Will it cause dividend to drop as epf need to withdraw from investment... so next year dividend worse than this year?
Will epf dividend affected by akaun 3?
Apr 19 2024, 08:30 AM, updated 2y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
280 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
Will it cause dividend to drop as epf need to withdraw from investment... so next year dividend worse than this year?
Apr 19 2024, 08:31 AM
2,294 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Yes
Of course |
Apr 19 2024, 08:31 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
77 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
that's the intention
Apr 19 2024, 08:32 AM
323 posts Joined: May 2020 |
the news so far say dividend will be likely the same and account 3 will be given as a token if no withdrawal were made, guess we timeskip to 31 march 2025 to find out
Apr 19 2024, 08:34 AM
15 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
They know that the majority don't even care what's happening in their accounts, and with this, they know the can save a lot of money from dividend payouts for the newly created 10% allocation. Most won't even trouble themselves to transfer to Acc 1/2.
Apr 19 2024, 08:37 AM
1,374 posts Joined: Feb 2016 From: Milky Way |
If account 3 really starts from zero, then should have no effect as EPF need not divest its current investment.
But for future, since less money going into active investment, may slightly limit EPF overall fund to seek profit but effect won’t be big. What I worry is if they shift some profit from account 1&2 into account 3 to boost its return to please some ppl. |
Apr 19 2024, 08:37 AM
284 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
The people will not look in that way ... So does the policymakers
What they will be looking is the level of savings in the epf by race group and that's the insights they can draw in running the epf |
Apr 19 2024, 08:38 AM
15 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(nelson969 @ Apr 19 2024, 08:32 AM) the news so far say dividend will be likely the same and account 3 will be given as a token if no withdrawal were made, guess we timeskip to 31 march 2025 to find out QUOTE According to NST’s source, funds kept in Account 3 might get a "token” payment which is expected to be lower than the dividend for Account 1 and Account 2. However, it is said that EPF members will be allowed to maximise capital gains by transferring Account 3 funds to Accounts 1 and 2. |
Apr 19 2024, 08:38 AM
5,160 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
They won’t do it for the first year, but next year EPF will nelson969 liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 08:42 AM
90 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
not really la. u think they have not made any calculation before implementing that? u think ppl dont withdraw money all this while under the pretext to offset the loan but actually use the money to go holiday or buying expensive toys? nelson969 liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 08:43 AM
38 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(iGamer @ Apr 19 2024, 08:37 AM) If account 3 really starts from zero, then should have no effect as EPF need not divest its current investment. Will the increase in Account 1 percentage offset the lesser money going to active investment? No idea how EPF manages their portfolio but I assume Account 1 which is harder to withdraw gives EPF more leeway in investing compared to Account 2 and now Account 3.But for future, since less money going into active investment, may slightly limit EPF overall fund to seek profit but effect won’t be big. What I worry is if they shift some profit from account 1&2 into account 3 to boost its return to please some ppl. |
Apr 19 2024, 08:46 AM
194 posts Joined: Oct 2020 |
looks like we have to wait until 1/5/2024 to see what happens… seems like they forgot why EPF exists, to maximize contributors money.. hope they don’t go the banks way…where they forgot where the source of funding comes from and start charging expensive rates… fongsk26 liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 08:47 AM
319 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Yes
Apr 19 2024, 08:49 AM
1,299 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
If all three accounts get same rate then for sure the entire dividend will be lowered
Apr 19 2024, 08:51 AM
1,084 posts Joined: Jul 2022 |
QUOTE(KenM @ Apr 19 2024, 08:46 AM) looks like we have to wait until 1/5/2024 to see what happens… Duit kita tu.. masa depan belum tentu boleh hidup, takkan nak biar kita mati skrg seems like they forgot why EPF exists, to maximize contributors money.. hope they don’t go the banks way…where they forgot where the source of funding comes from and start charging expensive rates… Meanwhile, politicians songlap also our country's money they still will stand to defend. This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Apr 19 2024, 08:51 AM |
Apr 19 2024, 08:54 AM
81 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
![]() Majority of people utilizing account 3 will be B40 and M40. As you can see the chart the T20 is holding 82% of the EPF money, and these group are the least likely to withdraw. Furthermore Account 1 allocation has increase from 70% to 75% of contribution. So increase of 5% from account 1 gives epf more long term secure cash to cover the unpredictability of the account 3 which is most likely will be used by 18% of their total funds anyway. DoomHammer liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 08:59 AM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: All over |
QUOTE(iGamer @ Apr 19 2024, 08:37 AM) If account 3 really starts from zero, then should have no effect as EPF need not divest its current investment. Would it though? As i understand it investment is done with funds from account 1 which will get a higher allocation of ur deposit (75%) vs the current 70% But for future, since less money going into active investment, may slightly limit EPF overall fund to seek profit but effect won’t be big. What I worry is if they shift some profit from account 1&2 into account 3 to boost its return to please some ppl. I'm not sure how much account 2 plays a part in the bloc of funds that EPF uses for investment so I may be wrong. |
Apr 19 2024, 09:00 AM
1,711 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kedah Khap Khoun Khap (4K) |
QUOTE(iGamer @ Apr 19 2024, 08:37 AM) If account 3 really starts from zero, then should have no effect as EPF need not divest its current investment. TIERED dividend je lahBut for future, since less money going into active investment, may slightly limit EPF overall fund to seek profit but effect won’t be big. What I worry is if they shift some profit from account 1&2 into account 3 to boost its return to please some ppl. Oh wai- |
Apr 19 2024, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Apr 19 2024, 08:59 AM) Would it though? As i understand it investment is done with funds from account 1 which will get a higher allocation of ur deposit (75%) vs the current 70% We can make assumptions all we want, but end of the day we really won’t know how they operate the whole fund, if and when politikus will interfere and derail their investment planning.I'm not sure how much account 2 plays a part in the bloc of funds that EPF uses for investment so I may be wrong. At the moment, we already seen EPf hijacked for populist move by politikus. fongsk26 liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 09:03 AM
3,784 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Acct 3 can swift to Acct 1 or Acct 2 i guess. if token, i might well take out and pump back into Acct1 or 2
Apr 19 2024, 09:04 AM
603 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: shah alam |
QUOTE(Mixo Mania @ Apr 19 2024, 08:54 AM) ![]() Majority of people utilizing account 3 will be B40 and M40. As you can see the chart the T20 is holding 82% of the EPF money, and these group are the least likely to withdraw. Furthermore Account 1 allocation has increase from 70% to 75% of contribution. So increase of 5% from account 1 gives epf more long term secure cash to cover the unpredictability of the account 3 which is most likely will be used by 18% of their total funds anyway. |
Apr 19 2024, 09:05 AM
Apr 19 2024, 09:06 AM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Apr 19 2024, 08:59 AM) Would it though? As i understand it investment is done with funds from account 1 which will get a higher allocation of ur deposit (75%) vs the current 70% can ignore the complex mathI'm not sure how much account 2 plays a part in the bloc of funds that EPF uses for investment so I may be wrong. u just imagine whenever acc3 start ..kwsp every month will have potential up to 10% "monthly income" from contribution get withdraw by ppl acc2 withdrawal u still need justification to do so bumping up acc1 to 75% is just lower down acc2 amount on 1 shot withdrawal This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Apr 19 2024, 09:07 AM |
Apr 19 2024, 09:09 AM
323 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(kcal @ Apr 19 2024, 08:42 AM) not really la. u think they have not made any calculation before implementing that? u think ppl dont withdraw money all this while under the pretext to offset the loan but actually use the money to go holiday or buying expensive toys? yes we know , but as u know that malaysia is just signapore kiasi kiasu level , if epf can explain those mechanism by end of april to ease ppl concern, if not it will keep questioning them until world war 3 kcal liked this post
Apr 19 2024, 09:16 AM
1,590 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
logically if the account 3 is like casa, you cannot use it for medium and high risk investment, so the dividend for this account should be lower.
Apr 19 2024, 09:17 AM
460 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
If it's coming from new contribution, my short answer will be not be affected.
The reason is that any withdrawal will not be coming from existing investment where it will affect the return (EPF need to sell to fund the withdrawal). |
Apr 19 2024, 09:18 AM
612 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
Heard that we can transfer 1/3 from account 2 to account 3??
Apr 19 2024, 09:21 AM
603 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: shah alam |
QUOTE(Randomization @ Apr 19 2024, 09:17 AM) If it's coming from new contribution, my short answer will be not be affected. It means EPF is not all in hard cash eh? maybe they kept 10% cash onlyThe reason is that any withdrawal will not be coming from existing investment where it will affect the return (EPF need to sell to fund the withdrawal). oh waii |
Apr 19 2024, 09:22 AM
414 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
acc 3 only will start from new contribution or existing acc 1/2 also will split into acc 3?
Apr 19 2024, 09:23 AM
687 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
EPF's official has been confirm no impact of dividend performance.
Apr 19 2024, 09:23 AM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
EPF dividend go down will be because of MOF/BNM asking EPF to bring back high returns and high yielding foreign investments back to Malaysia to support Ringgit.
Over past 10 years, the biggest returns for EPF came from foreign investments |
Apr 19 2024, 09:24 AM
3,843 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Apr 19 2024, 09:26 AM
194 posts Joined: Oct 2020 |
Apr 19 2024, 09:27 AM
81 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
Apr 19 2024, 09:30 AM
2,487 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(kcal @ Apr 19 2024, 08:42 AM) not really la. u think they have not made any calculation before implementing that? u think ppl dont withdraw money all this while under the pretext to offset the loan but actually use the money to go holiday or buying expensive toys? Those that need the money won't have much in EPF.Those that have, won't bother. You can already see what happened from the last 3 withdrawals. That's the biggest damage already done. |
Apr 19 2024, 09:31 AM
480 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Dividend will up. As Account 1 will be 75% increase from 70%.
Apr 19 2024, 09:33 AM
338 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
Thanks to the majority.
Bodo kills |
| Change to: | 0.1723sec
5 queries