Honda City RS Recommendation, Petrol or Hybrid?
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 02:47 PM, updated 6d ago

Hello sifus, I need some advice and from you all since I'm in dilemma want to buy Honda City RS Petrol version or Hybrid version. Currently I'm driving Myvi 1.5H. As of now I only drive my car on weekends since working remotely (Not sure later if change work how). As for the budget I'm okay for both variant above but there are few things that bugging me which I need sifus here to share opinions
Hybrid 1. Re-sale value of the car is lower. 2. Bonet space is 410 Liter only which almost 100 Liter smaller compared to the Petrol version 3. Reliable or not?
Petrol 1. No Low Speed Follow feature 2. Petrol consumption more than the hybrid brother.
Sorry because I'm kind of noob in this automobile thingy. hope you all can help me with this. Thanks in advance
Snoopycute98
Apr 17 2024, 02:53 PM
What year was ur myvi H and how many mileage has been driven?
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 17 2024, 02:53 PM) What year was ur myvi H and how many mileage has been driven? Myvi - 2018 - Mileage 35200KM
dudester
Apr 17 2024, 03:10 PM
As your usage is low, i doubt fuel consumption factor much. You need to ask yourself how long you intend to keep the car, anything more then 5 years depreciation is difference is probably 5k. With the propose reduce subsidy for ron95, hybrid looks like a better option, adding RS has all the nice features. All comes down to your personal preference and affordability.
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(dudester @ Apr 17 2024, 03:10 PM) As your usage is low, i doubt fuel consumption factor much. You need to ask yourself how long you intend to keep the car, anything more then 5 years depreciation is difference is probably 5k. With the propose reduce subsidy for ron95, hybrid looks like a better option, adding RS has all the nice features. All comes down to your personal preference and affordability. You mean after 5 years the difference between the petrol and hybrid version of RS spec around rm5k? Agree also with the point where subsidy may gone soon for ron95
kem96
Apr 17 2024, 03:21 PM

For me I would go for the hybrid one. No gearbox (no need worry for the infamous cvt belt putus issue). More fun to drive with more torque and also the additional tech included plus way more fuel efficient. As for the boot space, how often are you going to fill up the boot? Got kids? Need to put stroller? If not, then should be enough already actually. As for resale value, it is actually not that bad if you look at the previous idcd city hybrid. Only the used car buying the car cheap and give reason like battery depreciation. But then they sell the car higher. Dont worry about this if you plan to use the car for a long duration. I will choose to have low speed follow for 5 years than to worry about the car resale value for 5 years
dogbert_chew
Apr 17 2024, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Apr 17 2024, 03:01 PM) Myvi - 2018 - Mileage 35200KM 6 years 35200km = < 500km monthly. For Myvi town driving less then 40 liters Petrol cost monthly if 2.05 = rm82 3.00 = rm120 Difference per month RM38. Wanna change car due to increasing petrol price?
Quazacolt
Apr 17 2024, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Apr 17 2024, 02:47 PM) As of now I only drive my car on weekends since working remotely (Not sure later if change work how). As for the budget I'm okay for both variant above but there are few things that bugging me which I need sifus here to share opinions Petrol2. Petrol consumption more than the hybrid brother. hybrid won't save you petrol. the price difference is more than enough to cover your entire Myvi ownership of petrol cost. you change to RS Hybrid EHEV is because you want (and assuming, you can afford) the premium features and cool tech. no savings at all from petrol even if petrol price were to double.
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 17 2024, 03:33 PM) 6 years 35200km = < 500km monthly. For Myvi town driving less then 40 liters Petrol cost monthly if 2.05 = rm82 3.00 = rm120 Difference per month RM38. Wanna change car due to increasing petrol price? No bro, reason I want to upgrade is because no married already and always buy things and kind of hard to put at the my bonet since it is way small.
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(kem96 @ Apr 17 2024, 03:21 PM) For me I would go for the hybrid one. No gearbox (no need worry for the infamous cvt belt putus issue). More fun to drive with more torque and also the additional tech included plus way more fuel efficient. As for the boot space, how often are you going to fill up the boot? Got kids? Need to put stroller? If not, then should be enough already actually. As for resale value, it is actually not that bad if you look at the previous idcd city hybrid. Only the used car buying the car cheap and give reason like battery depreciation. But then they sell the car higher. Dont worry about this if you plan to use the car for a long duration. I will choose to have low speed follow for 5 years than to worry about the car resale value for 5 years  Going to have kid soon and surely need to get stroller. Agree with you on the low speed follow feature because its really helpful in KL traffic conditions.
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 17 2024, 03:45 PM) hybrid won't save you petrol. the price difference is more than enough to cover your entire Myvi ownership of petrol cost. you change to RS Hybrid EHEV is because you want (and assuming, you can afford) the premium features and cool tech. no savings at all from petrol even if petrol price were to double. Yes bro, I'm planning to change to Honda City from Myvi because need bigger storage from Myvi and the tech features. Now only confuse between RS Petrol or Hybrid only. hehe
samwan_sambadi
Apr 17 2024, 03:59 PM
Been using City GN2 for 3 years as daily drive, besides F10 for weekend or long distance drive 40L of petrol tank highest can achieve 881km of range until near empty 5.4L/100km (official from Honda)
average achived 15.4~17.7km per L for Town driving
of course Hybrid version is far more fuel efficient, add factors of +price (loan interest difference) and price of battery for wear and tear factors
This post has been edited by samwan_sambadi: Apr 17 2024, 04:00 PM
Redundant
Apr 17 2024, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Apr 17 2024, 03:55 PM) Going to have kid soon and surely need to get stroller. Agree with you on the low speed follow feature because its really helpful in KL traffic conditions. I think the low speed follow won't work in malaysian traffic as ppl will cut in your lane too often until you give up and take back control... but the brake hold function will definitely be useful during traffic! and this is only available on the RS hybrid version.
TSbibirbieber
Apr 17 2024, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(Redundant @ Apr 17 2024, 04:39 PM) I think the low speed follow won't work in malaysian traffic as ppl will cut in your lane too often until you give up and take back control... but the brake hold function will definitely be useful during traffic! and this is only available on the RS hybrid version. yes true, the brake hold function is nice also. No need to pijak the brake so long or tarik handbrake.
dwRK
Apr 17 2024, 06:45 PM
i would just get the alza... easy to drive, comfortable, very spacious... bargain price...
when my kids were small... accord also not enough... you may find yourself needing to upgrade again with the city...
ktek
Apr 17 2024, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 17 2024, 06:45 PM) i would just get the alza... easy to drive, comfortable, very spacious... bargain price... when my kids were small... accord also not enough... you may find yourself needing to upgrade again with the city... +1 very practical & use very long term compare to a h.city
jacky91
Sep 16 2024, 04:55 AM
Hey TS, did you end up getting the hybrid version? I am also having the same dilemma as you.
Myvi 1.5H (2018) - 57k mileage... Now also aiming at these 2 versions
TSbibirbieber
Sep 16 2024, 09:15 PM

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 16 2024, 04:55 AM) Hey TS, did you end up getting the hybrid version? I am also having the same dilemma as you. Myvi 1.5H (2018) - 57k mileage... Now also aiming at these 2 versions Yeah i get the Hybrid version. So far the fuel consumption is way more cheaper compared to using Myvi last time.
lawliet88
Sep 17 2024, 02:38 AM
QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Sep 16 2024, 09:15 PM) Yeah i get the Hybrid version. So far the fuel consumption is way more cheaper compared to using Myvi last time. gratz, how long wait time for the order
TSbibirbieber
Sep 17 2024, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Sep 17 2024, 02:38 AM) gratz, how long wait time for the order Mine is ready stock, got the car within 1 week.