Car Porch Room - ACP vs. Zinc PU?, Anyone can share more about this?

TSkshoo
post Apr 7 2024, 03:58 PM, updated 2y ago

24 posts

Hello Sifus.

I am looking to install a car porch, and have been checking around for quotes. Based on what I gathered, it seems like ACP (Aluminium Composite) is the cheaper option these days even when compared to polycarbonate, at least around Klang Valley.

There were a few things shared by those salesmen which I'm hoping to verify with experienced friends here.

1) ACP 4mm vs PC 3mm - definitely ACP is a better bet that it will last longer vs PC.
2) ACP can cut off heat better than PC (mainly due to cutting off sunlight).
3) Combining both ACP And polycarbonate is NOT recommended - high potential of leaks as they are different thickness and materials
4) ACP is actually now cheaper than PC (e.g. RM 2-3 cheaper per sq feet).

Other than the above however, one of the salesmen revealed that there is also something called the Zinc PU. Quoted at the same price as ACP, he told me this is like a much enhanced version of the old-school zinc awnings. Basically they sandwich a PU Foam in-between two zinc pieces, and that practically can outlast any other materials other than maybe glass. However it is not preferred simply because it's just very 'old style'. Plus, the edge needs to be covered up to make things look 'nicer'.

Is anyone aware about this material? If you have heard about it or are (or decided against) using it, could you also please share your experience with it? E.g. noisy when raining, really a viable alternative etc. It would help give me better understanding about the trade-offs for each.

Thank you.
TSkshoo
post Apr 10 2024, 07:37 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 7 2024, 04:58 PM)
Are you talking about PU metaldeck?
https://www.google.com/search?q=pu+metaldeck
Yes. I double-checked. Some call it Metal PU, others call it Zinc PU.
TSkshoo
post Apr 10 2024, 07:40 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 7 2024, 11:19 PM)
How much price u get for ACP? Cheapest i found is RM16/sqft
Wow, RM16? The quotes that I got are between RM24-26/sqft. Includes all the thrusts and beams + workmanship. Beams and gutter is extra.
TSkshoo
post Apr 11 2024, 06:26 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 10 2024, 07:51 AM)
RM16 without gutter.
Structure and pillar inclusive but if u want to change pillar to stainless steel need to add few hundred just for the pillar, if u worry rust.

Nice! Which supplier did you use ? Could you pass me to the contact so that I can also ask them for a quote.

0.0165sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:52 AM