Recon Subaru WRX good idea?

TSxx1xx
post Mar 20 2024, 01:56 PM, updated 2y ago

14 posts

Hi, wondering any sifu here got any experience with recon Subaru WRX,
Want to know the pro and con, saw some ads for a 2019 model going for around 160k, seems like a good deal for a child hood dream car πŸ˜„
littlefire
post Mar 20 2024, 02:04 PM

2,731 posts

If you got a good mechanic which can fix Subaru then good to go. Before that, get your mechanic to go check on the car before purchase as recon cars also can be unlucky for some.

Personally i would rather direct get STi version.

WRX seem stuck in middle, unless getting the latest WRX Wagon (Aka Levorg) that will be more special in term of body design.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 20 2024, 02:06 PM
TSxx1xx
post Mar 20 2024, 02:59 PM

14 posts

Well STI is too much for me, as this is going to be my first foray into performance car, so any advice would be much appreciated
McMatt
post Mar 20 2024, 03:48 PM

229 posts

I'm guessing the WRX because it's an automatic. I owned a 2015 WRX STI, and it was a blast to drive in Sepang. Tested the WRX then and did not like the gear shifts which was too abrupt/jerky. Probably have improved it by 2019, but I'm not sure.

If you opt for the WRX STI, I'd support it. Otherwise, I'd suggest a VW GTI R instead, also a 2.0 AWD.
Roadwarrior1337
post Mar 20 2024, 05:36 PM

979 posts

Depending on which year

Get ej20 instead of the American market 2.5 liter.

I had one v7 and it was a joy to drive. No problem except it drank fuel like it was on sale. But other than that, it’s just a joy to drive

Only regret did not get the s204 when I had the chance at rm110k back in 2014.
littlefire
post Mar 21 2024, 09:51 AM

2,731 posts

QUOTE(xx1xx @ Mar 20 2024, 03:59 PM)
Well STI is too much for me, as this is going to be my first foray into performance car, so any advice would be much appreciated
Get the 1 which is not modded or still in original form.
Original Sti is still easy to drive for majority of people unless you only know to drive Automatic only.
The previous Levorg also got 2.0T engine option which is the same as WRX, if you want worth the money pay better to get the Levorg than the WRX sedan.

TSxx1xx
post Mar 21 2024, 01:00 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 21 2024, 09:51 AM)
Get the 1 which is not modded or still in original form.
Original Sti is still easy to drive for majority of people unless you only know to drive Automatic only.
The previous Levorg also got 2.0T engine option which is the same as WRX, if you want worth the money pay better to get the Levorg than the WRX sedan.
Got me, I am just a normie who like cars but never really that committed, haven't driven a manual since driving school, zero actual track experience

Was initially thinking to get brand new Civic RS but also checking out what I can get around 150k in the secondary market, saw a recon 2019 WRX advertise for 160k and my inner child suddenly popped up and screamed at me to get it
ktek
post Mar 21 2024, 11:20 PM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

fast is fast enough. easy drive is easy enough
safety is safe enough.

masa repair baru tahu no fun
littlefire
post Mar 22 2024, 09:39 AM

2,731 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 22 2024, 12:20 AM)
fast is fast enough. easy drive is easy enough
safety is safe enough.

masa repair baru tahu no fun
That why is important to get a good mechanic with Subaru knowledge.
If not, a lot of half-bake mechanic will just chop the owner or intro a lot of stupid mods to earn from it.
ktek
post Mar 22 2024, 10:10 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 22 2024, 09:39 AM)
That why is important to get a good mechanic with Subaru knowledge.
If not, a lot of half-bake mechanic will just chop the owner or intro a lot of stupid mods to earn from it.
if sc can accept recond or not. have u visit our local subaru sc b4
littlefire
post Mar 22 2024, 04:57 PM

2,731 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 22 2024, 11:10 AM)
if sc can accept recond or not. have u visit our local subaru sc b4
SC anytime also can accept recon, just charge you SC premium price without official warranty. (Same as Toyota SC, they also accept a lot of those recon Estima/Alphad to their service center also)
In the end, outside Subaru specialist is still more better in term of overall cost & advice if knew.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 22 2024, 05:05 PM
GamersFamilia
post Mar 22 2024, 05:17 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

in terms of the car , spare parts , subaru impreza still can consider as reasonable and worth to own it .. as compared to mitsubishi evolution the price are sky high in term of the car also the spare parts
TSxx1xx
post Mar 23 2024, 11:58 AM

14 posts

Thanks for all the reply,

so far what i need to look out for:
-need a good subaru mechanic (i dont know any icon_question.gif )
-high fuel consumption (ok by me as i dont drive a lot)
-automatic transmission not so good (should be fine for a normie like me blush.gif )

How about reliability wise? (as it will be my only car)

How about the maintenance? (not planning to mod, i expect it to be higher than normal c segment car but do i need extra care and attention?)

Other options around 160k? (so far i checking out the Golf GTI mentioned)
Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2024, 12:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 22 2024, 05:17 PM)
in terms of the car , spare parts , subaru impreza still can consider as reasonable and worth to own it .. as compared to mitsubishi evolution the price are sky high in term of the car also the spare parts
Apple Vs oranges la

Impreza only competition was normal lancer, but it definitely is above, with turbo and AWD, so kinda like in between STI And Evo.

Then again certain market does have the RalliArt edition which has turbo.

Evo and STI abg Adik, between the 2, some things cheaper, some things more expensive.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 23 2024, 06:12 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 23 2024, 12:47 PM)
Apple Vs oranges la

Impreza only competition was normal lancer, but it definitely is above, with turbo and AWD, so kinda like in between STI And Evo.

Then again certain market does have the RalliArt edition which has turbo.

Evo and STI abg Adik, between the 2, some things cheaper, some things more expensive.
right
BaDKiDz
post Mar 25 2024, 06:18 PM

262 posts

Ts did you make your mind?
I was considering wrx too, not sure the maintainance cost..
So far what I read is try to avoid 2015 and 2016..2017 and above.. The newer the better.
But I see a 5 years wrx still maintaining it price well.. Another car u could consider is 86 if no space concern.. But wrx more power..

Can't really read much review or information for wrx in msia.. Most review from Australia, north America maybe due to snow... Not sure where all the owner hide or basically it's not popular in msia.. Seldom saw on the road as well

This post has been edited by BaDKiDz: Mar 25 2024, 06:21 PM
TSxx1xx
post Mar 25 2024, 08:41 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(BaDKiDz @ Mar 25 2024, 06:18 PM)
Ts did you make your mind?
I was considering wrx too, not sure the maintainance cost..
So far what I read is try to avoid 2015 and 2016..2017 and above.. The newer the better.
But I see a 5 years wrx still maintaining it price well.. Another car u could consider is 86 if no space concern.. But wrx more power..

Can't really read much review or information for wrx in msia.. Most review from Australia, north America maybe due to snow... Not sure where all the owner hide or basically it's not popular in msia.. Seldom saw on the road as well
Hi, not yet decide, will probably research and ask around more first, as I don't know any Subaru mechanics

Will update here if I really decides to get one, no likely anytime soon

BaDKiDz
post Mar 28 2024, 10:12 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(xx1xx @ Mar 25 2024, 08:41 PM)
Hi, not yet decide, will probably research and ask around more first, as I don't know any Subaru mechanics

There is a few popular one in kv..
TSxx1xx
post Mar 29 2024, 04:31 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(BaDKiDz @ Mar 28 2024, 10:12 PM)
There is a few popular one in kv..

Mind sharing a few names?
Haven't really started to look for good workshop yet, as i still checking out what I can get for around my budget

littlefire
post Mar 29 2024, 05:06 PM

2,731 posts

QUOTE(xx1xx @ Mar 25 2024, 09:41 PM)

You should try asking people in related fb group or search in google.
A lot of time in fb group can find the answer or mechanic recommendation.

0.0240sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:36 AM