Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

QuickFire
post Oct 12 2009, 05:20 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs - Largely uninteresting, unfunny and flat. 2.5/5

The Brothers Bloom - Really disappointing. It seems Rian Johnson might have had a few ideas, but took them out of the oven before they were fully baked and just ran with it. Everything feels extremely forced. You can feel they were attempting to inject the movie with some quirkiness. There are so many twists, twists to twists, twists in twists. The final twist should be good, it should carry much emotional weight, but it doesn't, because by that time I didnt care anymore. Not for the characters, not for the plot, not for the twists. Mar Ruffalo gives probably the best performance here, though that isnt saying much. Brody once again shows why he is an overrrated actor. 3/5

Gone Baby Gone - This didn't leave me a very big impression on me the last time, but that has changed. What a tight, smart thriller! The multiple characters and the dynamics between them truly make this an edge of the seat affair. There is this simmering explosiveness lurking underneath every scene. It really excels at building tension and suspense. There are a few morally murky and ambiguous situations, they work well and give the movie some added gravitas. This was also evident in Mystic River (though that movie had an infuriating ending scene and morally plain wrong). I guess Dennis Lehane likes writing stories like these (I've never read his books before).

Casey Affleck is good. He doesn't quite cut an authoritative figure, but I think his character recognizes, which explains his reactions whenever he feels stepped on. Ed Harris has a very showy role, and he pulls it off with aplomb. The weakest element I think is Michelle Monaghan, who has this wide-eyed, blank-faced expression 90% of the time. 4.5/5

Incidentally, I just got Lehane's Shutter Island today, along with Brave New World, which until today I thought was banned here. Couldn't find it anywhere for a long time and today I saw 6 or 7 copies at Borders.
sickx
post Oct 12 2009, 07:17 PM

:)
1,232 posts

people in LYN didn't watch papadom eh?
bingozero
post Oct 13 2009, 04:23 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(~bsj~ @ Oct 11 2009, 03:21 PM)
how is it?i wanted to watch..but something else always caught my mind first..haha...
Don't go to watch, you will regreat later, the storyline is boring yawn.gif
shaqmunak
post Oct 15 2009, 07:05 PM

287 posts

pandorum is a good movie rate it 6/10..better than alien vs predator..kinda confusing at first but u get to know more later on..
kyfong
post Oct 15 2009, 09:53 PM

290 posts

watched Bruce Wilis Surrogates.. its a rather short film,,
azarimy
post Oct 15 2009, 09:56 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(shaqmunak @ Oct 15 2009, 11:05 AM)
pandorum is a good movie rate it 6/10..better than alien vs predator..kinda confusing at first but u get to know more later on..
i agree. it's definitely better than most recent scifi-horror out there, but it's no sunshine or event horizon. i guess they're being bashed bcoz they borrow too much from other movies. but then again, if u're a scifi buff, a lot of movies nowadays borrowed stuffs from novels. so i dunno what's the big deal is.

these guys borrowed, and made it good.
bbjess0223
post Oct 15 2009, 10:16 PM

125 posts

watched "Surrogates" jz now...erm...storyline ok lah...robot replace human...da world gonna be a robotic world...hmmm...all these bcos human too rely on da robot...human...wake up...dun jz sit @ home n face da pc...must go out n face da real world by urself... tongue.gif
alive88
post Oct 15 2009, 11:13 PM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

i just bought the whiteout late nite tix..supposed ive made a big mistake?huhu...should follow my instinct buying the cloudy wif a chance of meatballs tix instead.. sad.gif
SUSFlizzardo
post Oct 16 2009, 03:01 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

just watched surrogates and pandorum

love surrogates but totally forget about it about watching pandorum because pandorum rocks!
chickenducksoup
post Oct 16 2009, 10:45 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

i just watched the kite runner.
taken from noval....
i should say is nice....love it...
jason991
post Oct 17 2009, 04:01 PM

is all about the money, money, money
1,189 posts

juz watched Orphan....damn the girl's acting is so damn good....n the idea is quite fresh n better than alot of other thrilling movies...definitely worth watching....
kobe24bryant
post Oct 17 2009, 05:14 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 12 2009, 05:20 PM)
The weakest element I think is Michelle Monaghan, who has this wide-eyed, blank-faced expression 90% of the time.  4.5/5

Incidentally, I just got Lehane's Shutter Island today, along with Brave New World, which until today I thought was banned here. Couldn't find it anywhere for a long time and today I saw 6 or 7 copies at Borders.
WTF? I thought she was solid in Gone Baby Gone and I can't wait to see her in Trucker. I love her! Love her!

Any coincidence it's out when the movie's coming out soon...
QuickFire
post Oct 17 2009, 10:47 PM

2,867 posts

Michelle Monaghan sans make up has weird eyes. laugh.gif

The supposedly banned book I was referring to is Brave New World, not Shutter Island which has been on the shelves for a long time now. I have under 20 pages of Shutter Island left. Finishing it now.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 17 2009, 11:28 PM

310 posts

kobe8 is now kobe24?
QuickFire
post Oct 17 2009, 11:35 PM

2,867 posts

lol I didnt even notice laugh.gif
kobe24bryant
post Oct 18 2009, 06:47 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Oct 17 2009, 11:28 PM)
kobe8 is now kobe24?
Was about time anyway. laugh.gif
Tsj261
post Oct 21 2009, 12:13 AM

314 posts

ANyone watch whiteout already ? mind elaborate ?
kobe24bryant
post Oct 21 2009, 01:55 AM

67 posts

I've not watch Whiteout but I frankly can't wait to see it.

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs - 2.5/5 The most unfunny and unentertaining animated flick I've seen since Shark's Tale.
maxizanc
post Oct 21 2009, 02:07 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Oct 21 2009, 01:55 AM)
Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs - 2.5/5 The most unfunny and unentertaining animated flick I've seen since Shark's Tale.
Ahhh, good. I guess it's my first time i've watched trailer of a movie that didn't impressive enough to attract me to watch it in cinema. I already could guess what the movie will look like after only watching the trailer. luckily you're telling me it's not good or else somebody will come up asking something like 'why you judge a movie before watching?' etc.
QuickFire
post Oct 21 2009, 09:40 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Oct 21 2009, 01:55 AM)
I've not watch Whiteout but I frankly can't wait to see it.

You mean since Ice Age 3.

tongue.gif

121 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:51 PM