Aircond choice for a special case

mystvearn
post Mar 23 2024, 02:23 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(DwayneD @ Mar 23 2024, 01:36 PM)

I have to choose an aircond for a living room, and my budget is kinda tight,
It's a < 1000 sqft living hall in a kampung house that gets really hot during the day because of a hot roof,

I'm gonna use the aircond only a few weeks per year, the aircond is gonna run for long hours, and i don't need instant cooling, if we achieve a 25-27 degrees room after 30 min i'm happy with that.

Could i go for a non-inverter (since it will run 100% all the time) ? 
What minimum Hp should i get since i don't need the room to be cold but only cooler ? Would 1.5 hp be enough in that case ? 2.0 hp seems to cost almost double of 1.5 hp.
Is branded necessary as well, or would Haier / Midea be fine since i'll barely use it ?

D.
How high is the roof? There are cheaper options available. I assume this is balik kg purposes. You want to block from noon-sunset more important. If you see the house layout and wind layout you can build a one-way air movement. From east or covered area exit at hot area. Think the house like PC case.

Passive:
1. If high roof can put roof mounted exhaust fan.
2. I have seen some people use the plastic/linen blinds for roof heat proofing. If can use solar, will save same purpose since the solar panels block heat first. You will decrease house temp by 3-5C (my own experience with putting solar)
3. Wall blinds The linen/plastic type. (own experience 5C decrease at wall facing sun)
4. Trees?

Active:
1. Side mounted exhaust fans
2. Big industrial fan for normal intake
3. AC cannot suggest just based on sq. Usually experienced contractor can suggest.Personally, Id go for biggest can support, but if you do the passive options first, save a lot of money rather putting AC outright.

0.0121sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:34 PM