Would you invest in Malaysian stablecoin MYRC?
SUSraynman
Apr 3 2024, 06:12 AM, updated 2y ago
What is MYRC?MYRC is a digital stablecoin developed by BLOX that is pegged 1-to-1 with the Malaysian Ringgit (MYR). It combines the advantages of blockchain technology with the stability of a fiat currency, providing a secure and reliable digital payment solution in Malaysia. How is MYRC backed?MYRC is fully backed by MYR fiat currency held in reserve. This means that for every MYRC token in circulation, an equivalent amount of MYR is securely stored to ensure the stability and redeemability of MYRC at any time. Find out more.... https://www.blox.my/
coconutxyz
Apr 3 2024, 06:13 AM
Can I short?
Roadwarrior1337
Apr 3 2024, 06:15 AM
Pegged to myr
Nothing good can come out of this
Chanwsan
Apr 3 2024, 06:17 AM
The fiat already dog shit enough, still want to crypto it to get rug pulled?
bengang15
Apr 3 2024, 06:28 AM
Why would anyone create a coin and peg to myr. Wiyld it be easier to just keep rm in my bank?
What will happen later like the fx case is that after they reach a certain volume they will peg to their own coin. Then value drop 99%
SUSraynman
Apr 3 2024, 06:28 AM
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Apr 3 2024, 06:17 AM) The fiat already dog shit enough, still want to crypto it to get rug pulled? True. I would rather put my money into USDT or USDC stablecoins
Current Events guy
Apr 3 2024, 06:31 AM
Invest in anything malaysia is probably going to lead to some sleepless nights unless you got money to burn
cursetheroad01
Apr 3 2024, 06:54 AM

QUOTE(raynman @ Apr 3 2024, 06:12 AM) What is MYRC?MYRC is a digital stablecoin developed by BLOX that is pegged 1-to-1 with the Malaysian Ringgit (MYR). It combines the advantages of blockchain technology with the stability of a fiat currency, providing a secure and reliable digital payment solution in Malaysia. How is MYRC backed?MYRC is fully backed by MYR fiat currency held in reserve. This means that for every MYRC token in circulation, an equivalent amount of MYR is securely stored to ensure the stability and redeemability of MYRC at any time. Find out more.... https://www.blox.my/ Red flag Sdn bhd Self managed reserve Non insured Unspecified auditors Nbdre This post has been edited by cursetheroad01: Apr 3 2024, 06:58 AM
Chowda
Apr 3 2024, 06:56 AM

Stable coin only worth as long as CBDC not yet out.
Once CBDC is out, it is a bit redundant to have stable coins when it is much safer to have government backed digital currency
pobox
Apr 3 2024, 07:12 AM
If it is backed by BNM then yes
AmpBuster
Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM

there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat which means you will never gain any value from it crypto investors use stablecoin to hedge against crypto volatility
pandah
Apr 3 2024, 07:20 AM
You have so much money to do 1 to 1 reserve?
SUSraynman
Apr 3 2024, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(pandah @ Apr 3 2024, 07:20 AM) You have so much money to do 1 to 1 reserve?  I have more money than BLOX This post has been edited by raynman: Apr 3 2024, 07:43 AM
SUSraynman
Apr 3 2024, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM) there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat which means you will never gain any value from it crypto investors use stablecoin to hedge against crypto volatility Who would want to use the Malaysian Ringgit stablecoin to hedge? I use USDT and USDC
SUSraynman
Apr 4 2024, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM) there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat which means you will never gain any value from it crypto investors use stablecoin to hedge against crypto volatility There are only CONS as far as I know 1. Very low transaction volume with high possibility of a rug-pull 2. Not a hedge against inflation or the weakening ringgit 3. Network fees on the Ethereum Mainnet is expensive.
poooky
Apr 4 2024, 10:20 AM
If this is true, I can see it being successful as an easy on/off ramp into crypto MYR into myrc into usdt. Good alternative to cex P2P. But a but skeptical as even luno forbidden to hold stable coins and remitano kena banned for being on off ramp.
AthrunIJ
Apr 4 2024, 10:35 AM
Nope
Fack MYR
styrwr91
Apr 4 2024, 10:35 AM
What u mean invest when it’s pegged to ringgit? No diff from holding paper currency
xPrototype
Apr 4 2024, 10:36 AM
LUNA incoming
bonedragon
Apr 4 2024, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM) there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat which means you will never gain any value from it crypto investors use stablecoin to hedge against crypto volatility Or bypass currency controls MYR tak laku outside our borders. Who will buy
jett138
Apr 4 2024, 12:00 PM
i think the term is will you use, rather than invest. as the local sentiment is not to hodl ringgit.
-cheaper than p2p, cc and luno to convert your myr into other currency.
-click into monthly attestation will reveal the auditor RM67k published in feb, wait for the march update.
-there are utility for such token.
This post has been edited by jett138: Apr 4 2024, 12:01 PM
carloz28
Apr 4 2024, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 3 2024, 06:15 AM) Pegged to myr Nothing good can come out of this Malaysia initiative Straight away think of low quality, high exposure scams