Tablet/phone that has background YT stream play?, or got app for that?

TSmystvearn
post Apr 15 2024, 11:22 AM, updated 2y ago

6,639 posts

Finding a tablet which supports YT background steam play while the screen is off?

Aside from Realme pad 6

what other tablets can do that? Can be phone too. Or is there an app for that?

I also found out that Xiaomi has cancelled the feature.

Not sure if Realme pad 6 affected or not.

Baconateer
post Apr 15 2024, 11:26 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

so i assume you dont want to pay for YT premium?

just download revanced youtube app
ctys2012
post Apr 15 2024, 11:40 AM

280 posts

oppo flip phone can
TSmystvearn
post Apr 15 2024, 02:01 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Apr 15 2024, 11:26 AM)
so i assume you dont want to pay for YT premium?

just download revanced youtube app
I only stick to YT official app after vanced. Very rarely get adds now (if get worse, may need to pay). Can also use browser if I wanted to circumvent adds. Most on my playlist are interviews or radio channels on youtube. Don't need to see the static Bloomberg radio logo on the YT screen for 45 mins. Waste battery also.

kmrdeva
post Apr 15 2024, 02:05 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Apr 15 2024, 02:01 PM)
I only stick to YT official app after vanced. Very rarely get adds now (if get worse, may need to pay). Can also use browser if I wanted to circumvent adds. Most on my playlist are interviews or radio channels on youtube. Don't need to see the static Bloomberg radio logo on the YT screen for 45 mins. Waste battery also.
Signing up for YT Premium will be easiest way if you still plan to use the official app.
PRSXFENG
post Apr 15 2024, 05:45 PM

2,614 posts

More and more devices will lose this feature as there are instructions from higher up (google) to remove this feature from devices to encourage you to pay for youtube premium

https://community.oppo.com/thread/1499588510984699905
https://www.androidauthority.com/xiaomi-rem...d-play-3424315/

you have 3 options

1. pay for youtube premium
2. use apps like revanced
3. use apps like newpipe (does not have login feature so if you are worried about accounts being compromised)
4. use youtube in a browser with adblock like firefox or kiwi
TSmystvearn
post Apr 16 2024, 05:52 AM

6,639 posts

Thanks. Will think about it
andrekua2
post Apr 18 2024, 01:14 PM

13,489 posts

My realme gt neo 3 has this feature... if you want free background playback, then use browser la... I think thats how they did it also.

Update:

I just check again and it seems like Realme removed this background stream feature already. Maybe google pressed them to remove it.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Apr 18 2024, 01:19 PM
TSmystvearn
post Apr 18 2024, 03:56 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 18 2024, 01:14 PM)
My realme gt neo 3 has this feature... if you want free background playback, then use browser la... I think thats how they did it also.

Update:

I just check again and it seems like Realme removed this background stream feature already. Maybe google pressed them to remove it.

yes, read that online. All under Xiaomi and all other manufacturers the same. "Compliance notice"
khainiz94
post Apr 22 2024, 09:32 AM

2,856 posts

After reading everything in here, you better pay up for YouTube Premium.
🤣🤣🤣
andrekua2
post Apr 22 2024, 09:40 AM

13,489 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Apr 22 2024, 09:32 AM)
After reading everything in here, you better pay up for YouTube Premium.
🤣🤣🤣
What you need is older firmware which still support the feature.
khainiz94
post Apr 22 2024, 06:02 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 22 2024, 09:40 AM)
What you need is older firmware which still support the feature.
But at the rate of people keep changing phones, all of these features will be gone soon.
Plus I think most Androids now kinda hard to roll back to older firmwares due to security.
Especially Samsung.
andrekua2
post Apr 22 2024, 06:42 PM

13,489 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Apr 22 2024, 06:02 PM)
But at the rate of people keep changing phones, all of these features will be gone soon.
Plus I think most Androids now kinda hard to roll back to older firmwares due to security.
Especially Samsung.
Samsung has this feature but have to use Samsung Internet Browser iirc
diadokmai
post Jun 19 2024, 11:44 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Apr 15 2024, 11:22 AM)
Finding a tablet which supports YT background steam play while the screen is off?

Aside from Realme pad 6

what other tablets can do that? Can be phone too. Or is there an app for that?

I also found out that Xiaomi has cancelled the feature.

Not sure if Realme pad 6 affected or not.
Become youtuber like goldfries la.
Revenue from YT can pay monthly YT Premium maa😆
I myself now officially work as part time Youtuber too😆

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Jun 19 2024, 11:49 PM
mcat84
post Jul 4 2024, 10:35 AM

614 posts

bilibili apk (cn)

can set loop, next steam or stop