Looping from 13A, 1200mm into 3 new sockets

TSMika Letchumany
post Mar 28 2024, 01:23 PM, updated 2y ago

424 posts

Hi sifu,

My house got reno recently and now going to install kitchen kabinet with hood and hob.

The contractor is suggesting to use existing 13A, 1200 for hood and hob and also for fridge.

Is this safe?
Can all the 3 appliances be used simultaneously?

Thank you in advance.

acbc
post Mar 28 2024, 01:31 PM

9,041 posts

Hob and fridge must be separated.

In general, anything with motor need to be separated as the power draw will high when the motor spins up.

hightechgadgets8
post Mar 28 2024, 01:32 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

imo hob draws 1500w, hence not safe
kesvani
post Mar 28 2024, 01:41 PM

953 posts

The contractor want your cable overload is it but guess too late now to add new circuit. Should have plan your house properly

This post has been edited by kesvani: Mar 28 2024, 01:44 PM
lj0000
post Mar 28 2024, 01:43 PM

2,199 posts

Hob must be independent
I assume you are talking about induction dual hob.

Cannot use plug and socket. Use oven switch
TSMika Letchumany
post Mar 28 2024, 01:45 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 28 2024, 01:31 PM)
Hob and fridge must be separated.

In general, anything with motor need to be separated as the power draw will high when the motor spins up.
QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Mar 28 2024, 01:32 PM)
QUOTE(kesvani @ Mar 28 2024, 01:41 PM)
The contractor want your cable overload is it
Thank you for confirmation sifu. Thats why. I thought something is not right. This contractor somemore hired by big reno ID company.

TSMika Letchumany
post Mar 28 2024, 01:45 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Mar 28 2024, 01:43 PM)
Hob must be independent
I assume you are talking about induction dual hob.

Cannot use plug and socket. Use oven switch
Sorry i don’t understand. Whats is oven switch?
kesvani
post Mar 28 2024, 01:46 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(aPiT_OxyMoxy @ Mar 25 2024, 04:03 PM)
Yeah this is right also

Their product so so only

So might need to develop new product

Unlike here product is way better
QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Mar 28 2024, 01:32 PM)
Hob plus fridge itself already near circuit max capacity.
lj0000
post Mar 28 2024, 01:46 PM

2,199 posts

QUOTE(Mika Letchumany @ Mar 28 2024, 01:45 PM)
Sorry i don’t understand. Whats is oven switch?
Is like water heater switch 20amps
SUSceo684
post Apr 6 2024, 11:33 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Mika Letchumany @ Mar 28 2024, 01:23 PM)
Hi sifu,

My house got reno recently and now going to install kitchen kabinet with hood and hob.

The contractor is suggesting to use existing 13A, 1200 for hood and hob and also for fridge.

Is this safe?
Can all the 3 appliances be used simultaneously?
Thank you in advance.
Hood (the suction device to suck smoke) at most also 300W
Fridge at most also 300W for residential models
The above two do NOT consume a lot of power.

However take note:
HOB is the headache; this should be on its own DEDICATED line to DB box.

Generally, you can use looping sockets elsewhere in the house but in the kitchen, all heating appliances consume lots of power so it is BEST that you only have dedicated power sockets on its own lines to DB box.

0.0187sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:12 AM