10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

TSMakakeke
post Oct 5 2009, 03:09 PM

310 posts

It's definitely not intentional. Speed Racer is, but G.I Joe isn't. You could see that they wanted to make it good but failed. And even if they "intentional" made it look cheesy, it turned out to be lame.

Superman Returns is a great movie, I totally agree.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 6 2009, 01:40 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 6 2009, 01:33 PM)
30 Days of Night (BD)

Wow! What a great movie!!

Great story. Fantastic description of vampire (vampire are NOT DROP DEAD GORGEOUS creatures [i.e. Interview with the Vampire, TWILIGHT *Groan*] to "die" for [no pun intended] but vicious BLOOD DRINKING creatures of the night!!)

I really have NOTHING negative to say about this movie, great cast, great direction and great sets!

PQ and AQ is good on BD

Interesting to see Ben Foster (he plays Archangel in X-Men 3 also am looking forward to Pandorum which is being marketed as Horror in Space [like the original Alien] where he plays the lead) in this playing a REALLY weird character.

Ending is a little unpredictable and for the romantics out there, please make sure there are tissues handy.

As a horror movie, I give this a 4/5 stars

Nuff said
I thought 30 days was a very weak movie. Some of the scenes were good but there were lots of plotholes (i can't remember them now though tongue.gif )
TSMakakeke
post Oct 6 2009, 02:42 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 6 2009, 01:47 PM)
Potholes like roads in Malaysia?? tongue.gif

U must at least accept that as a vampire story, is it kinda unique (i.e. NOT Twillight, True Blood, Angel and Interview with a Vampire-ish)

Also, the ending was touching!? No? nod.gif
The ending was alright i thought. Cliched though. A unique vampire story will be like the swedish movie Let The Right One In, you should watch that.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 9 2009, 02:39 PM

310 posts

I would love to have more Hitchcock conversations here, any time.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 10 2009, 01:17 AM

310 posts

I actually didn't really like Rebecca. Sorry, old man.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 11 2009, 01:35 PM

310 posts

Surrogates - One of the most cliched movies ever, not a great movie but it does has its own entertainment values. 3/5.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 17 2009, 11:28 PM

310 posts

kobe8 is now kobe24?
TSMakakeke
post Oct 28 2009, 11:05 PM

310 posts

Event Horizon was quite an awesome movie as far as I can remember. I shall watch it again some time soon.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 30 2009, 01:47 AM

310 posts

I just watched Moon, and my, what a movie.

I'm just overwhelmed right now as I'm typing this. A mixed feeling that I've not experienced for awhile now. Best movie of the year? Personally, yes. How can I actually put my feelings into words? For one, it is heavily influenced by 2001. The spaceship interior, the pace, the intelligent robot (just that this is not evil). Add some 21st century touch into it and you get Moon. Outstanding display by Sam Rockwell, and to Spacey as well even though he's just a voice. Well, we can't expect him to stay monotonous all the way.

Visually-wise, it is very pleasing. The texture was very well balanced and damn it should look really awesome on the big screen. It was shot with a 70mm IINM. The bluray release should be out end of the year and I'll be watching it again then. But what takes the cake is the storyline. Come to think about it, it isn't really groundbreaking or anywhere near original but it's just the way it was executed. The suspense and the mystery works so well it makes it a thriller of its own. The way I see it, this movie has different layers which slowly unfolds itself, naturally, without feeling out of place. It makes you think back and forth until the truth is revealed and it was a real treat to my brains too. Soundtrack worked perfectly with some scenes, adding to the already depressing, tragic story.

Just awesome, 4.5/5.

Interesting fact: Duncan Jones, the director is the son of David Bowie. Hah.

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Oct 30 2009, 02:06 AM
TSMakakeke
post Oct 30 2009, 10:32 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 30 2009, 02:48 AM)
finally. i've been waiting for another soul in LYN to go see MOON. now i'm not alone!
you watched it in the cinema right? how was it?
TSMakakeke
post Dec 16 2009, 04:33 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 15 2009, 11:18 PM)
Tell No One - A french mystery/drama flick. 95% approval at RT. What a crock of shit. There arent many other things that piss me off more than a movie which thinks it's clever by employing a simple, generic story, hiding all the details from the audience whilst bombarding them with useless information, and then revealing all in the last 20 mins as some kind of terrific surprise. For a movie that relies almost singularly on its story, this is f***ing awful.
I agree with you. I was pretty pissed that it was even compared to Hitchcock's movies.
TSMakakeke
post Dec 28 2009, 06:00 PM

310 posts

I've recommended (500) to my other friends who are suffering the same fate as Tom and they love it. We do random talk about the movie sometimes, that proves how much it relates to us as guys. In some ways, it is a romance movie for the guys.
TSMakakeke
post Dec 28 2009, 07:10 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Dec 28 2009, 06:58 PM)
I wonder if that's true. I know a girl who loves the movie, because she relates to Summer.  biggrin.gif
Ah that explains it laugh.gif My girlfriend hates Tom because she thinks he's useless. Girls, what do they know about boys like Tom?
TSMakakeke
post Dec 28 2009, 11:23 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Dec 28 2009, 11:07 PM)
How is Tom useless? He's just an idealist who believes the world goes round with love. Of course I'm being defensive because while Tom worships The Graduate, I worship The Apartment and Casablanca.
Well, from a girl's point of view, acting childishly when you can't get over a girl is considered weak.
TSMakakeke
post Jan 3 2010, 12:44 AM

310 posts

I won't place NCFOM in my top movies list of the decade though, at least not in the top 10. Great movie, I love it but the ending is still so vague, I still don't get it, or maybe it's best not to know it? I don't know.

Last movie: Brothers.

Stellar cast, great performance but mediocre movie. I've read comments about it being a complete rip-off of the original Danish movie. Since I haven't watched the Danish one, the American one was good at best. Tobey Maguire finally pulled off a serious role and aces it. Natalie showed some maturity with her acting and I'll always love her. A little bored with Jake's role though, it seemed like I'm watching a repeat of his performance in Zodiac, nonetheless a good one although I can think of a dozen of actors that is capable of playing his role. 3.5/5.

TSMakakeke
post Jan 4 2010, 08:36 PM

310 posts

Precious - 4/5. Very inspiring and uplifting movie. Great movie if you want a tearjerker.

Up In The Air - 4/5. What I don't get is the hype it's been getting. Yes it's good, well acted. Very well acted indeed. But George Clooney didn't really brought the best out of his character the way Vera and Anna did. And that for me didn't quite sell it. I wished Reitman would have gotten someone else like Aaron Eckhart. He was amazing in TYFS, the best Reitman movie for me still.
TSMakakeke
post Jan 13 2010, 09:38 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(myVelouria @ Jan 11 2010, 10:35 PM)
After some recommendations, finally i got my hands on Children of Men. i love the cinematography, well played and did its part on getting the adrenalin rush pumped up through out the 'action' scene. best part is when the refugee camp is under siege by the government military. seems like they did it in one take, did they?  blink.gif
Yea, that's what I thought too, 1 take but look closer there's one scene where there's blood stain on the camera and it disappeared next. So it wasn't really one take.

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 12 2010, 07:15 PM)
moon.

and let there be light; ive not had much faith in the science fiction genre for years now. i could barely remember the last tiem i watched something that could even come close to the good old stuff like blade runner, space odyssey and so on. even the sci-fi action movies these days pale in comparision to the gems of yester years, have we had another star wars worthy movie? no, or aliens - no, terminator 1/2? no

yet here we have a movie largely ignored by the major population last year that restored a bit of hope into the much dead genre. teh movie was great, the sense of loneliness is clearly felt, the isolation and atmosphere very real and never over the top. acting top notch, story was great.  the music was exquisite, clint mansell did it again!

in the world of quick buck movies with heaps of effects and a crappy story*ccough* avatar *COUGH* , it is very refreshing that something like this does come by.

5/5
Moon is the best movie of 2009/.
TSMakakeke
post Jan 13 2010, 09:59 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(lycaphim @ Jan 13 2010, 09:45 PM)
Not going to make a new topic just to preach this, but The Cove is the best documentary film of 2009. Go watch it. Now.
Will do. What happen to your blog lah?
TSMakakeke
post Jan 13 2010, 10:20 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Jan 13 2010, 10:16 PM)
I only gave three films from 2009 a perfect rating and Up in the Air is one of them. It's an amazing experience. Will post a longer entry on this.

Wow.
I honestly don't get what's the big deal with Up In The Air. Will watch it again soon though. And I rather it to win BP rather than the over-rated The Hurt Locker.
TSMakakeke
post Jan 14 2010, 01:39 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 14 2010, 01:32 PM)
Air Force One. Fucking awesome, this movie.

Gran Torino. It has no right to work really, and yet, despite the collective bad acting from the asians (which in a strange way feels rather sincere and charming), it totally works. Much of it is down to Eastwood himself. Every time he spits, the movie gains a point from me.

Casablanca, for the first time. Everything they say about this movie is true. Classic, deservedly.
So italic works huh?

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0425sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:13 AM