Serious Couples who are committed but not legally married, Legal complications?

keong_boy
post Apr 4 2024, 03:14 PM

165 posts

But if not married, say if one passed away without a will, that will cause difficulty right?

I don't know but there will be some goverment agency that will require marriage certificate like for the above case, perkeso, kwsp and insurance actually asked for it. But i'm not sure if they will process even without it.

Edit: if not any tom dick and harry can claim to be their "spouse".

This post has been edited by keong_boy: Apr 4 2024, 03:17 PM
keong_boy
post Apr 4 2024, 03:18 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Apr 4 2024, 03:16 PM)
Ts mentioned ignore inheritance rights
Ops sorry. In that case, can't think of any entity that would require marriage certificate.
keong_boy
post Apr 4 2024, 03:48 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Ericz @ Apr 4 2024, 03:24 PM)
no prob bruh, cus that is the only obvious one that I can think of
but wondering if a Will can replace a marriage certificate ar  sweat.gif
Not too sure, but if claim inheritance i think 'will' quite powerful, even more than marriage cert. I think the court will layan the 'will' > marriage cert. Lawyers will suggests you to do it, but not sure it's just because they want cari makan. But they say if no will, other parties such as children and parents have a percentage of what the decease leaves behind, if they choose to dispute, if no dispute then no issue.

But, maybe, for kwsp/perkeso/insurance, cert > will. Kwsp has nomination, but perkeso, the checklist is marriage cert to be entitled for it's benefits, as it's for "spouse and children". Not sure if a will can replace a cert in this case.

damnnn, really can't think of what entity will need it. Only can think of court and insurance.

0.0143sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:11 AM