if anybody here using a neutral density filter?
which type do you use?
x2, x4 or x8
which is better for a sunny daylight in malaysia?
give me your opinion...
ND Filter, which type do you choose?
Oct 30 2007, 09:55 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
261 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: UEP Subang Jaya |
just a little survey before i buy one..
if anybody here using a neutral density filter? which type do you use? x2, x4 or x8 which is better for a sunny daylight in malaysia? give me your opinion... |
Oct 30 2007, 10:25 PM
3,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong/Singapore |
Try ND400
(8.6 stops of light reduction) Added on October 30, 2007, 10:27 pmIf you have a polarising filter, it's equal to an ND2 already. No, stacking polarising filters isn't a good idea. You get weird colourisations. This post has been edited by cjtune: Oct 30 2007, 10:27 PM |
Oct 30 2007, 11:06 PM
10,261 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
From what I notice, ND8 is commonly used.
Oct 30 2007, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(cjtune @ Oct 30 2007, 10:25 PM) Try ND400 what do you meant by weird colourisations? mind to share?(8.6 stops of light reduction) Added on October 30, 2007, 10:27 pmIf you have a polarising filter, it's equal to an ND2 already. No, stacking polarising filters isn't a good idea. You get weird colourisations. QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Oct 30 2007, 11:06 PM) its commonly used on what kinda environment? This post has been edited by andy_mc_d: Oct 30 2007, 11:25 PM |
Oct 30 2007, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(andy_mc_d @ Oct 30 2007, 11:24 PM) what do you meant by weird colourisations? mind to share? For capturing waterfalls and river streams, sunsets, i have also seen some photos of the sky with clouds taken with ND8.its commonly used on what kinda environment? This link might help you http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/nd8/ |
Oct 31 2007, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(andy_mc_d @ Oct 30 2007, 11:24 PM) what do you meant by weird colourisations? mind to share? its commonly used on what kinda environment? ![]() I didn't photoshop in the overall blue tint. Two stacked circular polarisers did it. A bit of a turn more and I can get a green tint, red tint, etc. Added on October 31, 2007, 12:37 am QUOTE(andy_mc_d @ Oct 30 2007, 11:24 PM) what do you meant by weird colourisations? mind to share? Another purpose of using ND filters is so that you can shot at your widest possible lens aperture in very bright light without maxing out the fastest shutter speed at lowest ISO. This way, you get to use a thin depth-of-field for artistic reasons.its commonly used on what kinda environment? Added on October 31, 2007, 12:38 am QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Oct 30 2007, 11:06 PM) Do people stop at using just one ND8 or do they stack them to get ND16, etc.?This post has been edited by cjtune: Oct 31 2007, 12:38 AM |
Oct 31 2007, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(cjtune @ Oct 31 2007, 12:36 AM) ![]() I didn't photoshop in the overall blue tint. Two stacked circular polarisers did it. A bit of a turn more and I can get a green tint, red tint, etc. Added on October 31, 2007, 12:37 am Another purpose of using ND filters is so that you can shot at your widest possible lens aperture in very bright light without maxing out the fastest shutter speed at lowest ISO. This way, you get to use a thin depth-of-field for artistic reasons. Added on October 31, 2007, 12:38 am Do people stop at using just one ND8 or do they stack them to get ND16, etc.? But it is definitely possible. Fringing can be cropped out anyway. |
Oct 31 2007, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Oct 30 2007, 11:35 PM) For capturing waterfalls and river streams, sunsets, i have also seen some photos of the sky with clouds taken with ND8. quite interesting link This link might help you http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/nd8/ QUOTE(cjtune @ Oct 31 2007, 12:36 AM) ![]() I didn't photoshop in the overall blue tint. Two stacked circular polarisers did it. A bit of a turn more and I can get a green tint, red tint, etc. Added on October 31, 2007, 12:37 am Another purpose of using ND filters is so that you can shot at your widest possible lens aperture in very bright light without maxing out the fastest shutter speed at lowest ISO. This way, you get to use a thin depth-of-field for artistic reasons. Added on October 31, 2007, 12:38 am Do people stop at using just one ND8 or do they stack them to get ND16, etc.? if i were using CPL i preferably use the pitch: 0.75 one i'm now stuck in between either want to use type x4 or x8...any suggestions? i'm more into scenic and architecture photography This post has been edited by andy_mc_d: Oct 31 2007, 01:31 AM |
Oct 31 2007, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(andy_mc_d @ Oct 31 2007, 01:28 AM) quite interesting link Eh, I'm not aware of any of my two CPL filters being colour-tinted.that one is using Blue CPL filter if i not mistaken aite? if i were using CPL i preferably use the pitch: 0.75 one i'm now stuck in between either want to use type x4 or x8...any suggestions? i'm more into scenic and architecture photography Go straight for ND8 loh. Later google for ND400 photos and slowly poison yourself with it in your own free time. |
Oct 31 2007, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(cjtune @ Oct 31 2007, 01:36 AM) Eh, I'm not aware of any of my two CPL filters being colour-tinted. herm, someone'd offered me Hoya ND x8 filter for RM130..huhuhuuGo straight for ND8 loh. Later google for ND400 photos and slowly poison yourself with it in your own free time. if i not mistaken ND400 is better to use if you shooting waterfall or river.correct me if i were wrong |
Oct 31 2007, 02:09 AM
2,477 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
ND x8 for Rm130? wat is the mounting thread ?
i was too looking for ND filter.. 58mm This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Oct 31 2007, 02:10 AM |
Oct 31 2007, 02:16 AM
Oct 31 2007, 07:02 PM
Oct 31 2007, 07:25 PM
3,589 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Bolehland |
Step up definitely can be done, by using ring converter (dunno what it exactly called). Like if ur thread is 67mm, get a 67mm, 72mm ND and a 67mm-72mm ring converter to prevent vignetting
Oct 31 2007, 08:35 PM
4,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I have two cokin ND8, 1 cokin ND8 grad, 1 cokin ND6grad in my arsenal
ND8 grad are commonly used for sunsets. ND6 grads are for normal day light use without the sun in the picture. I stacked two ND8s together just to make the eye of malaysia appear spinning in broad daylight. |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:01 PM |