Phones With 3.5mm Earphone Jack Best Sound Quality

TSryder_78
post Mar 21 2024, 12:58 PM, updated 2y ago

2,077 posts

Would like to ask. If playing music via Youtube Music, Spotify or Tidal using earphones via 3.5mm headphone jack, does the brand of phones matter? Will music sound better on phone A than phone B via the 3.5mm headphone jack if using the same earphone which cost say RM500 or up to RM1k?

IF phones matter, which brand is considered to have good sound quality? Oppo or Vivo ok?
PRSXFENG
post Mar 21 2024, 01:09 PM

2,616 posts

Probably, some examples include the ancient old Mi Note HiFi which has a very heavy emphasis on the 3.5mm output being great
as well as some LG Phones with their signature Quad DAC

but it's not a topic that's discussed much these days since phones with 3.5mm jacks are already a rarity, so most people are happy that there even is a port

there is no "brand" that has best jack since little attention is being paid to them
unless you get a dedicated android media player from an audio focused brand like Fiio

the better option is to get a cheap USB-C to Headphone Jack adapter with DAC chip inside

some examples include CX31993 PRO or Apple's USB-C to Heaphone Jack adapter or VE Abigial Pro
roughly rm50 range
and it only goes up
some more expensive ones like Fiio KA17 are also good

there is a local FB group called DongleMadness that discusses those
TSryder_78
post Mar 21 2024, 01:18 PM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 21 2024, 01:09 PM)
Probably, some examples include the ancient old Mi Note HiFi which has a very heavy emphasis on the 3.5mm output being great
as well as some LG Phones with their signature Quad DAC

but it's not a topic that's discussed much these days since phones with 3.5mm jacks are already a rarity, so most people are happy that there even is a port

there is no "brand" that has best jack since little attention is being paid to them
unless you get a dedicated android media player from an audio focused brand like Fiio

the better option is to get a cheap USB-C to Headphone Jack adapter with DAC chip inside

some examples include CX31993 PRO or Apple's USB-C to Heaphone Jack adapter or VE Abigial Pro
roughly rm50 range
and it only goes up

there is a local FB group called DongleMadness that discusses those
Thanks for the quick response. I am referring more to phones which have good DAC inside such as the LG with Quad DAC which you have mentioned, not so much about best earphone jack. The LG is more or less dead I think, I've owned the LG V20 before, bought it because of the Quad DAC but it was replaced with a Huawei after I lost the phone about 3 years ago.

Noted on USB to 3.5mm jack adapter which can be used with phones without the 3.5mm earphone jack. In this sense, is there any modern phones without 3.5mm headphone jack which have good internal DAC / great sound quality?

My primary focus is quality of camera, sound quality from earphones and overall usability ie. long battery hours. So far I've shortlisted Oppo Find N6 Pro and Vivo X100 Pro but there is no mention about any hifi DAC inside these phones.
TSryder_78
post Mar 21 2024, 01:20 PM

2,077 posts

By the way, my impression is any sort of adapter will affect sound quality but with phones I guess it may not matter too much.
TSryder_78
post Mar 21 2024, 01:29 PM

2,077 posts

roughly rm50 range
and it only goes up

I looked at the FIIO KA17. The reason I'm considering phones with good internal DAC is to avoid carrying another rather large device which adds to the inconvenience and clutter. Just a phone and a pair of earphones would be ideal.

erry-
post Mar 21 2024, 01:36 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

sony > all ? biggrin.gif
TSryder_78
post Mar 21 2024, 03:12 PM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Mar 21 2024, 01:36 PM)
sony > all ? biggrin.gif
Yes, I briefly looked at the Sony Xperia 1 V earlier but the price is quite high for what I'm willing to pay for a flagship phone. The MSRP is RM6,399 and the cheapest advertised price is RM5,599 at the moment. But yes, it does look very promising, good camera and good audio hardware.
erry-
post Mar 21 2024, 07:22 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

U can go for xperia 10 (midrange) or xperia 5 (high spec but compact, smaller size), cheaper than xperia 1 notworthy.gif
TSryder_78
post Mar 22 2024, 03:33 PM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Mar 21 2024, 07:22 PM)
U can go for xperia 10 (midrange) or xperia 5 (high spec but compact, smaller size), cheaper than xperia 1 notworthy.gif
I have had a look at the other lower range Xperia. They come in smaller screens. The Xperia 1 V has the largest screen and the best spec and of course, the highest price.

Anyway I've just checked on Shopee and the lowest priced Xperia 1 V is around RM4k to RM4.3k but it's not local Malaysian set but Hong Kong set shipped from Hong Kong. I'm not sure what's the difference though but it appears that some people have bought it on Shopee.

I'll wait closer to end of the year to see if the price will drop further. If it drops close to or around RM3k then I think it's a good time to buy.
erry-
post Mar 23 2024, 06:21 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

Oh u need bigger screen. Coz 1st post just mentioned 3.5mm jack port.

If u can wait till end of year, yes the price will drop a bit, coz usually by december sony already launch the next series, 2024 will be xperia 1/5/10 vi.

As for now, u may look for the previous series example 1 iv.

The diff between local and oversea set is other than warranty claim at official sony service center, some oversea model cant use voLTE. Some seller did put that info in their ads: VoLTE fuction not supported

If u want to use the phone as primary phone and still need to use "traditional" call (not using data/app call), example make/receive local call to/from 03, 04, 07 etc. then u must have VoLTE.

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Mar 23 2024, 06:22 AM
TSryder_78
post Mar 23 2024, 01:35 PM

2,077 posts

Thanks for the information. Fortunately you brought up about the Volte, otherwise I wouldn't have known. Will check on it later if the 1V overseas set will have this Volte.

Yes, didn't bring up big screen as quality of camera and hardware for sound quality are the main focus, but big screen has always been my preference as well. I currently use Huawei Mate 20x with a large 7.2" screen, so going to the Xperia 1V is actually a downgrade in screen size and I'm not sure if I can get used to it. Nevertheless it is better than even smaller screens.

I've checked on the 1 IV but the price is not a big difference when compared to 1V, about RM500 only if I'm not mistaken so the 1V is more worth it. Just wait for the price to drop more going to year end.

Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 23 2024, 01:38 PM

526 posts

You'd be better off with the phone you like, plus the Apple Dongle which is really the best for the price, heck best even for others that are double its price. Dongle DACs are small and attached to your cable earphones aren't really that different in bulk.

Or anything from Jcally is a good budget place to start.
TSryder_78
post Mar 24 2024, 09:57 AM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Mar 23 2024, 01:38 PM)
You'd be better off with the phone you like, plus the Apple Dongle which is really the best for the price, heck best even for others that are double its price. Dongle DACs are small and attached to your cable earphones aren't really that different in bulk.

Or anything from Jcally is a good budget place to start.
Yes, noted on getting a phone that ticks most of the boxes. Currently the Xperia 1V is looking good but the price isn't good. I haven't looked at a Sony phone before but it looks like it can give other flagship phones a run for the money especially with the claim on the camera producing natural lifelike colours in comparison to phones which apply heavy processing producing different type of colours.

I've checked on Jcally and can't seem to find any DAC dongle on the website as all they have are adapters. Apple dongle doesn't appear to have a proper DAC chip inside and looks like an adapter only. I'm not too knowledgeable about all these devices.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Mar 24 2024, 09:58 AM
PRSXFENG
post Mar 24 2024, 10:28 AM

2,616 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Mar 24 2024, 09:57 AM)
Yes, noted on getting a phone that ticks most of the boxes. Currently the Xperia 1V is looking good but the price isn't good. I haven't looked at a Sony phone before but it looks like it can give other flagship phones a run for the money especially with the claim on the camera producing natural lifelike colours in comparison to phones which apply heavy processing producing different type of colours.

I've checked on Jcally and can't seem to find any DAC dongle on the website as all they have are adapters. Apple dongle doesn't appear to have a proper DAC chip inside and looks like an adapter only. I'm not too knowledgeable about all these devices.
Sometimes they confusingly use the adapter name but I can confirm the apple usbc to headphone jack has a dac, it works on windows (10 and above) and android even

Gargamel_gibson
post Mar 24 2024, 11:39 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Mar 24 2024, 09:57 AM)

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 24 2024, 10:28 AM)
Sometimes they confusingly use the adapter name but I can confirm the apple usbc to headphone jack has a dac, it works on windows (10 and above) and android even
If your priority is camera then I highly recommend only the 3 brands, iPhone, Samsung, Google Pixel. If you want cheaper get A-series Pixel or last year's flagship.

Jcally just buy on Shopee, won't go wrong. Some generic cheap adapters don't have DAC but Jcally and Apple do, don't worry.

TSryder_78
post Mar 25 2024, 03:09 PM

2,077 posts

Will see how it goes. Not really into apple and Samsung but more to mainstream Android from China and currently, Japan due to preference

Just received Simgot EA500LM today and compared it to the EW200 and they currently sound almost the same, if not the same on my phone. From reviews the EA500LM should sound noticeably different or better than the EW200 but that's not the case at the moment. Perhaps the phone is the limitation.

My cousin just took some photos during a wedding using a Vivo X80 in average lighting conditions inside the hotel and surprisingly the image quality is quite good.
ktek
post Apr 11 2024, 04:13 AM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Mar 24 2024, 11:39 AM)
If your priority is camera then I highly recommend only the 3 brands, iPhone, Samsung, Google Pixel. If you want cheaper get A-series Pixel or last year's flagship.

Jcally just buy on Shopee, won't go wrong. Some generic cheap adapters don't have DAC but Jcally and Apple do, don't worry.
every adapter got dac. otherwise u wont heard sound at all
ktek
post Apr 11 2024, 04:28 AM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

a tip for u lah. look into aqstic dac. a very high quality potential choice.
just upgraded my fone and then never look back to lg punya ess any more
Gargamel_gibson
post Apr 11 2024, 09:18 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 11 2024, 04:13 AM)
https://shp.ee/z4ycvjg

Clearly you're wrong. Some don't have DAC chips in them they rely on the onboard phone DAC
PRSXFENG
post Apr 11 2024, 04:27 PM

2,616 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 11 2024, 04:13 AM)
there exists one without dacs, its usually for xiaomi phones because they pipe analog audio out of a few of the usbc pins

just get a cheap dongle dac like cx31993
ktek
post Apr 11 2024, 06:20 PM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Apr 11 2024, 09:18 AM)
https://shp.ee/z4ycvjg
Clearly you're wrong. Some don't have DAC chips in them they rely on the onboard phone DAC
sorry x2 maaf hamba
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Apr 11 2024, 04:27 PM)
there exists one without dacs, its usually for xiaomi phones because they pipe analog audio out of a few of the usbc pins

just get a cheap dongle dac like cx31993
no wonders. i never use xiomi before
stormsea7
post Apr 11 2024, 07:11 PM

106 posts

Maybe Asus Zenfone 8? (last zenfone available in m'sia)

can get cheap cheap 2nd hand

or maybe get overseas Zenfone 10
1024kbps
post Apr 11 2024, 08:44 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

If pairs with good headphones/iem, else dont bother if listen on noisy enviroment + youtube quality audio, both will destroy audio details.
ktek
post Apr 14 2024, 07:13 PM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(stormsea7 @ Apr 11 2024, 07:11 PM)
Maybe Asus Zenfone 8? (last zenfone available in m'sia)

can get cheap cheap 2nd hand

or maybe get overseas Zenfone 10
zf and rog fone. good audio unbelieveable
taste different from ess sabre, which is difficult for low volume listeners
saintckk
post Apr 14 2024, 09:25 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 14 2024, 07:13 PM)
zf and rog fone. good audio unbelieveable
taste different from ess sabre, which is difficult for low volume listeners
i have one, interested?

TSryder_78
post Jun 12 2024, 07:24 AM

2,077 posts

roughly rm50 range
and it only goes up

Hello again. Lately I've decided to get another pair of earphones costing RM1k+ and the seller Redape suggested the FIIO. I was just wondering if an additional DAC/amp like the FIIO can make a difference if plugged into phones vs running the earphones directly to the phone.

Initially I was looking at the FIIO KA3 but someone on Headfi suggested BTR3K. Redape suggested the KA13 instead. I was wondering if there's a difference between these devices and if yes, which one sounds best although the difference between the FIIO units may be subtle. I am leaning toward the KA13 at RM369.

djdevan
post Aug 26 2024, 10:57 PM

438 posts

Hi bro, you may invest in ibasso DC03 dac amp.. any cheap android phone can sound so good. u may also purchase poweramp music player for android from play store.. it has good interface and eq for u to tune the output based on ur taste. get a decent iEM also.
TSryder_78
post Aug 30 2024, 08:46 PM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(djdevan @ Aug 26 2024, 10:57 PM)
Hi bro, you may invest in ibasso DC03 dac amp..  any cheap android phone can sound so good. u may also purchase poweramp music player for android from play store.. it has good interface and eq for u to tune the output based on ur taste.  get a decent iEM also.
Thanks bro. I have read great things about the ibasso DC03, DC03 Pro, DC04 Pro, Dc07 Pro and finally the flagship DC Elite. I'm now actually looking at the DC Elite as an option to better match my IEM. I bought the Cayin RU7 and FIIO KA13 several months ago and the RU7 sounds better than the KA13.

I regretted getting the KA13 as I should have bought the DC03 or DC04 Pro instead. Anyway it is likely I'll skip all and go for the DC Elite or D16 Taipan only if it sounds a lot better than DC Elite as reported.

0.0224sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:31 PM