua Musang land lease would likely remain as plantation land for its whole leasehold term.
"100% Failproof" : I should have added that the project on paper looks very good and very viable.  This is because the returns is FULLY based on world CPO prices and not on MC plantation business operation.  Hence, there is only a very remote risk of downside.  Oil palm products future is unlikely to be shaken unless cheaper substitute can be found.  I estimated returns to be very likely between 6% to 13% for the whole of 23 years term of the CHGS. 
"Growers" are largely removed from other risks such as on the plantation trees which could come from land disaster, disease, flood, drought or other acts of nature/God.  MC has stated that some of these perils are insured for, and only 28000 out of 40000 plots are "sold" to "Growers" to enable MC to earn sufficient profits to pay the "Growers" annual interests which is FULLY based on CPO prices.

Good medium/long term investment :  This CHGS is definitely not liquid like unit trust or shares, but is almost similar to buying a piece of landed property.  When we want to sell, we have to depend on whether there are ready buyers.  If only a few are selling at any moment, my guess is that MC can help us to get a buyer.  Hence for small folks who want to "own" some plantation property and getting steady annual returns, this CHGS is highly recommended.  But for those punters who want returns of over 12%, this CHGS will likely disappoint them.

Why 23 years?  I guess MC by then has enough accumulated profits and cashflow resources to continue on their own and to compulsory buyback from "Growers".  I hope the valuer appointed at that time will not "discount" too much from the open market value but to give the "Growers" some capital appreciation.
To Mr. Andrew :
Can you confirm whether we will get FULL 8% returns during the 3 years we join this CHGS regardless of the date of joining.  eg. if we pay next month March-2008, we will still get in FULL the 8% for ALL of the 3 years after then on Feb-2009, Feb-2010 and Feb-2011.

thanks + regards
michael
DearMichael,

"Can you confirm whether we will get FULL 8% returns during the 3 years we join this CHGS regardless of the date of joining. eg. if we pay next month March-2008, we will still get in FULL the 8% for ALL of the 3 years after then on Feb-2009, Feb-2010 and Feb-2011."

Yes its in the agreement that you will get a full nett 8% returns for the first 3 years of the scheme.
But its based on the date you join.
For example this year, its 2008. So the 1st year 8% is over.
Those you join next month March 2008, will only enjoy 2yrs of fixed nett 8%. And even this year itself, it will be pro-rated according to the month.

For those of you who are reading the agreement, its on the page 20.

It reads as,

Part 1
Planting Phase.
During the planting phase, which is the period between the Planting Date and expiring at the third anniversary of the Planting Date, the Nett Yield shall be eight percent (8%) of the Grower's Fee.

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

Added on February 19, 2008, 11:49 am
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 18 2008, 03:19 PM)
I did a simple excel calculation. Assume 5.5k in FD @3% (very conservative, instead of investing in others with higher returns). Annually compounded.

Yr Int. Cumm.
1 165.00 5,665.00
2 169.95 5,834.95
3 175.05 6,010.00
4 180.30 6,190.30
5 185.71 6,376.01
6 191.28 6,567.29
7 197.02 6,764.31
8 202.93 6,967.24
9 209.02 7,176.25
10 215.29 7,391.54
11 221.75 7,613.29
12 228.40 7,841.68
13 235.25 8,076.94
14 242.31 8,319.24
15 249.58 8,568.82
16 257.06 8,825.89
17 264.78 9,090.66
18 272.72 9,363.38
19 280.90 9,644.28
20 289.33 9,933.61
21 298.01 10,231.62
22 306.95 10,538.57
23 316.16 10,854.73

On CHGS, assume average out 8% flat ROI p.a.
= (5500 x 8%) = 440

440 x 23 yrs = 10,120
Assume worst case scenario, we lost the initial 5.5k investment / land, which is what most of our concerns are:
1) Cannot sell as no buyer
2) MC not going to redevelop/replant after 23 yrs
3) Lease expired

My opinion: The returns are a little bit lower.

However, if we can sell the land >1k, then it is worth it ? 23 yrs locked in with minimal liquidity compared to FD ? Land appreciation/depreciation ?

Note: CHGS 10% ROI p.a. = 11,500 excluding 5.5k initial investment

my 2 cents.
I would like to correct your calculations.
using the same calculating method of yours.

On Bank FD assume average is 3%
5500 x 3% = 165
165 x 23yrs = RM 3795.00

On CHGS, assume average out 8% flat ROI p.a.
(5500 x 8%) = 440
5500 x 23yrs = RM 10120.00

That would make a diff of

Rm 10120 - Rm 3795 = Rm 6325 diff

On the 23rd yr itself, an independent evaluator will price the land, and the TRUSTEE, Management will look for a buyer to purchase the land, or to replant the whole 10,000 acre of land. Either way, investors will get back their capital and their capital appreciation at the maturity period.
Because the money of the sold land will be equally divided back to the investors.

The active role of Mines Marketing Sdn Bhd, other than to help market this scheme, is to also help create a healthy secondary market which involves trading between the holders of this scheme.
So the liquidity issue is also being minimized.

For those MBB card holders, you enjoy a 12months 0% installment plan or a 2 days 1 night stay at palace of the golden horses.

for further assistants, kindly drop a PM or ring me at this no

ANDREW
016-317 0935

Im based at Mines Marketing Sdn Bhd Balakong, 10th floor. But im always out for appointments, so i appreciate it if any of you would drop me a call, or leave a pm and i'll get back to u asap.

Added on February 19, 2008, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(mkhor7 @ Feb 14 2008, 09:53 PM)
I've just come to know of this CHGS from a Maybank mailer, guess i did not notice any of CHGS earlier marketing efforts.

As i'm very interested to know more before putting in my money, much online research was done.  My conclusions are :

1.  CHGS is to fund the Management Company(MC) in their project of a 10,000 acre oil palm plantation.  For each plot of RM5.5k fee, 29% is set aside to give us the initial returns of 8%x3yrs and 5% kept as Reserve funds with the Trustee.  MC gets to use about RM3.5k after marketing costs.  If all 28000 plots are sold, MC will have about RM 100 million funds to develop this 10,000 acre project.

2.  We lenders are given a nice name as "Growers".  For each Grower Fee of RM5.5k we will get a "Grower's Certificate" which is only redeemable after 23 years!  Our earning yields from the 4th year onwards will depend largely on Average Annual CPO Price each year which top at 12% regardless when world price goes much higher than RM2.1k where MC keeps all the rest for it's shareholders.

3.  Lenders main risk is when CPO price falls below RM1K which is very remote.  My lowest expectation is RM1.2k seen 5 years ago against today level of RM3k.  MC easily is getting a cheaper source of funds from "Growers" when CPO prices are below RM1.5k as MC only pays 6% or less to "Growers" when compared with loans from banks.
However, when CPO prices go above RM1.5k, "Growers" share in the extra profit is about one-third.  The maximum "Growers" can get is 12% on the Fee paid.  MC gets to keep all the rest!  Hence, MC can also afford to insured the trees too.

4.  We can only hope for the "bonus" of extra 1% to 5% since only top performers get harvest output of over 20MTonne/Hectare and today in Kelantan it is below this figure. (Business Times Online)

5.  Each acre is expected to produce at least 6MT each year.  When CPO price is above RM2.1k, hence MC income will be above RM13k/acre.  Note also that only 28000 out of 40000 plots are "sold" to the public.  Incomes from the 30% Reserved plots are wholly for MC for their own cashflow and profit purposes.

6.  Current value of an operating oil palm plantation in similar location is about RM20K/acre (Terengganu).  Value will depend on location, age of trees, yields, facilities, land size, land title, royalty premium, etc.  Maximum value can fetched RM50k/acre while lowest with old trees about RM7k/acre current.  Hence, with continuous tree replanting, the land after 23 years will then easily worth more than RM20K/acre.

7.  MC has over 10 years experience but at a smaller scale 1,196 acre plantation in Sabah.  MC has put in RM5 million as share capital plus another RM15.5 million advances from their Group as at Feb-2007 a year ago.
In my final analysis, this CHGS is a VERY good medium/long-term investment for small folks.  It is 100% failproof when looking at the possibility of CPO prices and how MC has computed this project to be win-WIN in operating a large physical oil palm plantation.  A small limited win for us lender "Growers" and big potential WIN for MC with this very viable and profitable project.

Well, as the saying goes : the rich gets richer, and the rich use our money to make more money...
To Mr.Andrew, i cannot find any mentioned of the Launch Date or the Maturity Date.  Please find out the dates and reply here, thanks.
Maturity date for 23 yrs from

5th March 2007 to 5th March 2030 ( i took this based on my sample certificate in my folder )

the attachment below i found from the prospectus
its based on the date agreed between the three parties, management, trustee and grower.
so that reflect back the date the scheme started and also the date officially mines marketing is allowed to start selling.

Added on February 19, 2008, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 15 2008, 10:45 PM)
First of all, I am happy to have finish reading this whole thread.
Frankly, this is a fairly attractive investment because I am not worried of the liquidity of it. 23 years is just fine with me, if I can get steady returns. I have even browsed through the website.

The only matter that bothers me is that the formula for calculating the dividend is not stated anywhere.
I understand from reading this thread that if the CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, then the dividend would be 12%. This is based on output of 21MT right? As we know, oil palm is an agriculture business, so the output is greatly affected by weather conditions.

My concern is, what if the weather condition is bad for the year, and the output goes below 21MT, or what if the price goes below RM2,100 for some reasons? How is the company going to compensate us? Since the scheme is launched in April 2007, if I decide to join now, would I only receive the guaranteed ROI of 8% for 2 years?

I hope Mr. Andrew would kindly discuss this matter with your management and come up with the answers as soon as possible. If this matter is eliminated, I am more than happy to purchase 1 acre as a trial for the moment.
"The only matter that bothers me is that the formula for calculating the dividend is not stated anywhere.
I understand from reading this thread that if the CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, then the dividend would be 12%. This is based on output of 21MT right? As we know, oil palm is an agriculture business, so the output is greatly affected by weather conditions."

There is no formula involved in calculating the dividend for investors.
Basically investors will get 2 kind of dividend back.
One based on CPO price, another is based on the yield of the land.

The CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, the dividend would be 12%
Regardless of the condition of the land. Because investors dividend is based mainly on CPO, and the CPO price is taken from the MPOB (Malaysian Palm Oil Board).

And if the yield of the land for that year is 20-24 metric tonne, then investors will get additional 1%
If its 25-29 metric tonne additional 3%
If 30 metric tonne above 5 %.

So basically u add up the 12% with either 1% / 3% / 5%, so end up highest dividend back is 17%

"My concern is, what if the weather condition is bad for the year, and the output goes below 21MT, or what if the price goes below RM2,100 for some reasons? How is the company going to compensate us? Since the scheme is launched in April 2007, if I decide to join now, would I only receive the guaranteed ROI of 8% for 2 years?"

Every tree is sufficiently covered by insurance. So there is little to worry about the condition of the trees.
If the output goes below 21MT, the u would still get the dividend from the CPO. If the CPO is RM2,100 for that year, you still get 12%. The company still has to honor the signed contractual agreement. Only the yield of the land would be affected, which is still very unlikely because its still above 21MT, u still get additional 1%. Which makes ur return for that year is 13%.

Yes you would only enjoy 2 yrs of guarantee return.

Added on February 19, 2008, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(Jordy @ Feb 15 2008, 10:45 PM)
First of all, I am happy to have finish reading this whole thread.
Frankly, this is a fairly attractive investment because I am not worried of the liquidity of it. 23 years is just fine with me, if I can get steady returns. I have even browsed through the website.

The only matter that bothers me is that the formula for calculating the dividend is not stated anywhere.
I understand from reading this thread that if the CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, then the dividend would be 12%. This is based on output of 21MT right? As we know, oil palm is an agriculture business, so the output is greatly affected by weather conditions.

My concern is, what if the weather condition is bad for the year, and the output goes below 21MT, or what if the price goes below RM2,100 for some reasons? How is the company going to compensate us? Since the scheme is launched in April 2007, if I decide to join now, would I only receive the guaranteed ROI of 8% for 2 years?

I hope Mr. Andrew would kindly discuss this matter with your management and come up with the answers as soon as possible. If this matter is eliminated, I am more than happy to purchase 1 acre as a trial for the moment.
"The only matter that bothers me is that the formula for calculating the dividend is not stated anywhere.
I understand from reading this thread that if the CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, then the dividend would be 12%. This is based on output of 21MT right? As we know, oil palm is an agriculture business, so the output is greatly affected by weather conditions."

There is no formula involved in calculating the dividend for investors.
Basically investors will get 2 kind of dividend back.
One based on CPO price, another is based on the yield of the land.

The CPO is above RM2,100 for the year, the dividend would be 12%
Regardless of the condition of the land. Because investors dividend is based mainly on CPO, and the CPO price is taken from the MPOB (Malaysian Palm Oil Board).

And if the yield of the land for that year is 20-24 metric tonne, then investors will get additional 1%
If its 25-29 metric tonne additional 3%
If 30 metric tonne above 5 %.

So basically u add up the 12% with either 1% / 3% / 5%, so end up highest dividend back is 17%

"My concern is, what if the weather condition is bad for the year, and the output goes below 21MT, or what if the price goes below RM2,100 for some reasons? How is the company going to compensate us? Since the scheme is launched in April 2007, if I decide to join now, would I only receive the guaranteed ROI of 8% for 2 years?"

Every tree is sufficiently covered by insurance. So there is little to worry about the condition of the trees.
If the output goes below 21MT, the u would still get the dividend from the CPO. If the CPO is RM2,100 for that year, you still get 12%. The company still has to honor the signed contractual agreement. Only the yield of the land would be affected, which is still very unlikely because its still above 21MT, u still get additional 1%. Which makes ur return for that year is 13%.

Yes you would only enjoy 2 yrs of guarantee return.

This post has been edited by neocappuccino: Feb 19 2008, 06:59 PM

0.0440sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:49 AM