Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

Mov_freak
post Nov 19 2009, 12:09 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Disturbia (2007)

Rewatched this on a m2ts file and it was great!

A umpteen time remake of Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window (1954 with James Stewart, which is also GREAT).

Having watched Shia LaBeouf in Holes, Even Stevens, I, Robot, Constantine (would be my favorite at this point), Disturbia, Transformers, Indiana Jones 4 (*sigh*), Eagle Eye and Tranformers 2 (can anyone say puke), I have come to a conclusion. Shia LaBeouf is VERY good at playing... Shia LaBeouf! smile.gif

I really don't see a difference in all the roles he play! Seriously! All his characters are basically Shia LaBeouf!!

Okay, having gotten that off my chest, this is a well executed movie.

As stated above, it quite successfully updated Alfred Hitchcock's rear Window, and had come up with a VERY plausible reason for why Kale (Shia LaBeouf character) is home bound.

Is it me or does Sarah Roemer look like a mini Jessica Biel!!?

Carrie-Anne Moss plays a mother?? Wow. Tough role after Trinity!! smile.gif

Turns out that the director D.J. Caruso also directed Eagle Eye! Wonder what he would churn out next?

For people who enoys suspense and mystery, please give this a play!

My Two Sens (is about all I have after plunking down hard earn cash on A Christmas Carol 3D ticket *Grumble* *Grumble*)
Mov_freak
post Nov 20 2009, 10:48 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

A Christmas Carol (3D)

This movie is FANTASTIC in 3D (much better then Beowulf, in term of depth, Snow flakes are right in front of u, and then you see the characters and then snow flakes behind the characters, you get the idea).

Skin tone are natural and textured. Very realistic but unfortunately (the only downer), they still haven't crack the lifeless eyes problem.

This movie is VERY atmospheric. The ghosts are AMAZING (scary really, some high school girls left the cinema during the scary scenes!!) and soundtrack is very Christmassy (is THIS a word?? tongue.gif).

The landscapes are broad (much broader then Beowulf if you can believe that).

They took some artist licensing with the ghosts (not complaining, it's a good thing) but capture the spirit of the story (did wish there were more about the Ghost of the Christmas Past though).

Jim Carrey is no longer crowned the king of comedy and I would like to add, he is GREAT in this movie. We have seen his Ebenezer before (he puts this character in his other works, most noticeably in Ace Venture Pet Detective). His performance is strong and is the driving force behind the movie!

I have watched a lot of A Christmas Carol before (ancient , remember) black and whites, cannot remember the actors name (again, OLD already) and notably From Bill Murray in Scrooged (1988, not his best work) to Patrick Stewart's A Christmas Carol (1999).

I'll have to say that this latest installment of A Christmas Carol is my favorite. VERY well done.

Go watch it. U know u want to! smile.gif

My Two Sens (Literally) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 20 2009, 04:27 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 20 2009, 11:27 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Nov 20 2009, 11:04 AM)
I read, two young men from Malaysia involved in the production of A Christmas Carol movie.
Looking through the end credits, there were some Asian names, but not sure if they are Malaysian....

Sorry I'm NOT very helpful with this...
Mov_freak
post Jan 3 2010, 09:16 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Obitaemyy ostrov (Eng Title Inhabited island, 2008)

I'll be the first to admit that I know VERY little about Russian cinema, let alone Sci Fi Russian cinema.

First impression of this movie is that, it is very influence by

Brazil
Fifth Element
Equilibrium
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Another thing which I'm greatly surprise with is the lead Vasily Stepanov (who plays Maksim) looks exactly like Jon-Erik Hexum from the old TV series The Voyagers! (if anyone out there remembers!!

Looks expensive to produce, am 15 minutes into to movie, and have to whip my head around to read the subtitles whilst typing this

Will keep you posted!
Mov_freak
post Jan 14 2010, 11:24 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 12 2010, 07:15 PM)
moon.

and let there be light; ive not had much faith in the science fiction genre for years now. i could barely remember the last tiem i watched something that could even come close to the good old stuff like blade runner, space odyssey and so on. even the sci-fi action movies these days pale in comparision to the gems of yester years, have we had another star wars worthy movie? no, or aliens - no, terminator 1/2? no

yet here we have a movie largely ignored by the major population last year that restored a bit of hope into the much dead genre. teh movie was great, the sense of loneliness is clearly felt, the isolation and atmosphere very real and never over the top. acting top notch, story was great.  the music was exquisite, clint mansell did it again!

in the world of quick buck movies with heaps of effects and a crappy story*ccough* avatar *COUGH* , it is very refreshing that something like this does come by.

5/5
Ah, another trippy movie that +3kk! likey?? biggrin.gif

I have it but not watched it.

Will try and fit it in this weekend and maybe we'll have another existentialism discussion like we did about 2001!! tongue.gif
Mov_freak
post Jan 15 2010, 01:54 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 15 2010, 11:50 AM)
So I watched Sunset Blvd.. I liked it quite a lot, but it wasnt until around the 50th minute mark that I realized I was approaching the film the wrong way, and it wasn't until then that I started to really like it. I was expecting a crime film-noir, or at least a movie with a chunky element of crime involved. But that's not it, the movie isnt about the murder, it's REALLY about Hollywood and the people who live in it. When I saw Cecil B. DeMile's name in the credits in the beginning, I thought it was only going to be a small cameo for him. As it turns out, while his role as himself isnt a whole lot, it's far from small and insignificant. I might not know a lot about the classic Hollywood period, but this film feels authentic. I will stop just short of calling this a great film, but time and repeat viewings might change that.

I think I will watch the extended edition of King Kong next.
Wow Sunset Blvd and then King Kong extended version!!? My you live a VARIED life!! biggrin.gif
Mov_freak
post Jan 28 2010, 02:23 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Legion (2010)

After nearly O.D.ing from movie like Avatar and Sherlock Holmes (at to a lesser extend, The Body Guards and Assassins), I was reluctant about going back to the movie. The couple of movies I watched in the cinema were pretty good, and will this streak break in January 2010.

Alas, it did.

Legion is....

Let me put it this way, if you had watched the trailer, there REALLY isn't any need to go watch the movie, most of the good bits are in the trailer!

The story is NONE existent (are all GOOD script writers in America still on strike?? or have they all out source them to China and India [student of Introduction to English])

Angels wear leather in this movie...

The ending MAKES ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE.

1 (to Dennis Quaid for making the most out of nothing) out of 10
Mov_freak
post Feb 2 2010, 11:26 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

I have to admit, I'm VERY reluctant to own up to the fact that I went to see The Tooth Fairy yesterday.

I did, there I said it.

I didn't want to go, but due to peer pressure, I ended up watching the movie and have to say, it's okay.

A fluff piece for sure, but if you want to see something light heart and mildly amusing, this movie is for you.

Is The Rock the next goto guy for Disney for fluffy pieces like The Tooth Fairy, Escape to Witch Mountain and The Game Plan, you betcha.

Storyline predictable. But I have to say that Dwayne goes through this silly piece with his pride intact. Is he the Jackie Chan of America (eg. tough guy with a heart of gold). You betcha

I'll give this movie, a 6.8 out of 10

Now if only I can end this review with MY pride intact...

My two sen...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 2 2010, 11:26 AM
Mov_freak
post Feb 5 2010, 01:21 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Sololity Low

Reason to watch this movie

In the words of Quickfire, boobies! Lots and lots of boobies! Who would have thunk that Harry Potter's first crush is so... "friendly" tongue.gif

Any other reasons to watch this movie?

Alas, no!

My Two Sens
Mov_freak
post Feb 8 2010, 09:35 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Feb 7 2010, 10:15 PM)
Hey, dont tarnish my image with that bullshit! I dont watch any movie only for boobage!  tongue.gif
I wasn't suggesting that you ONLY watch movies with boobs... But now that you've mention it.... biggrin.gif

Mov_freak
post Feb 9 2010, 11:40 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Feb 8 2010, 06:05 PM)
Oh, there is a really pretty girl in this too, who has a very nice pair. biggrin.gif Extra points for them!
I stand corrected!! biggrin.gif
Mov_freak
post Feb 9 2010, 12:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Did a mini marathon whilst cleaning up my room during the weekend.

Dorian Gray (2009)

A good looking English production, of this classic book (Portrait of Dorian Gray, available on Penguin Books). Reasonably well done, but not buzz worthy. Maybe society has become so decadent (jaded) that we don't see what Dorian did as... BAD!! Ben Barnes (fresh from Narnian Chronicles 2) plays Dorian Gray, an "innocent" from the countryside who is introduce to London's creme de la creme (after his wealth grandfather's death) and was thoroughly corrupted! Oh, a portrait is involved somewhere in there!! tongue.gif

Galaxy Quest (1999)
Ah, how can one NOT mention Star Trek when one talks about Galaxy Quest. I think this is Tim Allen at his best. Sigourney Weaver plays the bosomy (Quickfire?) fairer sex whose job is to repeat what the computer says and who can forget Alan Rickman (before Harry Potter) who plays Alexander Dane/Dr. Lazarus ("By Grabthar's hammer") [Galaxy Quest version of vulcan Spock]. Everything noteworth about Star Trek is satirise!! A must view for lover of Star Trek or comedies.

Gatacca (1997)

An actual serious and stylish movie about what society can be if all we care about is the perfect dna. Starring Jude Law, Ethan Hawke (Ex Mr Uma Thurman who always reminds me of a rat, anyone??) and surprise, surprise, Uma Thurman.

Ghost Ship (2002)

When Robert Zemecski and Joel Silver got together to form Dark Castle in the late 90s, they said they would produce a spooky movie on an annual basis for Holloween. Alas, that stop after Gothika... Ghost Ship is mildly scarier then Gothika (only just) with an ultra cool opening!! Worth watching for the opening!!

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 9 2010, 02:57 PM
Mov_freak
post Feb 9 2010, 02:48 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Feb 9 2010, 12:36 PM)
Man, I've been looking for this DVD foreversad.gif
Er... I just gave mine away after getting a HD version of this movie...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 9 2010, 02:56 PM
Mov_freak
post Feb 9 2010, 11:16 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Feb 9 2010, 05:37 PM)

Sigh.
Er... That's dramatic. Do u have a media player? I sure my friend won't mind me borrowing it of him and do a iso file from it!

Mov_freak
post Feb 14 2010, 01:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

14 Blades

I watched this on Thursday and had been busy. Was only able to put in My Two Sens today.

Great Sets.

Great action sequences.

Great First and third acts. If they had tighten up the second act, this would have been a GREAT movie!

Leading villainess is Tuo Tuo (Kate Tsui, roughly translated as Unclothed Unclothed [I kid u NOT Quickfire], u'll understand when u watch the movie).

There is a redundant character. (One guess who)

Storyline is a throw back to Old Shaw Movie (hand up kiddlies for those who had NOT heard of Shaw Brother!?! I thought so), which is NOT a bad thing. The driving forces behind most character (with the exception of the REDUNDANT character) are clear and this is a good example of how Hong Kong and China movie companys' merging their effort is a boon!

If you don't mind blood and have some spare change to use for movie, I recommend this movie

Nuff said!

Added on February 14, 2010, 1:13 amPercy Jackson Lightning Thief

First off, I have NEVER read the book

First impression, a modern retelling of the legend of Perseus.

Scene stealers, definitely Brandon T. Jackson and Pierce Brosnan.

Surprises, Uma Thurman taking up the role in this movie (a rather small one) in this movie, and she does it deliciously... I suppose even Uma Thurman has monthly bills to pay.

Strong first act, weaker 2nd and 3rd did not live up to expectation.

Worth a viewing if you have the spare change.

Nuff Said

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 14 2010, 01:13 AM
Mov_freak
post Feb 15 2010, 03:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Little Big Soldier (2010).

Jackie Chan's latest endeavor. Not his MOST action oriented movie, but DEFINITELY better then his Hollywood attempts.

More comedic then action and not a bad try by Lee Hom. Not saying that he will win any awards, but he sold his character well enough. (I'm NOT brave enough to watch True Legend [because of Jay Chou]). I think Jackie should start thinking about acting in role more suitable for his age...

Storyline is strong. The lead actress motivation is a little DUH!!!

Interesting spin on Chinese history before the Qin Dynasty

So far the two Chinese movie for the CNY has not disappoint (the other is 14 Blades)

For family with young kids, I recommend this movie more then 14 Blades.

An 8/10 movie for sure.

My Two Sens
Mov_freak
post Feb 24 2010, 04:31 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Feb 14 2010, 09:58 AM)
She was in the trailer.
Was she (assuming you mean Uma Thurman, in Percy Jackson)

I remember downloading and watching all the trailers, but no recollection of her... Again the old noodle is failing me...

Oh well, c'est la vie (such is life.... if I spelled it right!?! tongue.gif)

Anyone here had watched The Wolfman.

Worth watching??
Mov_freak
post Feb 25 2010, 10:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Feb 24 2010, 05:52 PM)
Not really. Some decent scares, but overall impression is "itu saja kah?"
Thanks n00b13. You just saved me 8 ringgit!! smile.gif
Mov_freak
post Feb 27 2010, 12:15 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Feb 26 2010, 04:26 PM)
Last night I saw one great prison escape movie...

And having all that "chicks" in the movie helped right!! ;p
Mov_freak
post Feb 27 2010, 07:08 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Feb 27 2010, 05:20 PM)
Nah they didn't have any boobies. And even if they had, clay boobs just dont cut it.
Hahahahahahahahaha!!! biggrin.gif

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:15 AM