Country Heights Grower Scheme (CHGS), anyone heard before?

cherroy
post Oct 31 2007, 11:10 AM

25,802 posts

It has been known for awhile, basically you are taking part in the plantation, just like the TS explains.
It is not backed by gov, it is a private initiative launched by the company, still it carries some risk same like business.
It is basically a plantation trust.
cherroy
post Dec 18 2007, 03:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 31 2007, 06:22 PM)
Btw, CHHB bought the land at RM15k/acre.
So by selling them at RM5,500 per 1/4 acre, they instantly recover half of their initial investment.
QUOTE(@m4t @ Nov 21 2007, 05:03 PM)
entitle for that hotel stay promotion (1 or 2 night cannot remmber) = 1 acre purchase

1 lot = 1/4 acre = 5.5k
4 lot = 1 acre = 22k sweat.gif  sweat.gif
If the information is true then they instantly make 7k/acre (but has not deducting out the plantation cost yet, to be fair).

Yield is attractive enough but mostly people more concern about what if there is no buyer for the land. As the trust is going for 23 years, (a bit too long, some may be survive until can see the final fruit, especially upper middle age people) what if I need my initial capital after 3 years or 5 years? even if the land is worth 10K but no buyer around, how would can I liquidify it?
That's the most important question and risk as it is a bit different from buying a land title.

Anybody has the information, how to liqudify, no doubt about its yield attractiveness.

Added on December 18, 2007, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(F1meteor @ Dec 18 2007, 02:22 PM)
no more 5k per lot.
It's now 5.5k per lot. And I heard next year going to be 6k per lot.
I'm waiting for my bonus for investing XD
You already invested in it? May be updating for us to know its yield then, if you don't mind.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 18 2007, 03:40 PM
cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(beginner @ Dec 19 2007, 02:52 PM)
last night i went for the seminar in penang.
liquidity will be a main problem for this kind of investment, but if u dont plan to touch ur money anytime soon, i reckon this is one of the best long term investment you can find.
there will be no solution to the liquidity problem until they come out with some sort of repurchase option like unit trust, u will have to find a buyer who is willing to take over(transfer) the ownership of the land, since its a physical investment(you're buying a piece of land), its gonna be much more complicated.
their financial year is from 1st Jan to 31st Dec, yield coming in February, its gonna be exciting when the first batch of investors get their yield.

you'll be receiving 12% yield as long as CPO stays above RM2100 on average for that year. and also subjected to additional 5%bonus if yield is good, not much information on the yield terms&condition and calculation, willupdate once get more info, anyone with detailed info pls update. tq
Thanks for the information.

23 years seems too long, small sum still ok (like 1 lot = 5.5k), big sum might be headache, as it is difficult to know or certain you won't need the initial capital for 23 years or whether you need the capital (for whatever use) in this 23 years period.
As said before, no doubt about the yield attractiveness.

Yup, liduidifying is the major problem of it.

Thanks again for future information.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 19 2007, 03:14 PM
cherroy
post Dec 23 2007, 09:43 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(beginner @ Dec 23 2007, 09:15 AM)
from what i know, extra bonus return is for high fresh fruit bunch(FFB) yield

for 20-24.99MT/hectare is 1%
for 25-29.99MT/hectare is 3%
for >30MT/hectare is 5%

so if CPO remains is above RM2100(12%), and yield is >30MT/hectare(5%), you will be getting a return of 17% per annum, management fees 0.1%(per year), still u get a net yield of 16.9%.(before tax). which is quite not bad at all...
is the area(Gua Musang Kelantan flood prone?, this is one of my worries)
The main problem we concern is liquidation in this 23 years period.
Yield is a secondary issue as said before no doubt about its yield attractiveness.

If the land in in western part of Malaysia is much better, better change of appreciation.

cherroy
post Jan 8 2008, 04:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(neocappuccino @ Jan 7 2008, 10:41 PM)
we only hav 30% left to sell. appx 600 plots left.
i hav alot of solutions for ya guys, but its not in the agreement so u all wont trust me or anything.
we dun need u to release at a loss, but juz at par value, im able to put ur plot for sale.
cool2.gif
Neocappuccino,

Thanks your input so far, the conclusion we get is that we previously no doubt about its yield/return attractiveness, but we are highly concern on liquidation part as most investment public made, it can exist even when market condition is bad (the only difference is making a loss), including properties (just not so fast).
But the CHGS has not clause on the agreement means public can't liquidate even after 23 years (so far what I can get they have the first option to buy back afer 23 years, but doesn't mean it is a must, right? (sorry, the post is bit long to read throughout again, if I read it wrong on that, mind to correct me if I am wrong on this part).

Sometimes, investment part is unpredictable so does individual issue, the most concern for public whom have limited fund is that what if I need to liquidate the investment in CHGS for emergency usage? So far unless third party willing to take up, public can't liduidate at all. This is also part of the risk in it. Also, I don't think banks would accept this kind of 'certificate' as collateral that in order to take up bank loan if really needed for energency usage.

Not to pour 'cold water', instead as said yield return is attractive enough, just public need to understand the clause of agreement in this kind of investment and as a responsible sales person, one needs to properly explain this issue also, can't just put yield and return is attractive then should forget about others thing else.

Just my 2 cents.

cherroy
post Jan 10 2008, 06:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(neocappuccino @ Jan 9 2008, 09:30 AM)
At the maturity of this scheme, im sure the price will appreciate much higher than the purchased priced, 23 yrs is a long time and allows things to progress steadily. Finding a buyer wont be a problem, because countries suitable for oil palm is only malaysia, thailand and indonesia. whereby malaysia and indo is mostly producing it.

Malaysia produces the best oil palm so far, and oil palm is a consumable product to the world population. Oil palm is not expensive, doesn't cause transfatty acid, doesn't require hydrogenation process to extend its shell life. Its naturally very safe to use. Unless another alternative is being discovered, oil palm remain as the best solution up to date and in the near future.

so, sellin the land in the near future, or the land being appreciate wont be a big issue, many big corporations out there would snap it
Actually, it is the other way round, finding a buyer for a land bank is easy, but not the trust like this scheme. It is like owning a piece a land but a bit different as the land title is not in your hand. Contradict to the thought, yes, big corporation will snap the land banks, but not a piece of divided 1/4 acre land.

Basically, it is like owning a land, but not actually own it, it is different in details, please get it right. Basically if you want to liduidate, you are selling the trust that you owned, not actually the land. The buyer (from you) can't use the land at all except participate into the trust scheme.

Don't need to post the palm oil doesn't cause tranfatty acid issue to lure people invest into it. Investment in something, the main criteria is return rate and risk, don't need to blar blar about the goodness fo CPO or said it is the best or its goodness. It is all about and dictated by CPO price in the market.
Otherwise, talking goodness and said CPO is the best to lure people into this investment scheme sounds like MLM slaes person already.
No offence, we are not disagree with the goodness of the scheme, instead as said before, yield is attractive enough, just we like to discuss it at the main point, don't want to distract out the issue.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 10 2008, 06:17 PM
cherroy
post Feb 15 2008, 10:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 15 2008, 09:41 AM)
thanks for the summary. Its much easier to read compared to going through the whole thread. But are you really sure about that 100% fail-proof claim? I kinda agree with cuebiz that no one knows what will happen in 23 years.
Nothing is 100% failproof in investment world, everything carries fair share of risk, just more or less only. Even FD in banks is not 100% fail safe.

There is no clause on liquidation part in 23 years period, so if you really need to sell and need the money in this 23 years, one needs to sort it out yourself to find the buyer yourself and transfer the scheme to the buyers. That's the main problem of the scheme.
Don't get me wrong, I am not saying this scheme is no good, indeed it is quite a good long term investment target to participate in plam oil plantation some sort like plantation trust, just liquidation part is somehow can be problematic.
Moreover, the landbanks location is on Gua Musang, Kelantan. If it is west coast area then it is much better as the chance of land price appreciatian has much more potential than east coast.

If one really has more liquid situation but still want to participate in plantation then plantation stocks can be an alternative as well. Don't mean to compare between stocks and this trust scheme as both got pros and cons.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 15 2008, 10:23 AM
cherroy
post Feb 15 2008, 09:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mkhor7 @ Feb 15 2008, 06:31 PM)
MC accounts as at Feb-2007 showed they have already put in around RM20 million including land development costs of over RM15 million.  The RM100 million from CHGS will be used to buy more seedlings, planting and fertilizers costs, labours , maintenance, re-planting, etc...  Hence a fully operating plantation with productive trees would fetch good value even after 20 years.  This Gua Musang land lease would likely remain as plantation land for its whole leasehold term.
"100% Failproof" : I should have added that the project on paper looks very good and very viable.  This is because the returns is FULLY based on world CPO prices and not on MC plantation business operation.  Hence, there is only a very remote risk of downside.  Oil palm products future is unlikely to be shaken unless cheaper substitute can be found.  I estimated returns to be very likely between 6% to 13% for the whole of 23 years term of the CHGS. 
"Growers" are largely removed from other risks such as on the plantation trees which could come from land disaster, disease, flood, drought or other acts of nature/God.  MC has stated that some of these perils are insured for, and only 28000 out of 40000 plots are "sold" to "Growers" to enable MC to earn sufficient profits to pay the "Growers" annual interests which is FULLY based on CPO prices.

Good medium/long term investment :  This CHGS is definitely not liquid like unit trust or shares, but is almost similar to buying a piece of landed property.  When we want to sell, we have to depend on whether there are ready buyers.  If only a few are selling at any moment, my guess is that MC can help us to get a buyer.  Hence for small folks who want to "own" some plantation property and getting steady annual returns, this CHGS is highly recommended.  But for those punters who want returns of over 12%, this CHGS will likely disappoint them.

Why 23 years?  I guess MC by then has enough accumulated profits and cashflow resources to continue on their own and to compulsory buyback from "Growers".  I hope the valuer appointed at that time will not "discount" too much from the open market value but to give the "Growers" some capital appreciation.
To Mr. Andrew :
Can you confirm whether we will get FULL 8% returns during the 3 years we join this CHGS regardless of the date of joining.  eg. if we pay next month March-2008, we will still get in FULL the 8% for ALL of the 3 years after then on Feb-2009, Feb-2010 and Feb-2011.

thanks + regards
michael
One question,
If the palm oil tree fails to grow enough then there would be no profit, then how the company going to pay the return to the scheme holders?
Yes, it depends on the CPO price but it also depends on the plantation yielding aka fruits grows. In term of any natural disaster like flooding etc, then no profit then how company going to pay the return? Insurance enough to cover? hmm.gif Don't think insurance company want to make losing business as well.

Participant in trust is like owning it and whether to get the return or not, it depends on the profitability of it, just like Reit.

Owning the trust is not exactly like owning a land, just similarity, as same as reit also. Owning a land, you got the land title, you can opt to sell or do whatever you want whenever you wish. But in this trsut scheme, investors basically are tight for 23 years period, unless another person willing to take up the trust or buying from you. Actual landbank or owning a land is much easier to sell than owning a trust espeically the trust is not listed. If listed, then it would be a good plantation trust, as it resolve the main issue, liquidation part.

It is just a leasehold for 23 years?

Don't get me wrong. Not mean to discredit this scheme, instead personally view it is an ok investment target. Just want to highlight some disadvantage besides its pros so that discussion in it will only make a claerer picture and only benefit to all.

Also, 'guess' term is not good enough, it involves hard earned money in stake, every fact in it must be known properly, can't second guessing of it. This scheme already running one, we should able to find out the actual fact of it.

cheers.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 15 2008, 09:48 PM
cherroy
post Jun 2 2008, 10:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jun 2 2008, 01:21 AM)
I juz want to share my understanding about oil palm. Oil palm does profitable during these years
Last year around JUNe 2007, I have made an investigation on OIL palm profit. Approximate can achieve 20k untung bersih a month for a land of 20acre. I'm calculated the cost and so on, But this is an approximate value.

Price of oil palm should be increasing gradually over the year, unless there is something that can be replaced oil palm like the case getah asli replaced by getah tak asli.

Oil palm have a life of 25years life span. First 4 years should be no income, since the tree still small. But when the time goes by, the older the oil palm tree, the oil palm will have much more higher quality, so as money value.

I have been notice this investment since a while of time. It should be profitable, and it SOUNDS guarantee. The main thing u need to concern is there is no any under table thing happen in this company management.

For my opinion, they provide a good investment scheme. But i have an opinion that, they need more capital at the starting to plant oil palm. since the anak pokok oil palm and land is expensive nowadays. The maintainance fee and baja is very expensive nowadays.
We no doubt about the profitability of the scheme or oil palm, just the main problem/hassle is about the liduidation part.
cherroy
post Jun 15 2008, 09:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(neocappuccino @ Jun 10 2008, 02:11 AM)
officially there is nothing left to sell.....and there is no more plots for sale
the total 10,000 acre of land is fully taken up. the only remains are the remaining reserved plots.

the kalimantan land is yet to be officially announced.

the price remains high at RM7500 - RM8000 per plot

i would like to take the opportunity to thank all of u who participate in this discussion.
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 15 2008, 02:49 PM)
To refresh this thread, MAPEX fair at Mid Valley, CHGS is selling a plot at RM7,500 now.  shocking.gif
According to them, the price will be RM8,000 if go through bank, and as stated in their brochure.

Any latest comments ?
Err... which one is true now? got or don't have anymore.

Added on June 15, 2008, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Jun 15 2008, 08:39 PM)
Already appreciate to RM7500? I bought 1 lot last november at RM5500 only. This mean 36% gain. Frigging good investment i reckon.
QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Jun 15 2008, 08:54 PM)
Netcrawler, sure, not to pour cold water, but you must be able to sell it first before you can realize this paper gain.

And when you wish to sell it, the comany will comedown on you. Sorry,........
Lawyer1 has a point to make, even it rise to 10K per plot, if the market is illiquid, then those paper gain can't be realised.

Yes, you do gain on asset appreciate, just can't lock in the profit as long as market is illiquid and no buyers want to take up. Don't mean can't sell totally, just it can be hassle to find a real interest buyer if the company doesn't arrange the liquidation part of service.

The main source of income or profit that can be realised is the yield distributed annually.

Not to pour cold water, don't get me wrong here, above statement is not meant for comment whether it is good or not good investment.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 15 2008, 09:51 PM
cherroy
post Jun 16 2008, 06:28 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 16 2008, 06:24 PM)
is it true hotel stay n 0% 12months instalment plan only applicable for maybank platinum card holder?
Posting in the wrong thread? biggrin.gif smile.gif
cherroy
post Jun 16 2008, 09:02 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 16 2008, 06:44 PM)
not wrong....this is supposed to be given when u buy 1/2acre or more...
oic, you mean on installment plan. Didn't think of it, just taught something in credit card section. My apology.
cherroy
post Jul 25 2008, 03:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(greenland123 @ Jul 25 2008, 01:28 PM)
Thanks, might visit the fair for one question - what is to the investment if the project becomes insolvent? Need an answer from the sales' persons.

Have a nice weekend.
It is highly unlikely it will become insolvent as it is a profitable business for palm oil.

The main issue is illiquidity of the investment, in the case one wants to sell, one have to find the buyer on his/her own for the plot bought. Management company hold no obligation on it (although they might help) to buy over from you nor obligation to find the buyer for you.

So if invest in this scheme, it is best interest to prepare to hold until it expired (23 years), in between want to sell, then have to find the buyer.
cherroy
post Jul 25 2008, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 25 2008, 03:23 PM)
Right now, if what cute_boboi said is true regarding the selling price now (RM8,000), assuming I bought it when the price was RM5,500, I could sell the land for RM7,500 per plot. That should be one of the ways to exit with some profit (36%) in less than a year. I think the agent told me that we could either choose to look for the buyers ourselves, or they can help us to look for buyers with a little fee. So that is feasible smile.gif
No doubt it is feasible, especially CPO can chalk up good profit, and the plot price being raised by the management company, then it should have no problem to find potential buyer.

But take it this way, when it is going up time (because of CPO good profit) then a lot of people will be lured into it or interested to own it, so problem just little only.
But when it is going down time, it can be very illiquid when people not interested, you know lah, it is almost identical to stock market, going down time, nobody want to buy even at lower price. So finding a buyer at that particular time period can be very difficult. As those plot is not like listed shares where you can trade, those plot you have to find your own buyer in the street, so if one really need to dispose for the cash, then it can be quite hard. It is more illiquid compared having a property.

Don't get me wrong, not saying it is not good, just remind about the liquidity part and make sure people aware of it.
cherroy
post Oct 29 2008, 02:02 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Oct 29 2008, 01:33 PM)
Ditto D-Tourist.
A more immediate method will be to somehow "burn" off the extra CPO in stock. Right now a mandatory 5% blending is being drafted for biofuel use in Malaysia and Indon, and if that does materialize, we have 500,000 tonnes that will definitely be tied up. So what is left is 1.3million tonnes CPO in stock to sell.

On the RSPO thing, yes, there is a huge demand. In fact, the very first consignment will reach the EU on the 11th November. On average, one can get about USD45 per tonne CPO. So go figure.
Yes, D-tourist made a good arguement, as long as the selling price enable for producers to cover their fixed cost or over-head cost, all still will produce, even no profit being made or need to bare some loss. This practice is same across industries
You don't manufacture, you lose 600. You manufacture, you loss 100. All factory or producer still will opt the later as you already threw all the capital inside.
The effect (low selling price) is always lagged for while up to 1 or 2 years. As selling price is lower than cost price will not hinder new producer coming to the market, but it doesn't lower the existing producer much, so stockpile still will stay high for awhile for last for few quarter.

But the problem for bio-fuel, is that with crude oil price is also droppping sharply, which made dino-diesel become cheaper, then it is still not competitive and cost effective for people to use bio-fuel, unless required by regulation.
As long as bio-diesel price > dino-diesel, it will not able to commercialise, as business out there always look or very sensitive about cost.

0.0410sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:57 PM