How much do you spend for your pet?

MrBaba
post Mar 30 2024, 12:14 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Mar 30 2024, 12:03 PM)
This past 1 month I had 3 encounters within my network of friends that own pets - pure bred dogs to be exact, like Husky. I don’t rear pets because my wife is not supportive of it - she thinks they are dirty. Gotta respect that so I can have a harmonious family. Anyway my jaw dropped I learnt that my friends they spent a fortune to upkeep their pets. They spent on:
1. Dog walker walking the dog 8 hours a day, 5 days a week
2. Pet hotel when they are away for holiday abroad
3. Pet insurance
4. Monthly grooming - this I’m aware. Seen a lot of that
5. Pet nanny. They even paid RM2,000/month and took the trouble fetching their dog after work
6. Pet funeral service

I can understand nowadays many people don’t want to have kids and chose to rear pets instead, treating them like own family members. Having pets meaning less headache no need to worry about kids doing drugs, send them to university, get them a driving license…etc. Gosh, my dad my used to rear stray dogs in my younger days to guard the house from intruders. Pets nowadays are spoil brats I think
Yup plenty ppl donno the cheapest expenses of having a dog is buying it , then the black hole start suck money non stop .
MrBaba
post Mar 30 2024, 12:18 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 30 2024, 12:16 PM)
Adopt, don't buy
U adopt what breed pun , the fix expense is there . If u can skip on those things but will end up with huge vet bill saja .
MrBaba
post Mar 30 2024, 01:15 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 30 2024, 12:42 PM)
On vet bills,
Mongrels are more hardy. Pure breeds usually have their particular issues eg goldens have hip issues
Nowadays I see some mongrel have better life then most b40 M40 lol .

QUOTE(zuozi @ Mar 30 2024, 12:56 PM)
Yes i totally agree, i have adopted 6 male and 4 female cat sometimes can miss look then male cat urine crystals end up spending around minimum RM 500+ to RM 1k at vet because per day RM 100 sometimes got to stay up to 7 day's after reaching home still got to feed him medicine for another 7 day's etc etc hassle so far i have 3 male cat kena this case but other 3 male and female cat don't because they mostly got water intake and don't hold urine too long

Sometimes be kind is good but too kind also end up
menyusahkan money and time having a pet literally (倒米) every 6 months got to refill 8 box tofu cat litter each box with 6 litres x8 here also a huge cost already and 1 and half month RM 200 10kg cat food and hidden surprised vet fees

Lucky i my self can grooming all of them including the other 2 dog
😂 😂
Do what we can saja lo . Cats need to be careful I heard if kena bone cancer thing can spread to whole group one ( flv ) . If one kena all kena , same with dog heart worm .

MrBaba
post Mar 30 2024, 05:15 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Mar 30 2024, 01:33 PM)
Fiv if the carry don't go bite or physical attack is safe to sleep and eat under same place i have one female cat have fiv my vet told me either appears now or until dead also didn't surface won't causing much harm still depends the immune system,

the only thing vet telling me yearly vaccine have no effective or any surgery perform can causing wounds take longer to recover to bleed to dead situation exact details have a lot more lah but all the details vet telling me only some part i still remember

the other will infected other are oral disease if drinking the same bowl of water other pet can kena too so my vet telling me must separate them use different bowl, so far i have only 1 female cat have oral disease and one fiv female cat other than that so far so good manage to handling.
My friend case , the mommy cat have this all the kids have this too then spread to other cats . Now berry sad his place no more cats left .

0.0135sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:12 PM