Would you invest in Malaysian stablecoin MYRC?

SUSraynman
post Apr 3 2024, 06:12 AM, updated 2y ago

4,333 posts

What is MYRC?

MYRC is a digital stablecoin developed by BLOX that is pegged 1-to-1 with the Malaysian Ringgit (MYR).
It combines the advantages of blockchain technology with the stability of a fiat currency, providing a secure and reliable digital payment solution in Malaysia.

How is MYRC backed?

MYRC is fully backed by MYR fiat currency held in reserve.
This means that for every MYRC token in circulation, an equivalent amount of MYR is securely stored to ensure the stability and redeemability of MYRC at any time.

Find out more....

https://www.blox.my/
coconutxyz
post Apr 3 2024, 06:13 AM

422 posts

Can I short?
Roadwarrior1337
post Apr 3 2024, 06:15 AM

979 posts

Pegged to myr

Nothing good can come out of this
Chanwsan
post Apr 3 2024, 06:17 AM

सोहम
1,406 posts

The fiat already dog shit enough, still want to crypto it to get rug pulled?
bengang15
post Apr 3 2024, 06:28 AM

421 posts

Why would anyone create a coin and peg to myr. Wiyld it be easier to just keep rm in my bank?

What will happen later like the fx case is that after they reach a certain volume they will peg to their own coin. Then value drop 99%
SUSraynman
post Apr 3 2024, 06:28 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Apr 3 2024, 06:17 AM)
The fiat already dog shit enough, still want to crypto it to get rug pulled?
True.

I would rather put my money into USDT or USDC stablecoins whistling.gif
Current Events guy
post Apr 3 2024, 06:31 AM

966 posts

Invest in anything malaysia is probably going to lead to some sleepless nights unless you got money to burn
cursetheroad01
post Apr 3 2024, 06:54 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Apr 3 2024, 06:12 AM)
What is MYRC?

MYRC is a digital stablecoin developed by BLOX that is pegged 1-to-1 with the Malaysian Ringgit (MYR).
It combines the advantages of blockchain technology with the stability of a fiat currency, providing a secure and reliable digital payment solution in Malaysia.
How is MYRC backed?

MYRC is fully backed by MYR fiat currency held in reserve.
This means that for every MYRC token in circulation, an equivalent amount of MYR is securely stored to ensure the stability and redeemability of MYRC at any time.
Find out more....

https://www.blox.my/
Red flag
Sdn bhd
Self managed reserve
Non insured
Unspecified auditors

Nbdre

This post has been edited by cursetheroad01: Apr 3 2024, 06:58 AM
Chowda
post Apr 3 2024, 06:56 AM

98 posts

Stable coin only worth as long as CBDC not yet out.

Once CBDC is out, it is a bit redundant to have stable coins when it is much safer to have government backed digital currency
pobox
post Apr 3 2024, 07:12 AM

551 posts

If it is backed by BNM then yes
AmpBuster
post Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM

145 posts

there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat
which means you will never gain any value from it
crypto investors use stablecoin to hedge against crypto volatility
pandah
post Apr 3 2024, 07:20 AM

719 posts

You have so much money to do 1 to 1 reserve?
SUSraynman
post Apr 3 2024, 07:43 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Apr 3 2024, 07:20 AM)
You have so much money to do 1 to 1 reserve?

I have more money than BLOX laugh.gif

This post has been edited by raynman: Apr 3 2024, 07:43 AM
SUSraynman
post Apr 3 2024, 01:47 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM)
there's no point "investing" in a stablecoin because the value is pegged to fiat
Who would want to use the Malaysian Ringgit stablecoin to hedge?

I use USDT and USDC whistling.gif
SUSraynman
post Apr 4 2024, 07:59 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Apr 3 2024, 07:15 AM)
There are only CONS as far as I know

1. Very low transaction volume with high possibility of a rug-pull
2. Not a hedge against inflation or the weakening ringgit
3. Network fees on the Ethereum Mainnet is expensive.
poooky
post Apr 4 2024, 10:20 AM

844 posts

If this is true, I can see it being successful as an easy on/off ramp into crypto MYR into myrc into usdt. Good alternative to cex P2P. But a but skeptical as even luno forbidden to hold stable coins and remitano kena banned for being on off ramp.
Capt. Marble
post Apr 4 2024, 10:34 AM

221 posts

AthrunIJ
post Apr 4 2024, 10:35 AM

2,992 posts

Nope

Fack MYR
styrwr91
post Apr 4 2024, 10:35 AM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

What u mean invest when it’s pegged to ringgit? No diff from holding paper currency
xPrototype
post Apr 4 2024, 10:36 AM

316 posts

LUNA incoming

0.0162sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:37 PM